We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd. to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1880 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2x Points
Ranked #13 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

stayed for a week over 4th of July to visit nearby historic areas of Williamsburg, Jamestown, fort, as well as Busch Gardens. Hotel is convienant without being over saturated. It made for a nice return spot after the days of touristy activities. Suite suited us well and any small maintenance or housekeeping issue was quickly resolved.
The breakfast is sufficient and the serving staff were not thanked enough by the rude hotel guests that crowded into the eating area over the July 4th weekend.
Room was furnished adequatley although the sofa bed was, well.....a sofa bed afterall. Business area was right off the elevators as well the pool. The hotel does offer a small sundries shop right beside the front desk and is walking distance to good food and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    181
    71
    28
    6
See reviews for
296
143
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
park ridge, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Selected hotel due to proximity to all things in the Williamsburg area. Location was sufficient- close to stores/restaurants. Wanted a hotel with a suite with full kitchen and indoor pool. Room was dated. Some furnishings showed their wear. Kitchen chairs made for a table, not a counter arrangement. The hotel served it's function and was clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Easy to get to Fourth of July fireworks. Nice place and well stocked breakfast. The breakfast crew really worked hard to keep up with the mad rush of people at 9 to 10 am. One of the better hamptons we have stayed at. Front staff was quick and courteous.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh PA
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Was on a trip with extended family heading to the beach. We wanted to visit a few places in Williamsburg and figured it was best to stop first, spend the evening and better part of the next day before going to the beach. Staff was very nice again. Friendly and our request for rooms next to each other was honored. They have a nice breakfast area but we did not eat there. We wanted to go to our favorite across the road.

This Hampton is located on one of the main roads in Wiliamsburg and it is easy to navigate to different places from there. You have plenty of dining choices that you can walk to from the hotel as well. The Christmas Mouse is across the road and up a bit from the hotel. It is a nice place to spend a little time after a meal, before you return to the hotel for the evening. Pool area and fitness area are both maintained very well too. As most Hamptons, you can help yourself to coffee anytime in the breakfast area. With it being summer time, they also had a cooler with a water and citrus for you to help yourself too. It had a touch of mint as well and it was refreshing.

Hotel was quiet and well maintained. Rooms were beautiful and clean. Overall a good place to stay. The reservation was made about 2 weeks prior to our arrival and we were surprised but pleased that they could do the two rooms and also honor the request to be next to each other. That was very much appreciated and we will probably visit again in the future.

Room Tip: Better to call and speak to the hotel directly for special requests like rooms next to each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I was in Williamsburg for a business conference at William & Mary, and my boyfriend joined me. The hotel was clean, the beds were rather comfortable, and the service was excellent. The breakfast was great - they had a 2 minute waffle machine, cereal, bagels, yogurt, fruit, oatmeal, and other things like eggs and sausage each day. We only went out to breakfast once because we wanted to try one of the nearby waffle houses! The staff was amazing! Theresa, Lynne, and Brittany at the front desk were particularly helpful. They gave us great suggestions, helpful local advice such as where to park, and truly showed us that Southern hospitality. Theresa passed us her own discount cards for a local restaurant (Food for Thought - great food!), while Lynne shared a lot of local history with us, as her whole family was from the area. When my boyfriend missed the free fresh-baked cookies one day, Brittany made sure he got some the next time they made them! All 3 of these ladies made our stay as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible. The value was excellent, the location was close to everything - as long as you are on Richmond Road, it's maybe 10 minutes to anything in Williamsburg - and the people were wonderful. I would stay in this hotel again in a heartbeat. The room was nicely sized, and I felt the beds were far more comfortable than previous stays at other large hotel chains. One word of warning: the beds have small pillows, so we were glad that we brought our own. Also, their was a light overtop the closet - we spent the first night thinking it was from outside, only to discover the next morning that there was a switch! (We didn't ask the lobby for help, because we were too tired, so it was our fault.) Otherwise, it was an excellent hotel which we both would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The staff was very professional and friendly. The rooms were clean. There were many choices to chose from at breakfast every morning. The best kept secret was the citrus water in the main lobby in the afternoon. Also, there was plenty of parking behind the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The Hampton in Williamsburg, VA was very clean. The room was spacious, and the breakfast was excellent!! The hotel staff were helpful in giving us information about local restaurants and places to visit. They also helped with directions to another city when we left. I highly recommend this hotel. Location of the hotel was convenient to the historic district...a short drive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.

Address: 1880 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#14 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Williamsburg
Hampton Inn And Suites
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.