We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Fancy, Just Nice and Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7224 Marrimac Trail, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #40 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
Windsor
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not Fancy, Just Nice and Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The overall experience of staying here was comfortable. Clean room, clean comfortable bed, big TV, and although old, the air conditioning works great. When I inquired about the old air conditioning system, the pleasant management staff explained that it is an old building. The pool was very clean, also. It appears the staff take good care of this place. EXCELLENT coffee in the morning! Doughnuts as well as other continental items. The only reason I rated the value as average is because $90 could pay for a more updated, modern room. But I understand the fact that it IS located close to Colonial Williamsburg, and the summertime is tourist season. I'm waiting for the summer rates to go down, but I would come back and stay here again. A pleasant, gracious management staff is ALWAYS a plus! We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We chose the KING smoking room because we are smokers, and it was very roomy and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    30
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
31
12
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
alexandria va
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This motel has been around for a while but my room was remodeled and comfortable. The manager is friendly and helpful. The location is pretty good, a little farther away from Williamsburg but lower cost. Breakfast is continental cold breakfast. Other reviews complained but I had no problems and would stay here again. I was here 7 nights.

Room Tip: ask for remodeled, I was in end room (225) and it was quiet. trains during the night but not much r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Single mom with 15 y.o. and 12 y.o. checked in on a Fri. p.m. planned to leave on Sun. could not stay for 2 nts.lost money and did'nt care. Dirty,dingy, pool closed, vagrant cats, train!! Continental brkfst NOT...GO ELSEWHERE pleas...

Room Tip: Train tracks what can I say...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife and I and our 18 year old and 12 year old daughters stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on our way to the Outer Banks, and then two more nights on our way back. It made our overall drive time from the midwest more manageable and allowed us to spend a day at Colonial Williamsburg and another at the amusement parks sandwiched on either side of the Outer Banks trip. We were very pleased with our choice.

The hotel is an older, mom and pop, single level hotel, so it doesn't have the "wow" factor of a newer hotel, but it had everything we needed: two queen beds in a clean room, cable tv, a fridge, coffee maker and a basic included continental breakfast all at a very economical price. It also had an outdoor pool. We did not use it but we saw other guests enjoying it in the evening when we returned from our outings, but we were simply too tired to use it.

Minor complaints: in-room coffee was a bit stale during our first stay, but on our return it was fine. Air conditioner was an older model and was a bit loud. But, as I said minor things considering the price of the room.

The hotel is only several minutes away from Colonial Williamsburg, slightly longer to Busch Gardens or Water Country USA water park, and just a couple minutes from interstate access. Great location.

We would stay here again if visiting Williamsburg.

Room Tip: owner/manager is very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deganwy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We have stayed here at least 5 or 6 times over the past couple years. It's always been fine for our visits to Busch Gardens. Definitely not for high-maintenance, fancy-hotel lovers! It's old and plain, but CLEAN, which is my one requirement--spotless bathroom and bed, even for two germaphobes like us. Check-in/out are easy, staff is nice, breakfast is enough (coffee, fruit, donuts, etc.), there's a mini-fridge, and the location is perfect for visiting the park. It's an easy drive to town too, and it's across from a cheap Mexican restaurant, and just down the road from convenience stores, gas stations, and some fast food. We've never paid more than $50 for a night. Perfect if you just need a clean, convenient place to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

My husband and I planned a road trip which started in Boston and went to the Outerbanks in N.C. We planned on staying 2 nights in Williamsburg, VA. One night was all we could bare. I have to say the family that owned the hotel were so nice, but the place was just disgusting. I couldn't sleep a wink. We walked into our room and it smelled of cat urine/amonia so bad my eyes watered. I ran to 7-11 and bought a can of febreeze and spayed the entire can, as well as leaving the door open to try and move the stench. Nothing worked and we sufficed to stay one night. We awoke to a screeching sound which turned out to be a palmetto bug (i.e. cockroach!)....it was just horrible and luckily our house rental owner let us come a night early to OBX, we couldn't wait to get out of Virgina!!! Oh, they also credited us the second night...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nags Head, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed here on a trip with the grandkids to Busch Gardens - two rooms. The chair seats were torn, worn and stained. Bathroom was clean but this place was so old, needs updating REALLY bad. Room was clean but there was a smell that seemed to be everywhere. Never saw the cont breakfast, pool was so nasty - there was a black greasy ring about 6 inches wide around the whole pool. This seems more line a week or more long term rental from what we say - lots of construction workers and what looked like restaurant workers staying there. Foreign owned, not well maintained at all. Was an ok place to just sleep but we won't be back for sure. Located near enough to Busch Gardens but on loud street and not in the best part of town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites

Address: 7224 Marrimac Trail, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.