We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“live, huge cockroach” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Colonial

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Colonial to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge Colonial
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   216 Parkway Dr., Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #41 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“live, huge cockroach”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed in this hotel due to its proximity to Colonial Williamsbug. However, we were shocked to see a live, crawling, huge, 3-inches long cockroach in our room!! Carpet was very dirty,old; room had a musty, moldy smell; insect under the bed sheets; a/c took too long to cool. Definitely would NOT recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kambala, General Manager at Econo Lodge Colonial, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Guest

For our motel to have as big cockroaches as you describe is impossible. We have certified pest control every month.
No such insect activity has been EVER reported.We do take of our motel maintenece
very deligently.
Thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    34
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
29
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The room was clean and the hotel was quiet. The bathroom is very small, but the shower had an extended curtain and nice shower head. The TV was very old and TV reception was awful. Breakfast was very disappointing! Breakfast options consist of only muffins, bread and cereal, with a toaster and microwave for preparation. The breakfast room is also very small and seats only 12 at capacity.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Room and bathroom were clean. Bathroom was a little small and the shower curtain was very thin. Water basically dripped through the curtain and ran down mostly back into the tub but some onto the bathroom floor. Air conditioning was excellent. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was disappointing. It was basically toast, cereal, muffins, apple juice, orange juice, coffee. I may have gotten my hotel reviews confused but I thought there would be a waffle maker =)

Oh and location to Busch Gardens / Water Country was great

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I loved the little continental breakfast and even though pool was freezing cold - LOVED IT!!!!!!! Very convenient to Colonial WIlliamsburg!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

Very clean room, people were friendly, nice location

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights on our way to the Outer Banks. This hotel exceeded our expectations in all areas and was much more than we had dared to hope for. The spacious room was VERY clean, as was the bathroom. The bedding on the king-sized bed was extremely clean and fresh (the quality was definitely above a level found in hotels anywhere close to this price point). Location is excellent. Having a clean microwave and under-counter sized fridge (not micro) was a nice plus. The breakfast was pretty limited, but the quality of the items made us more than satisfied with it. If we are in the Williamsburg area in the near future, this will definitely be where we stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in building where office is enter from hall; others have only outside doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Spent the night on our way from New York to the outer banks. Spacious room and clean, great for a night or two, would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Colonial

Address: 216 Parkway Dr., Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Colonial 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 2-story brick inn featuring interior & exterior rooms, central location - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Colonial Hotel Williamsburg
Econo Lodge Williamsburg
Williamsburg Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.