We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so quality Inn ” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5351 Richmond Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #47 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Canton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not so quality Inn ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is the nastiest hotel I have ever stepped foot in. Checked in to two filthy rooms that smelled like must and smoke even though they were non smoking. Asked to be moved and the next two rooms were worse than the first. Mold and hair from previous guests in the bathroom. Ripped comforters and lamp shade in the room that actually had one. The other was missing altogether. There was no way I allowing my family to stay in that nasty place. The one room even had the outlet out from the wall and against the mattress. I was afraid we would have a fire. The elevator was suspect and filthy. It was scary. Thankfully a call to Priceline got us a refund and we were able to book at the days Inn historic district which was clean and awesome. Steer clear of this place. It is disgusting.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia S, Director of Operations at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear CarlaD,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and provide candid feedback of your stay. On behalf of the hotel and myself, I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we try to improve with each guests stay.

I can assure you that the problems with the room have been addressed with out maintenance & housekeeping departments for repairs and cleaning.

Again, I do apologize for any inconvenience this situation has caused. I invite you to contact me to (757)645-3636 if you would like to discuss this further.

Sincerely,
Georgia Salih
Director of Operations
757-645-3636
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
21
14
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

All I can say is awful. True, you get what you pay for - we only paid $69 - but this wasn't even worth half that. We were there in February and the heat at full blast never got the room above 60. There were NO blankets in the room, either. When I called the desk they said they'd look around and to come down. When I got there the lady went in the back and brought up a balled up blanket that clearly wasn't in any pile to be used for a room. The clerk seemed oblivious to any issues that I brought up.

There was a clock radio in the room that didn't work at all - no time, no sound, nothing. Nor was there a replacement available. The shower would not turn off completely - the lever just went round and round. There was a grand total of 2 electric sockets in the room. The lamp, microwave, fridge and TV all shared them so you had to chose what you wanted to use.

The door to the room and the door to the bathroom both had holes and/or delamination. The holes looked as if a security lock or door stop had been poked through but there were neither locks nor door stops anywhere. The furniture was a wreck - the coffee table was literally falling apart.

I really thought that the hotel must have been overbooked and they had to give us a room that was not normally used but the hotel was less than half full.
This room was a complete embarrassment for the chain.

Room Tip: All I can say is call ahead to see if you're getting a room that's in good shape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia S, Director of Operations at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear SandKfromVa,
Thank you for completing the review and providing us with candid feedback about your stay in May. Your feedback regarding the room needing repairs and upgrades is appreciated. These items have also been given to our maintenance and housekeeping departments for repairs.

I hope you had an opportunity to speak to the Manager on Duty or to be moved to another room if one was available. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact me directly.
Sincerely,
Georgia Salih
Director of Operations
757-645-3636
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

This is a motel, so it does have that motel style funky door, but once inside the rooms are very nice. The rooms appear to have been recently renovated, are modern looking, very clean and well maintained. All of the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was great - they offered the standard cold continental breakfast items as well as scrambled eggs and breakfast meats. Someone was constantly replenishing and making sure breakfast was hot and delicious. It is about a 12-15 minute drive from the Revolutionary city - didn't feel far away at all! We could hear the train go by twice at about 7 or 9:00 pm, but if it went by in the middle of the night we didn't hear it.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia S, Director of Operations at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 2, 2015
Dear A.J.,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm very happy to hear that you thought your room was modern looking, very clean and well maintained. I am also happy to hear that our staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. I have passed your comments on to them. Our staff goes out of their way to make each guests experience a memorable one.

We also take great pride in being able to offer a hot, fresh breakfast each and every morning. I'm glad you had time to enjoy it!
Sincerely,
Georgia Salih
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMV
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

I have been staying here since the first weekend it opened as a Clarion Inn. The staff is nice and the breakfast is decent. Quite a few of the rooms are in need of repairs. The price is good but if you are looking for a three or four star please keep looking.

Room Tip: Back 1st floor if traveling with a dog or 2nd floor facing white building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia S, Director of Operations at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 2, 2015
Dear LaLaBoo1,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. First I would like to say thank you for being a loyal customer. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we us it to improve our hotel. I greatly appreciate your comments about the room needing updating. We have made upgrades/repairs to many of the rooms and will continue to do so in the upcoming months. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip.
Sincerely,
Georgia Salih
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

This hotel is lovely :) It really is about quality here. The staff was very accommodating and the room we stayed in was definitely the best we've stayed. A reasonable price and great value. I plan to come to this hotel when staying in Williamsburg. The location is perfect as well, near to all restaurants and great shopping nearby! When walking into the lobby you can notice that this hotel is taken care of on a daily basis. Also there is a pool and an excersize room. Thanks Quality Inn!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia S, Director of Operations at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 2, 2015
Dear HatePineapple,
Thank you so much for your amazing review! I'm happy to hear that you had a great experience during your stay. It's also good to hear that we were conveniently located to the activities you attended. We take great pride in making each guests experience a memorable one.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Williamsburg.

Sincerely,
Georgia Salih
Director of Operation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAFret
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

I was very pleased by everything at this hotel. It is an older property with exterior corridors but that was fine. The room was spacious, clean, and appeared to have been recently redecorated. The breakfast consisted of the standard items but was good. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia S, Director of Operations at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2015
Dear USAFret,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay, as well as your room, breakfast and our friendly staff. We take great pride in making each guests experience a memorable one. I'm glad you were able to experience that level of service during your stay. We hope to see you again the next time you're in Williamsburg.

Sincerely,
Georgia Salih
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

This hotel is an older style property but our room had recently been renovated and was very clean and comfortable! The bed was quite comfortable and the bathroom was very clean. The lobby is huge and welcoming, breakfast was good, hot and cold foods, fruit, etc. and an attendant was present at all times keeping things replenished and tables clean. All the staff we encountered were friendly and pleasant. This hotel is only a couple of blocks from the huge outlet mall. Overall a pleasant stay and a great value in Williamsburg.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia S, Director of Operations at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 3, 2015
Dear Wingate Dawg,
Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, our hotel and had a great experience with our staff. We take great pride in making each guests experience a memorable one. We hope to see you again the next time you're in the Williamsburg area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 5351 Richmond Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites® hotel is ideally located in Virginia's historic triangle of Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown. This Williamsburg, VA hotel is close to Busch Gardens Williamsburg amusement park, Water Country USA water park, Colonial Williamsburg outdoor history museum, the College of William & Mary, Williamsburg Pottery Factory and the Jamestown Settlement. Newport News Williamsburg International Airport is less than 15 miles away. Military bases such as Fort Eustis, Camp Perry and Naval Weapons Station Yorktown are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites
Clarion Hotel Williamsburg
Clarion Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.