We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, warm place for family with children.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd. to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1880 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book and Earn 2x Points
Ranked #15 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent, warm place for family with children.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was postively surprised at the quality of this hotel. Great for a family with children. Very nice breakfast in the morning. The room was clean but did have a musty smell to it, as if from a rag used too often. Otherwise, I would return to this location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIS Richmond Ro... G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd., responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for the opportunity to be the hotel of your choice for your trip to Williamsburg. We love families and we definitely love kids. We would love to see you coming back and stay with us. We appreciate your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    177
    64
    28
    6
See reviews for
276
130
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed here one night in late Feb. Staff were very friendly and the hotel was clean and quiet. Hairdryer and toiletries provided. The breakfast was good, scrambled eggs (egg beaters or some faux eggs, Hilton/Hampton needs to use real eggs - not worth eating the fake type), bacon, sausage, cereals, etc. Located a short drive from Colonial Williamsburg. Recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIS Richmond Ro... G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd., responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you fo recommending our hotel to other travelers. We are in a proccess of making our eggs taste better than ever before and I believe that next time you will see the improvements. We apreciate your time and reviewing your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Clean and pleasant. Staf goes out of its way to make sure you are comfortable. I was told where the best places to eat were and where not to go. They had many helpful suggestions for a family event I was there to plan. They were very generous with there time. Would stay there anytime I am in the area. Pool was very clean with plenty of towels. Nice breakfast with a wonderful staff there also.

Room Tip: Was in room 330 on the back side third floor and never heard a sound in my five days there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIS Richmond Ro... G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd., responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel while in Williamsburg. We love to take care of every single one of our guests and we want to make sure that you enjoy your stay to the max. Please come back to see us next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Been here three times now and the staff is always pleasant and accommodating - I saw poor reviews of this place and must disagree. It is Hampton inn not the Ritz but a good reliable friendly place at a decent price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIS Richmond Ro... G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd., responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time and letting other travelers know about our hotel. We love to hear that you have enjoyed your stay every time. We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishersville, Virginia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

As always, a Hampton Inn is always a good choice. This one happen to be upgrading and going thru the required renovation. However, it's usually a needed facelift to better serve the guests. Didn't affect the cleanliness of the room, the front desk person was friendly and helpful and even though breakfast was served in the meeting room........Pamella was delightful and helpful. Would I return? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Location of hotel not in a really busy area but great and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

What I love about Hampton Inn is they have a simple idea. Give the guest a clean room with a great bed, and a nice hot breakfast to get them going. This hotel does all of that and more. From the lovely outside to the very well done lobby this hotel offers a great deal for a nice price. The staff seemed very nice and helpful, rooms are as always very clean, and even have hardwood floors. The bed was definitely up to Hilton class, and the jacuzzi tub/shower in my room was very nice after a long drive. Breakfast was very plentiful and if you leave hungry blame yourself. A nice evening walk outside will offer you several places to eat and shop. Overall a wonderful property and I hope my travels bring me back soon.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIS Richmond Ro... G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd., responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Dru H,
We are very happy that you were enjoying your stay with us while visiting Colonial Williamsburg. It is nice to hear from our guests that we are exceeding the traveler's expectations. We would love to see you again in the near future, should your travels bring you back to town. Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites - Richmond Road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I occupied the room for two nights. We were very happy with the cleanlines of the room when we arrived and with the cleanliness during our stay. The stove, refrigerator and microwave were all handy; as well as the in-room safe for valuables and the iron with ironing board if needed. The bath and shower area were clean, well lit and well designed. The two Queen beds were very comfortable and very clean. The T.V.'s were well postioned and had excellent reception. The staff person was baking cookies when I checked in on Thursday evening, February 7, 2013 and made it a point to offer them to me as soon as they finished cooking. There simply wasn't anything that my wife or I found objectionable about the room, staff or location. That pretty well sums it up!

Room Tip: I don't know if there's any advantage to choosing one room over another. We occupied the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIS Richmond Ro... G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd., responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Roland C,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to let other travelers know about your stay at our Hampton Inn & Suites. We strive to make each and every guest happy and welcomed. Thank you for commenting on our team member offering the cookies as well as the cleanliness of your room. We would love to see you coming back when your travles bring you to Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.

Address: 1880 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#14 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Williamsburg
Hampton Inn And Suites
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.