We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying here for years” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Patriot

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Patriot to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Patriot
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3032 Richmond Road, Route 60, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #44 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Danbury, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Staying here for years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have been staying at the Holiday Inn Patriot on our last 5 trips to Williamsburg. It had begun to show some age but the new renovations and the update recently have helped to make it cozy again. While there are newer HIs on the strip we feel comfortable here and the staff made our recent stay pleasureable with one of the large comfortable rooms. The bar does not hop like it once did but when you are our most of the day it's not the worst thing. Recommended for it's convenience, location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    52
    50
    62
    44
See reviews for
117
53
19
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Haddon Township NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

HOLIDAY INN PATRIOT
WILLIAMSBURG, VIRGINIA

I made arrangements for our family Cousin’s Reunion which would include a need to reserve 15 rooms for our 35 to 40 guests, for September 13, 14 and 15, 2013. When my wife and I walked into the Holiday Inn Patriot lobby, we very pleased to see how well maintained the property appeared, inside and out. At the front desk, Molly and Rebecca greeted my wife and I and were most pleasant. They remained pleasant as well as being very helpful for the rest of our stay. Steve replaced Molly and Rebecca at the front desk in the evening during our stay. Once again, he and the other staff members responded with helpful hints about Williamsburg, the restaurants and the sites.
I also introduced myself to Melinda Tench, Assistant General Manager, Holiday Inn Patriot, with whom I had a number of conversations concerning our visit for our Cousin’s Reunion. Melinda was also most pleasant and could not have been any nicer answering all the concerns that I had about staying at HI Patriot.
I had read comments about the condition of the restaurant and the pool. Some of those comments were not pleasant and were a concern for me and the Reunion. On our first day, we quickly found that the pool was immaculate and was immediately enjoyed by several of our Cousins. Unfortunately for us and unexpected to the Patriot Staff, a roofing company had been hired to work on the roof surrounding the pool on Saturday, our second day there. As a result, the pool had to be closed and wasn’t scheduled to be opened until Monday, the day we were leaving.
The breakfast buffet I also found to have had some negative comments but we also found to be substantial. The breakfast items were plentiful, nicely displayed and kept warm. The staff in the restaurant was well informed and most helpful, both in the buffet on Saturday and on Sunday and when ordering from the menu on Monday morning. The bar was open as scheduled and looked really nice, but our Cousins spent their unscheduled time in the reserved hospitality room.
We found the rooms to be clean, the beds very comfortable and the housekeeping staff most pleasant and helpful. The rooms were clean and everything was refreshed as required, without prompting.
So in conclusion, we found nothing wrong. The pool and the weather were great on Friday. The weather was great also on Saturday and Sunday and yes we would have liked to have the pool for the rest of our stay, but we also realized that work must go on to keep the Hotel as nice as it is. Would we stay here again? The answer is yes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The pools are a single pool that spans an outer wall, so it's unclear if the indoor side would be open in winter. The room rates exceeded those published in an area lodging guide, but stay was during labor day weekend. Onsite coin laundry. But the rooms and common areas seemed dirty. Our room had a strange funky smell, but not enough to request a new room - something honestly common in pet friendly rooms. 10 minutes from tourist areas in historic Williamsburg! Would stay here again, but would avoid holiday prices.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Patriot, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Kefnab,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the unusual smell in the common areas. Rest assured that the issues you have raised has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Thank you again for your comments as this is very helpful to us to ensure we are able to meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton,Va
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Another Great Weekend Stay for the Guns Of August 22nd thru the 25th.

Staff and management were #1. Clean rooms and rest rooms with plenty of towels.

Already booking for nest year !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The GREAT RATES , STAFF and local locations make this a place to stay on any occasion when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff was helpful, the Internet service was very reliable, the beds were comfortable, the linens were clean and the breakfast was very tasty.We felt very much "At Home".

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The room was very clean and well appointed with furniture and decorations. The bathroom was very well cleaned and filled with the necessary toiletries. The bed sheets and duvet were clean and had an excellent smell. The Pillows were very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Staff was friendly and helpful not only to me but I observed their hospitality with other guests. Parking lot was well lit with ample parking and easy entrance ways. This was in a safe area and lots of restaurants nearby. Elevators in front and back entrances made for easy access. Indoor and outdoor pools , and hot tub very clean. Hotel may be old but is not outdated due to some good upkeep and remodels. WiFi worked good and is free! I would definitely stay here again on my next trip to Williamsburg and Busch Gardens.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Patriot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Patriot

Address: 3032 Richmond Road, Route 60, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Patriot 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Patriot Hotel and Conference Center. This Williamsburg hotel offers you affordable luxury in the heart of the shopping and dining district on Richmond Road. This elegant hotel is convenient to all area attractions. Busch Gardens , Water Country USA, Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown are all just a short distance away. The hotel is located of I -64 exit 234, on Richmond Road. within a short mile from the College of William and Mary. For family fun and leisure, also visit nearby Ripley's Believe It or Not, Presidents Park, The Pottery, and the Prime Outlets. We are also surrounded by numerous golf places such as Kingsmill and Stonehouse. If on government business, we are convenient to Camp Peary, Cheatham Annex, and Fort Eustis. Corporate offices nearby are Anheuser Busch, Inc., Sentara, Riverside Health System.While with us, enjoy our Plantation dining room and Back-9 Bar and Grill. All our colonial decor rooms have microwave and refrigerator, free high-speed Internet. In addition to our year around pool we have a heated whirlpool, for your relaxation. Our newly renovated ballroom is awaiting for all your meeting, wedding and reunion needs. Experienced meeting planners/ sales staff is on premises to assist in planning your event to the last detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Patriot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Patriot (Old Williamsburg) Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Patriot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.