We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Followup--more info, same rating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7224 Marrimac Trail, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #55 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
Cary, NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Followup--more info, same rating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

I had to log in as "sasquatchboo" while I was on the road, but wanted to give a few more details on our recent stay..Yes, this place is a heck of a bargain for the price! It is neat, clean, has wireless, and was a very convenient location. We had microwave and refrigerators, big tv's in each room. (We had two rooms side by side, though they don't have any that connect with an inside door.)

The main caveat I would provide would be to bring earplugs if you are a light to medium sleeper. There is a train that goes by regularly until about midnight, though it doesn't blow it's horn. You also hear the whoosh of traffic. (No car horns.) Also, our second room didn't have a drain plug in the bathtub. My six year old wanted a bath, but had to take a shower. No biggie. Lastly, the beds are very clean and in good condition, but a bit firm. (The pillows are a bit firm too.) Is it a "four-star" hotel? Absolutely not. But my rating of 4 stands: you are getting WAY more than you'd expect for $39 off season, with a truly clean room and amenities.

Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    26
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
27
11
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

I'm sitting here in the Rodeway Inn Williamsburg right now, sending in a review because I am so thrilled that the online reviews were accurate and honest! We got the $39/night rate, which is making our spring break budget much less painful on the way to DC...

Yes, it is an old style "motel", but from the inside you wouldn't know the difference from Days Inn, Holiday Inn, the like. (Except the size of the bathrooms.) It has current decor, no odors, no mildew, no "Ick" factor period. Granted, it is on the highway. We asked for rooms as far off the highway as possible, and I think we'll sleep fine despite the whoosh of noise from cars going by. (No truck horns, anything like that). I guess I'd say bring earplugs if you really want to guarantee silent sleep.

Unless something drastic happens overnight or tomorrow am, I'll let this stand as my review. The web site photos are accurate, it has working wireless, rooms are clean, well decorated, with fridge, microwave, coffee pot and hair dryer. I hope these folks can outlast the economy!

Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, VA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

We stayed at this family-run property for a weekend wedding/Busch Gardens getaway. It is an old ‘motor court’ motel, spotlessly clean with all the basics needed in a hotel room, including complimentary soap and shampoo and hair dryer.

Our generously sized non-smoking king room also had a full-sized closet (yes, a closet! With doors!), iron and full ironing board, a table with two chairs, small loveseat, mini-fridge and microwave, and a heating/cooling unit that kept the room toasty on a cold-ish October night. Furniture and décor was somewhat dated or just plain utilitarian, but all well working – and the bathroom appeared to be newly tiled and painted. (When we visited, the pool was closed for the season, so we cannot speak to that. ) Staff is pleasant and very accommodating with information when needed.

Free wireless internet access is not the speediest but does the job – note that if you are not accustomed to seeking and accessing wireless networks independently, you may need to contact the front desk.

Caveats: those who need firmer pillows may wish to bring their own; those needing very firm beds will be disappointed; and light sleepers may be disturbed by the occaisional train noise over the heating unit – tho the tracks are across a five-lane road and behind property on the other side. Anyone wanting more high-end furniture, decor, or other amenities of 'higher-end' accommodations should look elsewhere.

However, if simple overnight rooms are needed, this hotel is an excellent value with a good location near Busch Gardens – we recommend it most highly and will stay here again in the future.

  • Liked — great value, great location
  • Disliked — it does not accept pets (we didn't need it to, but be advised)
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

Awesome lodging for the price. The property is updated inside and out. Everything in our room was new right down to the bright, white linens. The room was cleaned perfectly everyday and the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was large and had a fridge, microwave, coffee maker and a hair dryer. The bathroom was updated and very clean. The location is smack between Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens. The bathrooms are small and there is a fair amount of street noise from the traffic going by the property. My wife never heard it but it bothered me because I'm a light sleeper. Next time I'll request a room in the rear of the property. My wife and I have encountered nightmare stays at properties owned/operated by foreigners in the past. This is NOT one of those stories. This foreigner operated property does not fall into the typical stereotype of a hotel in disrepair, dirty and smelly. We will stay here again if ever in the Williamsburg area again. BTW...the, pix posted by other travelers, are indeed accurate.

  • Liked — Clean and a great price
  • Disliked — Street noise
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites

Address: 7224 Marrimac Trail, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.