We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's strengths outweigh it's weaknesses” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Williamsburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Williamsburg to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Bypass Road, U.S. Route 60, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Explore Williamsburg
Ranked #22 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maryland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“It's strengths outweigh it's weaknesses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We've been going to Williamsburg for over 20 years and have stayed at many hotels. This is our current go-to hotel for a few reasons. (1) We like a room with a good air conditioner, and that is getting harder and harder to find. The rooms at this hotel let you really cool down the room. (2) It is in a good central location (3) It seems to be a "quiet" hotel, our room had very little "external" noise. The A/C unit is not a window one, but is still located in the room. I don't think it is very loud, but it isn't "central" air. (4) The rooms are large, well laid-out, and the beds are in good shape.

On the slightly negative side, this is an older hotel and it sometimes shows. The rooms were clean, but are showing some signs of wear. Also, it includes a breakfast, but the last time we stayed, the breakfast really didn't look very good at all...not up to the usual Hilton hotel (Hampton Inn, etc..) standards. No OJ, warm Apple juice, they had eggs, but didn't look good. We usually eat out in Williamsburg so it isn't an issue for us.

Room Tip: Avoid the lower floors if you don't want headlights in your windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique R, General Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, February 19, 2015
Dear Apljavaman,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return.

Thank you,

Angelique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    107
    62
    37
    16
See reviews for
262
56
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Waldwick, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I'm a Hilton Honor card holder. So obviously I wanted to stay in a Hilton chain. Every time we go to Orlando, FL we stay at the Staybridge suites. First it was simply the one we found with vacancy. Then it became home away from home. Since our trip to Williamsburg was a short one (4 nights) we decided to try the Homewood. I was NOT impressed at all. The front desk help (Larry) was wonderful, full of smiles, and very helpful. The hotel itself was not all that. The rooms were a bit tight. They were clean but outdated. The breakfast was a turn off. I thought a Hilton would have fresh food, better varieties, and a pleasant staff. That was not the case on all three accounts. The first morning we left pretty much still hungry. Thank God for the meal plan we bought in Bush garden. Where you sit to eat breakfast is dreary. It is a lower level mostly no windows except for one side. The window is blocked by an extension of the building. Hence no sun light to uplift your mode. Also, it is very small seating area. You come late, and you better take it to go b/c there will no tables. The coffee was not hot and they kept running out of napkins, silverware, and coffee creamers. As I said I was not impressed. Would I go again to Homewood? I'll keep an open mind but in a different location. However, since we spend about 2 weeks in Orlando, FL, I'll play it safe and go for the Staybridge suits.
Word of advice, I wish I waited right before the weekend. The two room suites price was lashed big time. Unfortunately, I could not reserve as my reservation was “Advance purchase” which means Icould not change it.

Room Tip: try to pick the ones at the end of th hole, especiall
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear SGfromNJ,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are very sorry that you were not satisifed with your stay. Thank you for telling us about your concerns about the hotel. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you for telling us your thoughts about the breakfast service. Thank you for your mention of our employee Larry. We will make sure that we pass that on to him. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Girls only weekend. Great set up with a living area, kitchen and separate bedroom area. Had a few request like away from elevator, top floor etc... We ended up directly across from the elevator and had horrible noise from the outside AC units or something in the bedroom area. We did not ask to switch since it was late and we were only staying one night. Be warned the breakfast is hot and free but it was not good. I did mention this to the front desk and in my survey. Ended up spending money going out to eat brunch.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. I apologize that you were not happy with your room assignment during your recent stay at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all reservations but occasionally cannot meet every room request. We will take your feedback regarding our breakfast into consideration as we work to improve our offerings. We hope you will consider giving us a second chance if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, NC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is an older hotel, but the rooms are updated. Every staff member we encountered was friendly. I remarked to my husband that it was easy to forget any small things (such as some of the features being older...like no automatic doors) because the staff was so great. We travelled to Williamsburg to visit Busch Gardens. The hotel is in a great location, less than 10 miles from Busch Gardens. We had a 2 BR 2 BA suite. It was fantastic. We had a ton of space to spread out. The rooms were clean and the bathrooms were clean. The pool was nice. The morning breakfast was nice. Eggs, ham, potatoes, waffles, cereal, pastries among other things were on the menu. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear ARMYG8R,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean safe, and comfortable place to stay. We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us, and that we could accomodate you. Thank you for mentioning our breafast service. We will pass your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

2 adults and 2 teenage girls. Two bedroom suite (1K +2Q). Clean. Plenty of space. Free internet. Friendly staff. Breakfast was ok. The bathrooms could have been attached to the bedrooms for another click on the rating, but not a big deal. Good location for Busch Gardens and Water Country Parks. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Advance purchased off Hilton site and got us a great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear arupkhan,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your family. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Williamsburg. Thank you for mentioning your concerns about the location of the bathroom. We appreciate all guest feedback. It alllows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milltown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were 3 adults and 2 teenage girls. Found the one bedroom suite to be very adequate, great location to Williamsburg & Busch Gardens. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was also adequate we did not use the afternoon receptions. Would use again in a return trip!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Jim6468,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We appreciate all of your feedback regarding your stay. We are so glad that we could accommodate you, and your family during your trip to Williamsburg. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Williamsburg. Thank you for your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We try to find homewood first when we travel. All but once this has been a good idea. As a family of 5 we need the space and breakfast is a huge plus. We were surprised on arrival to be the guest of the day. We got turn down service, bonus hilton honor points and upgraded to a two bedroom for our entire stay. We were so excited to have that extra space and each kid in their own bed. The hotel itself is in great shape. Not perfect, but well maintained and the staff seems to care about their hotel. It couldn't get much closer to colonial williamsburg, which was perfect for us since we were there almost every day. We will stay her again without question.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear dpuck1998,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback regarding the hotel. We are so glad that we could accommodate you, and your family. Thank you for all of your comments. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you and your family will choose us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Homewood Suties Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Williamsburg

Address: 601 Bypass Road, U.S. Route 60, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#18 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Williamsburg hotel, a charming hotel located 18 miles from Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport. Enjoy the comforts of home in one of the elegant suites, complete with your own fully equipped kitchen and separate living room. Situated in the center of colonial Williamsburg, the spacious suites make this hotel in Williamsburg, VA a memorable place for an extended stay or short holiday Enjoy the comforts of home at Homewood Suites, where your day begins with a complimentary cooked breakfast. Choose a spacious one- or two-bedroom suite with separate living and sleeping areas. Unwind on comfortable, classic furniture in front of your fireplace. Each suite is large enough for work, study or entertaining, and includes a kitchen with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Relax on a comfortable couch in your living room, and unwind in front of on-demand movies on your 37-inch LCD TV. Stay connected with high-speed WiFi and two telephones with data ports and voicemail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Homewood Suites Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Homewood Williamsburg
Williamsburg Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.