We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again, worst management I've ever experienced, so rude!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Williamsburg/Busch Gardens Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Williamsburg/Busch Gardens Area to your Saves list
Days Inn Williamsburg/Busch Gardens Area
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   201 Water Country Parkway, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never again, worst management I've ever experienced, so rude!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We called ahead to get the price for 2 rooms for 4 people and two nights. We were told that was a total of 186$. Well, when we checked out we paid twice as much as they told us when we called and made the reservations! When we asked how that was possible and why they CHARGED us TWICE AS MUCH as we've been told they started being Rudd telling us that that was our own fault because when we booked 2rooms for 4 people for 2 nights we never asked for a total for both rooms just for the overall total! And the total is 186$. For one room!!! Which they decided to NOT TELL US when we asked for the total price! We would have never booked a room with them if we'd have known that!!!

In addition to that the rooms were not really clean, the ceiling was full of water stains, the shower curtain had mold stains, the bathtub was more black than white. The flat screen TVs that have been mentioned by the managers have not made it into our room yet. The breakfast was pretty sad too. Which I didn't care about because I don't eat breakfast, but the rest of my family does...

We are definitely not going to stay at this hotel ever again!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray B, General Manager at Days Inn Williamsburg/Busch Gardens Area, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Let me start off by saying that once again I apologize that the communication between yourself and my Front Office Manager wasnt on the same page. We happen to quote thousands of reservations every season, and this is the first time we had this type of situation. When he took your reservation over the phone he told you that it would be $186.00 per room for two nights pus tax, and it was confusion that you may have interpeted the price as $186.00 total for two nights and two room. Again we apologize for the misunderstanding, we accurately charged you the right rate with no discrepacies. I hope you will reconsider about staying with us, we would totally welcome you back as a customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    79
    52
    45
    62
See reviews for
163
56
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times because it is close to Busch Gardens. We live an hour away and we get passes and take the kids several weekends each year. We stayed last weekend and it was our best experience so far. It is very convenient that breakfast is now included with the room, my kids are picky eaters and I hate to have to buy breakfast for them and then they don't eat. The rooms seem less dated than last year, flat screen TV is a nice addition. We were thinking about trying somewhere newer this year, but now we are happy to stay where we are. Keep it up!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray B, General Manager at Days Inn Williamsburg/Busch Gardens Area, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We definately appreciate the fact that you noticed the improvements that we have made. We have worked really hard to get out hotel up to par for the upcoming season and to have you notice and write a nice review about it makes us proud, and the idea that you decided to come back to us next time is music to our ears. Thanks again! we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
363 helpful votes 363 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here on an overnight trip to Williamsburg. This is a very nice hotel, with a friendly staff, clean, comfortable rooms. We had a king bed room, and it was great for $60. I would stay here again! It is a great location, with a shopping center accross the street with a Target and Dick's Sporting Goods!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray B, General Manager at Days Inn Williamsburg/Busch Gardens Area, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your outstanding review of our hotel. We take great pride in providing excellent customer service, and doing it with a friendly smile and warm personalities. We look forward to you visiting Williamsburg again in the near future and hope you choose us again for lodging.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three nights while chaperoning a school trip with 45 fifth graders. I was not expecting much from the hotel since the school tries to keep the costs down and you can't take fifth graders to an expensive hotel. I'm a seasoned travel for business and for pleasure, so I had minimal expectations for this hotel.

From the moment we pulled up to the hotel, it was clear that this property is not about the guests. One of the managers keeps his Harley parked in front of the hotel at all times making it difficult for our bus driver to park for loading and unloading. When we got into our room, there was no coffee pot as shown in photos. One of the teachers had one in her room that she gave to me since she brought her Kerug. Some rooms has refrigerators, but other did not. The heater/AC unit in our room had a puddle of condensation on top of it. Right below the ceiling marking where the unit above us must have been leaking as well. There was a burnt hole in our comforter. I made coffee one morning, and the maids did not clean out the coffee pot or bring more packets of coffee. One day, they decided not to clean out our sink. The shower head was definitely for water conservation, but it only delivered a tiny trickle of water.

Breakfast--well, do we even need to go there. The first morning they had bread out but no toaster. The egg patties looked like they may have been put out a few mornings prior to our arrival. The next morning, the children couldn't even put milk on their cereal because it was all expired. The organizer of our trip complained to the management, and finally the third morning, we had an edible breakfast.

One of the mom's had a clogged toilet, and the staff person handed her a plunger and kept walking. In the lobby bathroom, I had push the stall into place so I could latch the door.

it's obvious that the owner of this hotel is planning to only do minimal repairs to this property and try to make as much money as he can on it, until the building is condemned.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel unless you just want a place to sleep.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray B, General Manager at Days Inn Williamsburg/Busch Gardens Area, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
We apologize that you were not satisfied during your recent stay, your visit actually took place during a time when we are in transition with many new and exciting changes. All of our rooms will very shortly have 40 inch flat screens, microfridges, coffee makers, and a new bedding package. We are also transitioning from a paying restaurant, to a free hot deluxe breakfast. We expect all these changes completed by the end of spring and we are very excited. While we are are extremely busy making these changes, it looks like we dropped the ball in a few areas during your stay. Again we sincerely apologize and hope and hope that you will give us another opportunity to service you with our usal exceptionla service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had a great visit. It was nice and quiet. Robert at the front desk was awesome! The free breakfast was more than I had anticipated. I did not even know they were doing it. We will definitely be back in the summer to visit again for the parks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray B, General Manager at Days Inn Williamsburg/Busch Gardens Area, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
We are thrilled that you had a great time with us. We will continue to strive for excellents by going that extra mile to ensure that our guest stays are special to them and there family.
Thanks so much for staying with us, and we look foward to seeing you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Had a good nights rest here. The bed is incredibly comfortable. Staff and hotel were very accommodating. The hotel is very convenient to the interstate and target and kohls were right across the street.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray B, General Manager at Days Inn Williamsburg/Busch Gardens Area, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Im happy that you found our hotel located in a place that was accomodating for your needs, and that we were able to provide you with service that was high in your regards. We look foward to providing the same great service over and over again in the future to you and your family. Thank you for lodging with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I took my family to Williamsburg for Grand Illumination and Christmas shopping and the Days Inn Busch Gardens Area was a great choice for us for lodging. The price was great, location perfect and the staff was really friendly and helpful with making our stay fun! The lobby was decorated for Christmas like something you see in a movie and my kids really enjoyed looking at everything. Williamsburg was so much fun in December I cant wait to take my family back this summer and go to the theme parks!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray B, General Manager at Days Inn Williamsburg/Busch Gardens Area, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thanks so much for your honest review. Im glad that we could make your stay enjoyable and fun for you and your family. We look foward to providing excellent service to you and yours in the future. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Williamsburg/Busch Gardens Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Williamsburg/Busch Gardens Area

Address: 201 Water Country Parkway, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Williamsburg/Busch Gardens Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Busch Gardens area; Colonial Williamsburg, 2.5 mi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Williamsburg/Busch Gardens Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Williamsburg/Busch Gardens Area Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Williamsburg/Busch Gardens Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.