We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was impress with cleaning staff and the African American lady that oversaw the morning breakfast, all were very attentive and” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd. to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1880 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book and Earn 2x Points
Ranked #14 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I was impress with cleaning staff and the African American lady that oversaw the morning breakfast, all were very attentive and”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

It has been a very long time since we have stayed at a Hampton Inn Suite. The decor, cleanness and staff were all very pleasant.

We love the fact that the rooms automatically come with a refrigerator and microwave without any extra charges. What a unique touch that sets the hotel apart from others. We plan to come back to this hotel for future trips to Williamsburg.

Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    245
    159
    57
    26
    6
See reviews for
256
105
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
boonsboro
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights while we were in Williamsburg area due, in part, to us being able to have a room with a kitchen area and 2 rooms. The room looked as if it was recently remodeled, but the kitchen area was not really done correclty. (The cabinets were too small for the plates, my camp stove may have worked better as compaired to the stove that was in the room and the dishwasher looked as if it was the original model) - BUT - it was nice to have a full sized refrigerator WITH AN ICE MAKER!!! Other than the odd kitchen area, the room was nice. There was no desk. I thought that was strange, but there was a nice breakfast bar we used. So - no issue. My kids liked the pool area and the breakfast area staff was always on top of everything. The front desk staff was great. Very friendly.

One issue - hard to make a left out of the hotel. That is NOT the hotel's faught..just a fact.

I would stay here again and I do recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: I only stayed in the kitchen suite room. Not sure what the other rooms were like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

A little expensive but a nice hotel. The bed and pillows were so comfortable, I didn't want to get up in the morning. Good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh PA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I recently traveled with family for a long weekend to Williamsburg and they made reservations well in advance for a 3 night stay. We arrived around 3:30pm and were given our keys and the rooms were on totally different floors. When the reservation was made it was requested as close together as possible, adjoining would be appreciated. We knew the adjoining is always a hit or miss. But being on two different floors should of been accomodated. They did some checking around and we were able to get rooms on the same floor but at different ends. That was somewhat of a disappointment especially since they reservations were made back in March. The rooms were nice. I still had the king and the other room was a double. They were nice, clean and comfortable. I was at the end of the hall near the stairwell but it was quiet. They had a nice indoor pool but we did not use it. We only did breakfast there our last morning. It was well maintained and a nice variety. Three hot items plus the waffle maker. Staff seemed friendly and overall it was a good stay. Lots of places to eat with in walking distance nice sit down to fast food burgers right there. Some places to browse and shop. Richmond Road is a busy road so take caution if you are crossing the street etc...The Christmas Mouse is nearby and a nice place to spend some time. It is a good location, kind of central to the main attractions as most places on Richmond Road are. Overall it was a very nice stay. Just a little disappointed in our room locations.

Room Tip: Stress your room preferences and confirm closer to arrival date.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband and I decided to take a last minute trip to Williamsburg and booked this hotel through another site which offered the Historical Triangle passes as part of the package. I ALWAYS stay at Hampton Inn whenever there is one near my destination. They are my overall favorite hotel chain. I love the beds, breakfast offered and overall cleanliness that Hampton Inn consistently succeeds at providing. However, the Hampton on Richmond Road was VERY disappointing. The lobby appeared fine, but when we got to the room it was like we took a step back in time. The paint and decor were old and not up to standard (who puts fake hardwood in a bathroom?) The fire alarms were hanging from the wall, fan in bathroom didn't work which caused the mirror to remain steamed while trying to get ready. The mini fridge barely kept anything cool let alone cold...and the bed...what a disappointment. The bed sank in the middle and was incredibly too soft...and the pillows...small, feathered pillows which provided no support whatsoever. Even after asking for more pillows at the front desk, still eneded up being the worst night's sleep I've ever had in a hotel. I even woke up saying, "Thank God that is over with." Because we had one night remaining in our stay and needed sleep, we went to a local department store and bought ourselves (2) pillows and pillow cases to fix the problem. The air conditioner was broken in the workout room and equipment was FILTHY...covered in dried sweat..and odor. There is more, but I think you get the drift.
Again, I LOVE Hampton Inn. This location should not be considered the same. If I could have a do-over, I would select either Historic or Central Hamptons.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We just stayed 5 nights here in one of the suites and can't say enough about how nice it was. The suite was excellent for families. It included a full kitchen which saved us quite a bit of money on food. The complimentary breakfast that was offered each morning was great. They offered a different hot entree each morning plus the normal breakfast offerings like fresh waffles, cereal, freshly cooked oatmeal, fruit, and breads.

We also found the staff to be friendly and efficient. Our TV didn't work (loose wire), and they sent someone up within minutes to fix it. The room was very clean. The indoor pool and fitness area were nice amenities that we used several times. All in all, it was a great stay!

Room Tip: The suites are great especially if you have an extended stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Great location, clean rooms. The whirlpool tub was difficult to get into in, high/wide step to get in and out. Little disappointed that there wasn't the usual goodies in the room for Hilton Honors guests. Even when we asked for bottled water the next morning the front desk was 'cold' about it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.

Address: 1880 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd. 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites
Hampton Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.