We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scrupulously clean with friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd. to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1880 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book and Earn 2x Points
Ranked #12 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Scrupulously clean with friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Truly impressively clean facility with helpful staff that seemed to take pride in the property. Never challenging to find close-to-room parking. Attractive lobby Christmas decor. Got free upgrade on room without asking! Complimentary hot breakfast that was not overly crowded. Walkable to Yankee Candle, Christmas Mouse, and Old Mill Pancakes. Needs additional elevators.

Room Tip: Stay on the 1st floor if elevator waits may be annoying to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    157
    55
    25
    6
See reviews for
251
104
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

decorations in the lobby were beautiful. Morning breakfasts were varied, fresh and delicious. All of the front desk folks were fun, helpful and made our stay GREAT. I would definitely return to this Hampton Inn as it is located close to everything we wanted to do in Williamsburg. And if you like good coffee, they have it ....24/7 infact!

Room Tip: ask for top floor away from the elevator and you will be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Josef is an excellent GM who understands his customers' needs, the hotel business, and the Williamsburg hotel competition. He's also very nice. Compliments to Mark as well who was very responsive and accommodating since our requirements were unussual (I'm a wheel chair user). mark kinding showed us three room options and gave us the comfort of knowing that the hotel would help in any way to make our stay comfortabe. he also helped print directions, pour coffee, and point out interesting activities. The whole staff was very nice, too!

Room Tip: We figured out the room temperature, but it was a challenge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

All 3 Hampton Inns in Williamsburg are conveniently located. This one is near many restaurants, shopping and 2 outlet malls. The property appears to have been recently renovated and is very clean. Although our room (2 queen beds standard room) and bath were relatively small, they were adequate and the room was equipped with a fridge and microwave.
The only complaint we had was that the mattresses were not the normal Hampton plush pillow top ones that we love and have come to expect when we choose Hampton. We even purchased one for our boat, so we are very familiar with the feel of it. When we asked the manager on duty about it, he replied that all the mattresses in the hotel were the same Sealy brand and were the ones used in all Hamptons. This is not possible since we stayed in a different Hampton that week and the pillow top was much thicker. That being said, we did enjoy our stay but will choose a different hotel for our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

What a nice place to stay. The rooms were clean and the staff was courteous, pleasant and very helpful. The location was conveinient to shopping and just a short jaunt to the historical Colonial Williamsburg area. Our family will definately be returning to this hotel on our bi-yearly trips to Williamsburg.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Everything was very nice and would definately stay here again in the future and the only problem I had was the price of the rooms I know you get what you pay for but I thought the price was a little high.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, nc
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Because we travel, my husband & I picked this hotel as we have found Hampton Inns to be reliable across the country. Unfortunately this particular one was a great disappointment. The first clue was when we initially entered the small room. There was a post-it note on the headboard telling us that our bedding was clean. Um, seriously, a post-it note. Not very professional & one would hope that the bedding was always cleaned between hotel guests but the note makes one wonder. Our room was a king handicapped accessible room ( the kings here are only in handicapped accessible rooms). I honestly don't know how someone in a wheelchair could negotiate their way around this small room. We were told the hotel had recently been renovated. I would agree the decor in the room looked freshly painted. The bed was uncomfortable & certainly not the Hilton bed we had hoped for. The closet was tiny with a rod for hanging clothes at a low level so a dress could not be hung. Ok, it was an accessible room. But only 4 hangers for both of us? It was particularly difficult when you were trying to get the wrinkles out of your clothes using the dollhouse sized miniature ironing board. Oh, and the walls were so thin that our television changed channels when the person next door used their remote. Yeah, that was weird. You could hear every flush, hair dryer, etc from the next room so loudly that my husband thought I was up & using the bathroom when it was next door.

I will say that the staff was very friendly & trying very hard to please. The complimentary breakfast was on par with other Hamptons which was nice. This place seemed to be a Hampton wannabe inn not a typical Hampton. My husband declared it the worst Hampton he has ever stayed in. We will not stay here again. It was not worth the rate we paid.

Room Tip: Room tip: Do not get a room near the first floor laundry & housekeeping area. The maids lined...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIS Richmond Ro... G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd., responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, we are sorry for the condition of your guest room. We hear your comments loud and clear, and we promise that we will make the necessary improvements. We hope we can have another chance to show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel, if your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.

Address: 1880 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#10 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd. 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites
Hampton Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.