We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, just not someplace I'd come back to.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Williamsburg to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Bypass Road, U.S. Route 60, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%
Ranked #22 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Johns Creek, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Decent, just not someplace I'd come back to.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

So we just left Embassy Suites in Alexandria and this place is definitely a let down after that experience. The units are dated with popcorn ceilings. Still generally clean. The meals are just plain depressing. Embassy Suites had an awesome breakfast in contrast. We only had one complimentary dinner here which was frozen dinner quality salisbury steak. The eating area is small and depressing. And surprisingly, we didn't pay that much more for Embassy Suites and they had complimentary managers receptions with decent liquor instead of the depressing dinner offerings.

Unfortunately, the Embassy Suites was fully booked when we made reservations about a month ago.
One good thing to mention was the staff was always nice and friendly. Also is in a decent location. This place just needs some major renovation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamPWBGHW, General Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we apologize for the condition of your guest suite. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. However, we would like to apologize for the poor quality of meals you experienced as well. Our dining staff has been addressed and the necessary improvements will be made. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    102
    59
    35
    14
See reviews for
244
51
12
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Allen Park, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Such a clean, organized and friendly place to stay! We are a family of six and stayed seven nights in a two bedroom suite. We were comfortable in the room, since we had a full kitchen, one king bed and two double queen beds and excellent housekeeping service from Marianna.
Sam, the general manager is truly a gem! He is definitely the best administrator that my husband and I have encountered with all of our years of travel...and that is no exaggeration. Taelor, Larry, Debbie, Andrea, and Rhonda are just fabulous; they are all so genuine and friendly...our children even want Taelor to move to our city, so that she can babysit them!
We had a slight plumbing problem at 9pm one of the nights, brought on by ourselves, and the maintenance man was so diligent and successful in resolving our situation.
Thanks to all of you for such for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Perfect location to visit colonial Williamsburg. Suite set up and breakfast make it perfect for a family vacation. Hotel staff was all extremely friendly and went out of their way to welcome us and assist us during our stay. Conveniently located just a few minute drive from the Williamsburg Visitor Center and strip of restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have a family of 6 and it is always been difficult to find a hotel with lodging for all of us. The rate was for more affordable than other locations. We end up staying two nights, while we visited the Williamsburg historic area. Room was neat, comfortable, and clean. Customer service was excellent from all staff including the breakfast bar servicer. The front desk manager, Larry Nixon, was awesome. He helps us with our stay to make the most of our limited time since there is so much to do in Williamsburg. When we come back, we are definitely staying at this location.

Room Tip: I found it more helpful to call the hotel direct instead of going thru the Reservation call center...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
359 reviews 359 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
301 helpful votes 301 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

...then this Homewood Suite is a very good choice for you. I found the room layouts of Homewood Suites hotels to vary considerably; most of them very good. The room (one bedroom suite) layout here was very functional for our family of four. We stayed in a fifth floor (top floor) suite near the corner facing the road out front. As mentioned by other reviewers, noise from other suites was not really noticeable and road noise was also not an issue as the road (Rt 60/Bypass Road) is not heavily traveled at night. My only noise complaint is the noise generated by the refrigerator in the kitchenette; much louder than I am accustomed to. But the sleeping area has a door which helps block the noise. Toilet and shower are in a separate room from the vanity/sink; good feature for families. Climate controls, lighting, shower water pressure, furniture comfort were all very good. The beds were too soft; however, others in my family thought the beds were great. Room decor is pleasing and simple. Having two TVs is great for families unwinding after a day of sightseeing. Breakfast is somewhat mediocre; I've had much better in similar hotels. However, the oatmeal was outstanding for my taste; very creamy. Breakfast is on the floor below the lobby (LL) near the indoor pool. The low ceiling in this area made me feel I was in someone's overcrowded basement. Not very nice. The lobby looks better on a photo posted on Trip Advisor. Staff are outstanding. Housekeeping keeps this busy hotel very clean. Overall, a great choice for Williamsburg visitors.

Room Tip: top floor away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamPWBGHW, General Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Keystone Traveler, thank you for telling us about your stay at the Homewood Suites Williamsburg and sharing your experience. We sincerely appreciate all of your wonderful comments. As you mentioned, our staff is very friendly and focuses on making each guest experience a great one!! I will be sure to pass your comments on to the entire staff for a job well done. We hope to see you soon, have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I really enjoy staying at the Homewood Suites chain particularly when I am traveling with my children. The one in Williamsburg was top notch. The morning breakfast is more expansive than continental so that you have eggs, bacon/sausage and potatoes along with the usual cereal, pastries, yogurt, toast and fruit. In the evening the light dinner/happy hour is great if you don't have any dinner plans. he room were very clean and well appointed (two flat screen TVs). The fold-out bed in the separate living room was perfect for our guest. Having a small but full kitchen was nice for re-heating leftovers. The front desk was incredibly efficient and EVERYONE was helpful and attentive. I had trouble getting on the wireless network and the front desk sent up their internal IT person. The hotel is within five miles of Busch Gardens and Colonial Williamsburg. Very nice. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamPWBGHW, General Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments. We also appreciate all of your feedback regarding your room, service, and food and beverage experience. We will pass your comments on to our staff. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Sincerely, Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The five of us--3 generations--stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite, which was perfect for giving us more face time as we got up in the morning and before going to sleep in the evening. The staff was very helpful with suggestions to make the most of our time at Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, and Yorktown.

Room Tip: Choose the 2 bedroom suite, if there are more than 4 in your party. You will have lots of space and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Bob M,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you , and your family. We hope you all enjoyed your stay in Williamsburg. We will make sure that we pass your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing comments about their service. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Williamsburg

Address: 601 Bypass Road, U.S. Route 60, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#19 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#20 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Suite Hotel located 1 mile from Colonial Williamsburg & College of William and Mary; 4 miles from shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Homewood Williamsburg
Williamsburg Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.