We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Historic Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Historic Area to your Saves list
Quality Inn Historic Area
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #56 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
christiansburg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice clean place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We found this hotel after deciding not to stay in the original motel we had booked. It was clean, staff was nice and the free breakfast was quite good. This was a trip to bush gardens with my adult daughter.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    112
    71
    26
    17
See reviews for
110
74
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We've stayed at numerous hotels in the Williamsburg area but this Quality Inn is not one to which we will return. The hotel presents well ... Fairly new, modern appearance, great access tothe historic area, Busch Gardens, WaterCountry, restaurants, etc. Once inside, things start to fall apart in the most annoying ways: the beds are small (full size not queens); further, the beds are so hard, only Fred Flintstone or someone recently released from prison would find them comfortable; no refrgerator but substituted is a tacky little ice bucket; the bath towels are small, cheap, and treadbare maybe better to bring some Bountynpaper towels; the breakfast area is spacious and bright but the TV for the large space is less than 32" and at least 20' from the middle of the room might asl well watch the morning news on your phone if the WiFi worked; the WiFi was acceptable in the rooms (satellite service so not lightening fast but OK just not for the news) but the range of the routers did not reach the breakfast area so download your mail and the morning paper before you leave your room for breakfast; breakfast itself was very nice ... waffles, danish, yogurt, and the perfunctory SOS that is offered in every hotel in the South. I do have to comment on the breakfast staff: I typically find these hardworking ladies very accommodating to my one piccadillo: fresh hot water for morning tea rather than pumped from the urns that have typically been contaminated with coffee. At this Quality Inn, the staff was outwardly rude and aggressively unaccommodating to my request for fresh hot water. I appreciate that the profit margins might be thin but 8 or 16 ounces of hot water is an unreasonable request?

My criticism of this Quality Inn should not be extended to others. We've stayed at others, including in the Williamsburg area, and they are a very good value for the money ... Just not this one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Room felt 'damp' - we were in an end room but it was the wall adjoining another room that had condensation! Wallpaper was coming away at the seams and had not been reapplied, also border was becoming detached.

Bathroom looked very tired and air vent was thick with dust!

Bed linen, although clean, looked very old and worn.

Someone had obviously at some point tried to pull the 'decorative' curtain and it had become detached from its rail but had not been repaired.

Simple caretaking issues that could have been corrected but they obviously couldn't be bothered.

BUT the worst part of our stay was the breakfast experience. The breakfast room was inadequately sized -the hours they allowed for breakfast meant everybody seemed to be there at the same time. There were not enough tables/seats and the room was very stuffy. When we finally managed to get something it wasn't actually really worth the effort either!

Our experience of other chains is that upon departure you are asked if you enjoyed your stay - this was not the case at this hotel. I wonder why!!

Stayed for 2 nights and following this experience cannot imagine we would ever stay in any of this chains hotels again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My family booked this hotel for a weekend getaway. Rigt away, things got off to a bad start as our cards were charged for half the stay amount BEFORE we even checked in. The hotel is below average, with no microwave or fridge in the rooms. We wasted lots of food as it could not be stored or warmed up to eat later. The staff were not very noce and I sensed bad attitudes from 3 different people I had to deal with. The pool is small & so are the bathrooms. Almost a week later, my card has been charged and the hold for half the charge is still there. This is the absolute worst place I have ever stayed and not even a free night would get me back there.

Also, left my sneakers and called only to be told they werent there. Of course not, how crazy of me to think that my contact information is not enough to notify me of an item left in the room. Im sure the rude housekeeping lady has on nicer sneakers now. Pay a little more and stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The room was basic but acceptable. Double beds were small but comfortable. Bathroom was ample and housekeeping did a great job. One day we even returned to find towels made into swans on the bed. The pool could have been more clear but was fairly clean. The free breakfast selection needs to be revamped. Biscuits and gravy were saltier than the Dead Sea. Muffins and pastries were drier than a pile of dead leaves. The only eggs offered were hard boiled. But let me properly describe the free breakfast experience at this location. Remember the scene in Jurassic Park when the cow is lowered into the Velociraptor pen, squeels and carnage can be heard, and then the destroyed harness is pulled out? Ok, now you are familiar with the breakfast experience at the Quality Inn on Bypass Road in Williamsburg. It's just like that. While I would stay there again, I will forgo the free breakfast and let the animals enjoy it instead.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Kind of a dump but a good price, if you're just needing a night near Colonial Williamsburg, it's ok. If your hotel stay is part of your vacation experience, spend a bit more and go elsewhere..there are plenty of options.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is a great location to Historic Williamsburg, it is a short drive away. The hotel room is clean but dated. The sheets and towels were new. The breakfast is basic w/waffles, it was fine for our family. For the price, you can't beat it!

Room Tip: The rooms were very quiet, we didn't hear anything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Historic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Historic Area

Address: 600 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Historic Area 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-story Brick Hotel centrally located 1/2 mile from Colonial Williamsburg & 5 minutes from Busch Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Historic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Historic Area Quality Inn
Williamsburg Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Historic Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.