We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Weekend w Family - Lodging (Homewood Suites vs Kingsmil)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Williamsburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Williamsburg to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Bypass Road, U.S. Route 60, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%
Ranked #22 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Bradford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Holiday Weekend w Family - Lodging (Homewood Suites vs Kingsmil)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

Our family of 4 (Mom, Dad, daughter -14, son -16) traveled to Williamsburg, VA over the Christmas holiday for a few days. We arrived on Saturday (12/26/08) and stayed through Monday (12/28/08). This was our first visit. As our time away as a family is very valuable, convenience and comfort are more important to us than saving money. Also, I travel quite a bit and am most comfortable with Marriotts and Hiltons. We are also walkers and don't like to have to drive upon arrival.

LODGING - After reviewing lodging choices (mostly on tripadvisor) we ended up with two front-runners - Hilton's Hampton Inn & Suites on Richmond and Kingsmill Resort & Spa. Making sure that plenty of rooms (and hotels) were available, we did not make reservations ahead of time.

Upon arrival we drove to Kingsmill as we thought that would be our preferred location. We live in a rural community and value space. Kingsmill is gated, expansive, and looked lovely. In the summer, this site would be ideal as it is very close to Busch Gardens and has a marina. However, it is a considerable distance from Colonial Williamsburg (CW) where we would be spending most of our (short) time. Anyway, the distance was our primary reason for not selecting Kingsmill.

We drove into town and by mistake booked at Hilton's Homewood Suites (instead of the Hampton). The Homewood Suites is rated #19 on tripadvisor. It was close to the Visitor Center and within walking distance to CW in the daytime. We drove down into CW for evening activities (which is a pain as parking is a premium). We didn't really look into shuttle options but didn't see one at the hotel. If your looking at hotels most of the hotels on Richmond would be closer to the 'hub' of CW but the Homewood Suites and Holiday Inn (rated #1) next door are still 'close enough' if you like walking (and don't have small kids).

The hotel was ok. Kevon at the front desk seemed to live there day/night and was very friendly. However, we tried to check in at 2:00 and were advised the room was not ready and returned back at 4:30 to still have to wait. By then we were really ready to freshen up and having to wait AFTER 4 is a bit much. Overall the construction and infrastructure of the room (#512) is a little sub-par to today's hotel standards, ie. the counters are formica, the couch is HARD as a rock, the sink fixtures are low end, the only wireless connection I could get was from the Comfort Inn (across the street), and we couldn't get the room temperature below 73 even with the AC running non-stop (AND it sounds like a jet taking off in the one bedroom). The breakfast was pretty standard stuff and was clean. I went down early (7:00) to get trays of food to bring to the room. The breakfast area was packed and crazy at 9:00 so go early.

On a positive note the kids we very happy with the warm cookies, the bedding was very fresh and comfortable, and the room (other than the AC) were quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    102
    59
    35
    14
See reviews for
244
51
12
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

We used hotel points to pay for our room, so I cannot say if it was a good value or not, but it was very, very pleasant. The suite was a great choice for our family. We have one child so when she went to sleep in the bedroom we could sit in the livingroom and read and watch TV. In between siteseeing and dinner we she could watch a kids show while we sat in the other room. The room was clean and attractive. Temperature control was fine. The bathroom had all the neccessary supplies, plenty of hot water at a good pressure, and was very clean. We had a kitchen that we didn't use, but would have on a longer stay. I made myself a nice cup of tea with the coffee pot and they had real mugs, not styrofome cups. Breakfast was fine. They had a few hot options as well as standard continental fare, complimentary. It wasn't fine cuisine but there were enough choices that nobody left unhappy, and there were five of us with different tastes. The lady in charge of breakfast was very nice. We put our parents up in a second suite and they loved it. They thought it was very luxurious. I have no complaints at all about this hotel, and I'm a hotel snob. We stayed one night.

  • Liked — Convenient, Clean, Attractive
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, CT
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

This two-bedroom suite was our “base of operations” during our stay in the Williamsburg area. We’ve always had good experiences with Homewood Suites, and this was no exception.

The room was clean and well furnished with a TV in each room and another one in the living area. The employees were very friendly, even the housekeeping staff. The housekeeping people spoke little English, but seemed delighted that I attempted to converse in my fractured Spanish. (One stressed—in Spanish—that she was trying to learn English because “it is important for my job.”) Each day the housekeeping manager either stopped by or called to make sure that our room had been cleaned to our satisfaction.

The hotel offers a free all-you-can-eat breakfast. Scrambled eggs are always on the menu, accompanied by sausage links, corned beef hash, juice, rolls, milk, coffee, etc. The menu varied somewhat each day. As you might guess, this breakfast was very popular, so it tended to be crowded. (There are only 12 tables in the eating area.) There was also an evening food offering, but we never tried it.

If you need Internet access, there is WiFi in the lobby area and wired Internet in the rooms. For high-speed room access, make sure you bring along a network cable for your laptop. The in-room speed is an astonishing 20 Mbytes per second!

There is a small, but well-maintained indoor pool. The laundry room features two washers and dryers ($1.50 for an hour’s worth of dryer time).

We were very pleased with this Homewood Suites. If our family returns to Williamsburg, we will definitely come here again.

  • Liked — Clean and friendly
  • Disliked — Nothing, really
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM601, General Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, September 27, 2008
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. As the new General Manager I promise you that my staff and I will do our best to ensure that all of our guests leave our hotel 100% satisfied. Over the coming months we will be making improvements to our hotel and hope you will come back to see the changes. We have just completed replacing all the beds in the hotel and are planning other improvements. Once again thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again!

Ravi Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altenburg, mo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

My wife dropped my three sons and me off at Colonial Williamsburg on a Monday afternoon then walked into the Homewood Suites and booked a two bedroom suite for two nights. It was nice, convenient, roomy, and clean. When I went to check out, I was shocked. $279 per night plus taxes and fees. Although this is a Hilton property, it's level of amenity is equal to a Drury Suites, not a Hilton. The price was too high for what we got, although it was very large, and had a kitchenette. We stayed at the Hyatt Grand in Washington DC the two nights prior(Saturday and Sunday) in a similar arrangement only much more elegant and didn't pay this much.

  • Liked — roominess
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

Nothing to write home about goor or bad

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

I stay at the Homewood Suites frequently for business. The staff is great and remembers regular customers.

Front desk staff changes frequently but they've always gotten my reservation correct.

Rooms are great - separate bedroom from the living room and kitchenette. 2 TVs is nice too.

Evening light meals on the weekdays is a nice amenity; breakfast is more than decent. hot and cold items available.

Indoor pool is sometimes a little cold but a fun place for families in the summer.

Nice location within town - easy drive to Busch Gardens and Colonial Williamsburg.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia suburbs
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

We had a great space for us and 2 children. 2 room suite with small living room/kitchenette and 2 baths. 3 TVs with premium cable channels and indoor pool. Room was clean and comfortable. Hotel was close to Colonial Williamsburg. However, the hotel came with a "made to order" breakfast. We assumed it would be similar to Embassy Suites breakfasts as they are both part of the Hilton chain. How wrong we were! Fake scrambled eggs! Pork products (bacon, sausage, hash). Poor biscuits. Only sugary, disgusting cereals. Blueberry muffins with dried out blueberries. Fake o.j. Canned fruit instead of fresh. This was not a "made to order" breakfast. There was nothing healthy to feed my children! The manager's reception in the evening was even worse. Overly sweetened iced tea, and some type of processed "light" entree. What a ripoff! Stay in the room, forgo to breakfast.

  • Liked — space of hotel room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Williamsburg

Address: 601 Bypass Road, U.S. Route 60, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#19 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#20 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Suite Hotel located 1 mile from Colonial Williamsburg & College of William and Mary; 4 miles from shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Homewood Williamsburg
Williamsburg Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.