We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   119 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #36 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Middletown, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

This was a nice Lodge with Friendly staff. Very Helpful with Directions to attactions and Restaurants. Thank you for the nice one night stay in this very historic area. lots of things to see and very beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny R, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give your thought regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    39
    10
    15
    4
See reviews for
52
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We almost always stay at hotels in the value category, and this was one of our better experiences. The hotel is in a decent part of town and reasonably close to major attractions. The hotel doesn't have interior hallways, but we actually prefer that. Walking into our two rooms they looked nice, not fancy, but not shabby either. No funny smells, the A/C worked, and pretty clean (one hair on the bathtub in one of our two rooms). Beds were comfortable. We didn't hear any noise from other rooms, despite the fact that they were relatively full that night. Check-in and check-out were easy and quick processes.

We loved the fact that they had rooms that slept 6 (with 2 double beds and a double sleeper sofa), which is a rarity, especially in this price range. It was very cramped once the sleeper sofa was opened, so we closed it up as soon as we were up for the day.

The breakfast was quite good for this sort of hotel. Waffle maker, bagels, toast, pecan rolls, instant oatmeal, cold cereal, hard boiled eggs, juice, bananas, coffee and tea. And the food was kept well supplied by the breakfast attendant. The breakfast room was spacious with over a dozen tables.

We would definitely consider staying at this hotel again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny R, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to express your experience regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your reviews will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

I arrived with my family at 1pm and was told check in was at 3pm. I asked it i could have two rooms next to each other. The receptionist yes we will do our best, the hotel was full last night. We came back about 3:30pm after a walk through Williamsburg. The same receptionist gave me two rooms next to each other. Very nice. She had red (not natural in color) hair.
The rooms were spacious. Free wifi. Clean. The maid stopped in and asked if we needed extra towels blanks or other items. Nice touch. No elevator, it was tough for me carrying to suitcase to 2nd floor but its not a big deal to me(maybe a problem for older guests). Beds were comfortable and my wife loved the quality of the pillows. Ok.? The room also had a closet, two sinks, etc. it had everything you need.
The location was very good. Close to all Williamsburg attractions. Close to many restaurants. Kmart walking distance away (with beer and wine.) And priced at about $60 per night. I was happy with the whole experience.
The hotel could be updated in some areas but all of the good point definitely overshadow that.

Room Tip: No elevator. Ask for first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny R, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Dear guest.
First of thanks for choosing our hotel for your williamsburg stay.
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your kind words will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Everything was pretty good here. But, there was mold under the crease of paneling in the shower. It came off very easily with little effort when I rubbed it. Without this incident everything would have been great! They just need to make sure the cleaning staff pays attention to detail. And I didn't really understand why an old man was watching and instructing everyone what to do at breakfast?

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny R, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
First of thanks for putting your trust on us and choose our hotel Econolodge Inn & suites ,williamsburg for your williamsburg stay.
We are glad to see that you have noticed the improvement in our hotel since last year to this year.We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your suggesion will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Manager Vinny, his lovely wife Bina & prime staffer Lou were genuinely warm, kind, professional, accommodating people. They could not have done a thing better than was done to make my stay much nicer.
When I had a problem finding Wi-Fi on my new Laptop, Mgr took the trouble to buzz my room & see if I'd gotten through. He & his wife & Lou greeted me by name when passing through the Lobby or grounds & we'd frequently pass time chatting.Love that personal touch!
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in a cheerfully appointed room. I particularly appreciated the lovely soft yellow walls & warm golden-brown Biedermeier-esque style furniture. Very tastefully done & such a refreshing change from the unimaginative dark, drab generic hotel furniture found in many hotel chains with those tired ghastly quilted print spreads & drapes! Plenty of mirrors in the dressing area for we meticulous types. There was a desk, as well as a round table w/ comfortable chairs...plenty of lighting, black-out drapes, secure locks on doors. Loved the microwave, and good sized fridge, and loved the vanity area with separate sink, also separate from the private toilet, bath & sink. My goodness, the bed even had a pillow-top-feather-like fluff of a comforter. I don't even have these delectable things for myself at home!! Breakfast was a hit, perfectly managed by Lou offering hot, freshly grilled waffles, hard boiled eggs, bagels, cereals, oatmeal, fruit, OJ, coffee, milk. A great way to start an active long day exploring town. Location was perfect for my regular visits to Colonial Williamsburg & antiquing on Richmond Road - mere seconds away. While I was too pooped at the end of my busy days to partake of the alluring, fenced swimming pool; it was a delight to pull up, approach my room and hear the delightful squeals of happy children frolicking with doting dads!
I have traveled all over the States, staying in all grade of hotels & will take this hotel any day over slick, modern high rise hotels.
I found the sincere personal effort on the part of Vinny, Bina and Lou to count for much of these great impressions.
While I am sure there may be some rooms in other states of repair and while this is an older property having passed its zenith, I personally found no cause for complaint and believe me, I am a bit of a perfectionist and have high expectations.
Service and effort count for much, in my book and the lovely staff did not give that polished, disingenuous so-called courtesy I've encountered in other hotels. They sincerely related to people with courtesy, patience and kindness. And they put in hours and hours there seemingly from dusk to dawn!
Looking forward to going back and wishing Vinny, Bina, Lou & hard working staff the very Very Best!!!

Room Tip: Tell the owner what your wishes are and he will try to accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny R, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear guest
First of all thanks for choosing our hotel for your williamsburg vacation. We are really happy and pleased to see that we could accommodate you very well.Thank you for taking the time to give your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.we really have no word for the kindness you shows in your entire description of your stay.We do appriciate that.
Looking forward to see you soon.thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

In a great location. So close to every thing, The staff is very attentive, Vinny the manager is really good he tries his best to make sure you are pleased with your stay, Now for the hotel you can tell it used to be a hotel where people smoked. The rooms can be stuffy and have a smokey smell. we kept the Ac on and sprayed lysol.So it was ok. This is now a no smoking hotel.. They are renovating the rooms. Saw that some rooms had new bedding and curtains. Would definitely stay again. The wifi didn't happen to work but worked in other rooms

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny R, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.Our property( all rooms) is 100% non smoking and we always make sure all our guest follow the policy.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel driving down the east coast to the outer banks. It is convenient and clean and easy place to stop and stay. The price wasn't as good this time around, but still a bargain for a quick sleep and you can salvage your first day at the beach by not driving 10 hours straight to get there first.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny R, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all thanks for being a so lotyal guest and putting the trust on us and stayed second time at our Econolodge inn & suite williamsburg hotel.we really appriciate your business and faith on us.we willl make sure to keep our priceing as much affrodable as possible.We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.Thanks and look forward to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg

Address: 119 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is in the heart of Williamsburg offers FREE continental breakfast; located 1 mile from Colonial Williamsburg. All the area attractions are close by like Busch Gardens, Prime Outlet Mall, pottery factory, etc.we offer FREE WI-FI . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Historic Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Americas Best Value Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.