We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected, excellent value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   119 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #40 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Little River, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Better than expected, excellent value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We only had pleasant surprises on this trip. The property is conveniently located in a central location in a popular family vacation destination. The facilities are not perfect, but the management is actively working on improving all aspects. The pool looked very inviting and clean. It was definitely near capacity, but was not noisy. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    40
    12
    16
    4
See reviews for
56
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was a great place to stay on our latest trip to Williamsburg. We usually stay a higher tier of Choice Hotels, but we decided to try this place based on the reviews. The beds were super comfy and the room was clean. We a pool view room and I thought that it might get loud, but we didn't hear a peep from outside the room. The rooms have outside doors which scared me a bit, but it was fine. The manager was very nice. The only thing to mention is that the bathrooms are ready for an upgrade. They were clean though. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Booked through Expedia based on trip advisor reviews. At check in discovered Expedia over-charged by $50. Front desk staff were very kind, but it took over an hour of me, my husband & 4 kids sitting in the lobby to work everything out.

Finally got to the room and was overwhelmed with a smell of old wet towels and stale cigarette smoke. We were so exhausted at this point we justwent to bed. The next morning walked into bathroom in bare feet and found the carpeting to be sticky. Gross! went to take a shower and there was mold all around the edges of the tub. The shower curtain was filthy, under the sink was disgusting with mold and dead bugs. There were also dead bugs all over the windowsill.

Went to the front desk and asked for another room. Front desk worker (one of the same who was there when we checked in the night before) was again very pleasant. She apologized and have us keys to a new room.

We moved to the new room which was much better. It didn't have the smell, but it still wasn't very clean. There were things that has been left behind on the floor. Dirt in the corners of the bathroom floor, and of course the dead bugs on the windowsill.

After we finished moving all of our things, we went down for breakfast...not realizing it ended at 9:30 we got there at 9:40. There is nothing kind I can say about the breakfast worker. Thwere were still several people in having breakfast, but she glared at us as we got cereal, which was the only thing left out. when there were only a few of us left in the room, she turned off the lights and left...The next morning we got to breakfast around 9:00. There was one waffle maker with a line of about 10 people. There were about 5 frozen danishes stuck to the bottom of a box (that was not a danish box), and there were about 4 poppyseed bagels. They also had one kind of cereal and a fe slices . The apple jYuriice nachine was broken (which I later discovered that the breakfast lady knew about, tet there was not a sign on it, so several people got to taste God only knows what.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

After staying at a less savory Econo Lodge in Charlottesville earlier in the week we approached the Inn & Suites at WIlliamsburg with some trepidation. Upon arrival the lobby was bright and cheerful, and the pool was in use by some pretty happy looking youngsters. Things were looking up. Our room was just right for our 5 night stay. It was in actuality two rooms that had been converted into a suite: two EXTREMELY comfortable double beds, a TV, dresser, and bath in one and a pullout couch, desk, armchair, dresser, refrigerator, microwave, a second TV, and a second bath in the other! The extra bath was a welcome and pleasant surprise given my husband and I were staying with our two sons (10, and 7.) The room was clean, and though the beds and sofa were certainly newer, the dressers are in want of replacement, the drawers were difficult to open and close so we never used them. The baths were clean and the towels were plentiful and smelled and felt very fresh. Some of the plaster patchwork was a little haphazard, but it didn't detract too badly from an otherwise neat suite of rooms. Luxury, it is not, but the Econo Lodge Inn & Suites at Williamsburg is a place I'd definitely recommend to families staying in Williamsburg and looking for a friendly hotel for a great price. Can't wait to return and see what other updates the new management will continue to make.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Room had very comfortable beds and refrigerator and microwave. Bathroom was a little dated but clean .... A good value. Staff was very accommodating & I would stay here again. I was a little disappointed with breakfast but there are a lot of places nearby for heartier breakfasts.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny R, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for staying at Econo Lodge inn& suites williamsburg ,.We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay .we will pay more attention over our breakefast area.And thanks for letting us know your reviews.Hope we serve you better at your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We read the reviews and decided to give this hotel a try. The only good thing about this property is the location. We requested a "renovated" room as recommended by another reviewer and upon entering our room found that the room was in very poor condition. The A/C unit was off leaving the room damp, there was dust on the legs of the desk chair, the furniture was held together with white tape, the bathroom door wouldn't lock, the bottom of the bathtub was dirty and there were holes in the bathroom wall where fixtures had once been, but the wall was never patched. On a positive note, we didn't find any bugs and the sheets were clean, so we stayed. The breakfast choices are very limited. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny R, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear guest,,
Thank you for your feedback. We regret to read that although you had an overall pleasant stay, you do not wish to visit us again. As it is our absolute priority to ensure that our guests have a memorable time with us, it very disappointing to learn that we have not fulfilled your expectations.Just let all our guest we have finished our renovation as of last week and we have made our house keeping and maintenance department aware of the situation.we do heartily apologized for your inconveniences.
But we promise to make your next visit much much better if you can give a chance one more time.
thanks, see you soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We spent our honeymoon in Williamsburg nearly 10 years ago and this was our first return since then. We decided not to go super high end and find a very nice hotel at a decent price. That's exactly what we found in the Econo Lodge Inn & Suites. The room was nice, the staff was very responsive and we thoroughly enjoyed the swimming pool and location of this hotel. If you are looking for 5 star luxury, this is not it but it's a very nice place at a reasonable price. Thanks for the great experience!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a decent safe, clean and conveniently located room, this this is the place fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg

Address: 119 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is in the heart of Williamsburg offers FREE continental breakfast; located 1 mile from Colonial Williamsburg. All the area attractions are close by like Busch Gardens, Prime Outlet Mall, pottery factory, etc.we offer FREE WI-FI . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Historic Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Americas Best Value Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.