We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit-terrible ending!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd. to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1880 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2x Points
Ranked #13 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Middleburg Heights, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great visit-terrible ending!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Because we frequently visit Williamsburg, we are always excited to find a hotel we enjoy that we have not previously stayed in. It was an unexpected surprise to find how spacious our suite was, (love having a full size fridge), comfy beds and a really nice breakfast as well. Coffee, hot chocolate in the lobby as well as friendly staff. All this for a very reasonable off-season price. Very happy. Until we checked out and found someone else's room charges ($1124.00 !!) on our credit card. Took a couple days to get it sorted out - a computer glitch? Manager not easy to work with. Wary of staying here again and that is a shame because we certainly would have returned.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIS Richmond Ro... G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd., responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Please accept our sincere apology. We want you to know that the comments we receive from our guests are taken very seriously and your suggestions will help us to improve. Again, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. If I can be of further assistance please feel free to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    180
    69
    28
    6
See reviews for
293
140
19
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington Park, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My last review of HI&S was a year ago this month when we came down for Busch Gardens' Pass-holder Preview day. We have stayed here several times in-between; this is our eights stay here and we have yet to stay anywhere else when we visit Williamsburg.

As always Hampton Inn continues to deliver a great experience; the rooms are clean; the staff is friendly and helpful and we received a call from the front desk shortly after checking in to see if everything was okay.

We are planning a few more trips here this year and will continue to stay here at the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I would recommend this hotel to everyone! The staff were helpful and we had a blast! I stayed at this hotel for a reunion with some old college friends...we have decided to make this our annual trip. My friend left a sentimental white pillow in the room and the staff went out of their way to search for the pillow and send it back to her! This was no easy task because the pillow was white like all the others in the hotel...The staff were wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Upon our arrival into our room, there was urine on the floor and toilet. Gross!!!! The pool heater was broken and there was no postings stating this. My kids got in and instantly their teeth were chattering and lips turning blue. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIS Richmond Ro... G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd., responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. We’re sorry you encountered housekeeping problems. Dirty rooms are not typical at our hotel, and we appreciate that you brought this to our attention. We have discussed this with our staff and will make every effort to be sure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards. However, we would like to apologize for all of the other issues as well. Please give us a second chance if you visit our area in the future.

Hampton Inn & Suites - Richmond Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles City, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed with Hampton Inn for his birthday. Our room was beautiful and clean. After about 2 hours of being there, there was a loud uproar in the hallway that did not stop. We were thinking the walls were extremely thin. We eventually went to the front desk whom was calling every room involved in the noise because of other complaints. I told her that for over $100 per night this was unacceptable and we would like a refund if the noise persisted. She told us to give them a little while to calm down and she would just move us to another floor. We left for a few hours only to return to an even louder room to the point where we could barely hear our television after 11pm. I was livid. i called downstairs and told her that we were coming down for a refund. The front desk clerk told me she was not going to refund our money but would move us to the 4th floor. Someone started to bang on our door. It was another guest asking us to stop calling the front on them and they would be quiet if we just asked. We were not the only room having problems. When I brought this up to the clerk she simply told me that it wasn't her fault they were unruly and she couldn't pick her guest. So we end up on the 4th floor to a room that had 2 queen beds instead of a king as we had before and the heater would not heat the room. We slept uncomfortably and cold! My husband went downstairs for coco in the middle of the night with our room key without the sleeve and when he asked the front clerk what our new room number was she denied him access and would not let him on the elevator!!! Eventually she had the bright idea to call up to the room and ask me if I knew who the hell he was at 2 in the morning after she saw him with me at the desk when we were switching rooms. The next morning the breakfast room was overrun by small loud children and the noisy guests from the 2nd floor and breakfast was also loud! Upon leaving the clerk didn't ask us how our stay was so I told her. She didn't have any suggestion or even an apology for our ruined romantic evening. I will NEVER stay at this establishment again and i will not suggest it to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIS Richmond Ro... G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd., responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so sorry for all of the disturbances you encountered during your time with us. We've addressed our staff in regards to your review and we will be reaching out to you directly to further discuss your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had six guest rooms and all were extremely clean and beautiful. The pool was refreshing and breakfast was good. It is conveniently located by many good restaurants and close to Colonial Williamsburg, and William and Mary.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willaimsburg, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My family visited many colleges on this tour. William and Mary in Williamsburg was our last stop but we also wanted to to visit Colonial Williamsburg. We stayed at the Hampton Inn for 2 nights. I would stay here again. Location was about 2 miles from William and Mary which abuts Colonial Williamsburg.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.

Address: 1880 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#14 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Williamsburg
Hampton Inn And Suites
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.