We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Close to Historic City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Williamsburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Williamsburg to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Bypass Road, U.S. Route 60, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%
Ranked #22 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Close to Historic City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is one of my favorite hotels. The staff is quite friendly, greeting each traveler with "Welcome Home." The rooms are updated and modern with a good selection a channels. The bathrooms are spacious and efficiently designed and the pool is clean. The breakfast area is especially well designed, not to mention it serves a great breakfast. Would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear AdmiralPi,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback regarding your stay. Thank you for mentioning our amenities. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We hope you and your family enjoyed your stay in Williamsburg. We will pass your comments on to our staff. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    102
    59
    35
    14
See reviews for
244
51
12
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at many Homewood Suites, and we have always been pleased. However, this one missed the mark for us. We stayed in room 209. The room itself was very nice, and the furnishings were up-to-date. There were a few things in this room that were no up to par. 1) The ice maker did not work in the fridge. The only ice that guests can get is either in the fridge in the guest rooms, or on the lower level, they do not provide ice on each floor. We did retrieve ice from the lower level. 2) The toilet did not flush very well. To be fair, we have the same brand and model of toilet in our home, and we have the same problem. It was still annoying in the hotel. 3) One of the lamps did not work, so the staff provided us with another one. 4) The hotel uses light-saving bulbs, and the room was rather dark. We like well-lit rooms. The light in the bathroom ceiling had a flicker to it. 5) Several of the plug outlets did not work properly. The one in the kitchen was too loose, and when you plug in a product, the plug started coming out of the wall. My husband bent the prongs of the plug on my make-up mirror so that it would stay in. The plug on the wall in the bedroom behind the dresser did not charge my phone, so I discovered it was not charged in the morning. I was able to charge is before we checked out on another outlet. 6) The hotel's AC/heating system is located behind a locked door in the bedroom, and it had a rather loud air-flow system. We decided not to run the heat or AC when we were sleeping, so as to avoid the loudness, which would have prevented us from being able to fall asleep. When I inquired with the front desk about the loudness, I was informed by the electrician that all the rooms have this system, and so they would all be the same. We have never encountered this problem in any other Homewood Suites. We were also told that some rooms had been updated, and that the noise was a little softer. 7) The latch on the entry door got stuck a few times and it was hard to open the door. 8) There was a spot of dried blood on the sheets on the bed, which would have come out if the sheets had been washed before they were put back on the bed. The spot would have looked differently than it did if the sheets had been washed. ~ We voiced all of these complaints to the front desk, and they made sure the the General Manager of the hotel spoke to us. He was very nice and apologized for all of our difficulties. He ended up giving us the room for free due to all of our difficulties. He stated he would make sure the problems were fixed. This hotel has received rave reviews from other guests, so it appears the other rooms were fine. You could take a chance and stay here based on the other reviews.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamPWBGHW, General Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for responding on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to the Homewood Suites Williamsburg. We appreciate you sharing your comments with us regarding the issues you experienced with your overnight accommodations and apologize for any inconvenience that this caused during your visit. I have addressed your concerns with our staff in order to take the necessary actions to improve our service level and be sure that the areas of concern that were mentioned have been corrected. Ms. Davis I truly appreciated the opportunity I had to discuss your experience in further detail with you. If you should ever have any questions or cocnerns please feel free to contact me directly at 757-259-1199
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Homewood Suites Williamsburg during a conference. This hotel was great! The suites are spacious and have all the comforts of home. The front desk staff was always friendly and courteous. The morning breakfast was a real breakfast too, which was nice to be able to grab before heading to the conference. I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Nymph74,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We appreciate all of your feedback. We are so glad that you stayed with us during the conference you attended. We hope you enjoyed your time in Williamsburg. Thank for your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Last week we traveled with family...five adults and five children 6 and under. Great accomodations in the 2 bedroom 2 bath suite. Spacious, clean and comfortable. Very good complimentary breakfast. The kitchen was much appreciated to deal with babies, bottles, sippy cups and the like. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Deborah H,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your family. We will pass your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. We hope you enjoyed your time in Williamsburg. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My daughter and myself stayed at this hotel for one evening recently. We were in Williamsburg to visit local colleges that she is interested in. Stayed in a two bedroom, two bathroom. (if you have a teenage daughter you understand the reasoning for two bathrooms) The room was very spacious and well kept, clean and comfortable. The kitchen amenities were great as well if you plan on staying for an extended period or long weekend. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Wireless service was free. The breakfast was also complimentary, and was very good. Full breakfast with many options. Location is near everything that Williamsburg has to offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear ErichGo,

Thank you for telling us about you and your daughter's stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments. We are so glad we could accommodate during your trip to Williamsburg. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We hope that you will visit us again in the future. Thank you so much for your time.

Sincerely,
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My room was huge and clean. The staff was great and the lobby was all dressed up for Christmas. Will stay here again when I come back. Dinner is served from 5-7 and its pretty darn good. They do have smoking rooms so make sure you mention what you prefer.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Pgaclay,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We appreciate all of your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. We hope you enjoyed your time in Williamsburg. We appreciate all guest feedback. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We were two couples and got a two-bedroom suite. Great choice! The location is perfect for Williamsburg, Jamestown, and Yorktown. I particularly liked the large vanitary area, which is separate from the toilet and shower. Very convenient when getting dressed in the mornings! Free breakfast was hot and satisfactory. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful with our questions. The manager actually came to our room the night we checked in and made some phone calls for us relating to our reservations, etc. We would definitely stay here again when visiting Williamsburg.

Room Tip: If you have more than two people who would like to stay together, go for the two-bedroom suite. Gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Lori D,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback regarding your stay with friends. We hope you all enjoyed your time in Williamsburg. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Williamsburg

Address: 601 Bypass Road, U.S. Route 60, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#19 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#20 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Suite Hotel located 1 mile from Colonial Williamsburg & College of William and Mary; 4 miles from shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Homewood Williamsburg
Williamsburg Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.