We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Historic Area

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Historic Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Historic Area
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   706 Bypass Rd. US 60, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #41 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
Forestville, Maryland
1 review
“Good enough”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here this past weekend (7/26/2014) for a family reunion. The price was reasonable, about $94. There was some rust in the bathroom and on the radiator. Good place to stay if only for a day. Staff was friendly

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    25
    36
    7
    2
See reviews for
39
27
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The room was clean. The people at the desk helpful and pleasant.
The hotel is on a the main drag where you will see all of the other chains represented. All are comparably priced. What I found very disappointing: the smoking area is at the entrance. Not the hotel's fault that people smoke, but come on, upon entering, exiting or waiting one is assaulted by the stench. Can't you find a better place away from the main entrance to park the benches? Secondly, there was no common area for people to sit. The lobby was minuscule and not comfortable. 3. The bathroom towels were similar to those that my son gets at camp. Need I say more, looked and felt like the cheapest available. 4. Lastly, the breakfast room was so small that we could not turn around, let alone choose items. Step up your hotels and perhaps people won't view it at the bottom of the barrel. (Sorry nice people at the desk).

Room Tip: away from the indoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Despite some of the reviews on Trip advisor I went ahead and booked this hotel, primarily because we were on a tight budget. It's only 1.5 miles (give or take a tenth of a mile) from colonial Williamsburg, so it was nice being able to run from the hotel through the old town and it's about a 20 minute drive from Busch Gardens, Water Country and Jamestown.

The hotel was good enough for what we needed. The room was clean and the maid service was good. The A/C was pretty old, but we were still able to cool our room enough. The breakfasts were crowded and the food was okay. You can make your own waffles, eat fake eggs with bacon/sausage, or stick with bagels, fruit, pastries, yogurt and/or cereal. The hotel staff that took care of the breakfast stations was not the friendliest bunch. As a note, don't leave anything on your table unattended, it will be thrown away almost immediately.

The gym/cardio room consists of a bike and an old elliptical machine. The sauna was in the same room and it was loaded with kids. If you feel like a workout bring headphones because there was no television or radio. There is indoor pool and jacuzzi and an outdoor pool which was much less crowded than the indoor one.

WIFI in the hotel was spotty at best for us. There are a number of different portals to log onto, unfortunately the only portal that seemed to work for us was the one closest to the front desk.

So, if you're looking for a budget hotel that's clean, close to everything and aren't looking for all the comforts of home, than you'll be in the right place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice, comfortable and clean rooms with perfect beds. Very friendly staff.
The breakfast room was a bit hard to find.
Budget rates: we just wished there were more hotels like this for these rates.
Close to historic Williamsburg and Premium Outlets.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallace, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Customer service was very poor at front desk. No cool or cold water in bathroom. Maid service was good. A/c outdated, but we were able to cool room. Contintental breakfast was somewhere outside, no signage to indicate where. Morning coffee service provided was poor. Armchair in room was nasty looking. Would not stay here again. Bathroom very small.

Room Tip: Look for something else. Many hotels available in this area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I got this hotel on trip advisor. I was taking my kids away for a couple of days to Williamsburg so needed something budget friendly but clean. I couldn't ask for more, it was clean, 1 mile from the visitors center, had 2 pools and free breakfast all for $65 a night. Yes, the breakfast was a bit of a walk and if I had been paying $150 a night I would have cared, but for the price, it was great they had breakfast. I would definitely stay here again, it was exactly what I needed.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Historic Area, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We appreciate your business and are glad were able to provide a dependable accommodation while visiting Williamsburg. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmitsburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

front desk staff were not helpful.Breakfast buffet was a joke and inconvenient to get to since it was in a separate room on the other side of hotel. No staff member asked us how our stay was when we checked out. Called about leaky toilet twice and got no response.Won't stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Historic Area, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
I'm writing to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention.
I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our
guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're
doing wrong and how we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Historic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Historic Area

Address: 706 Bypass Rd. US 60, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Historic Area 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® Historic Area is ideally located near Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens Europe theme park, Water Country USA water park and Williamsburg Pottery Factory. Cities of Jamestown and Yorktown are less than 15 miles. All local restaurants are located within a mile. Newly renovated in May 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Historic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Comfort Inn Williamsburg
Comfort Inn Historic Williamsburg Va
Williamsburg Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Historic Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.