We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always a winner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Historic

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn Historic to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn Historic
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   309 Page St, Rt 60 and 2nd St, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Quality Inn Colony)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #31 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“always a winner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

My husband and I visit Williamsburg often. We like to stay at 4* hotels ocassionaly. We just happened upon this hotel one time many years ago and were very pleasantly surprised. The beds are very comfortable. We like that the car is right out side the door. the breafast is very nice. they try to change the menu a bit each day. You will not find a friendlier group. If you are looking for a sweet little place, that is clean and friendly .. here it is.
If you are looking for the Ritz stay at the Ritz.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    77
    32
    19
    18
See reviews for
52
72
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

Rented here based on modest reviews, a room with a couch, continental breakfast & Internet access. Our first room had a somewhat broken down couch that smelled of cat urine. The bathroom featured a moldy ceiling and a spider's nest complete with resident spider. After complaining we were given another room that was apparently clean. Internet worked (slowly) and the room was the very basic budget rental as expected. The bathroom had been 'renovated' but the caulking around the tub looked like it was done by a 9 year old using his thumb. Heat went out our second day, though it was quickly tended to. Spied a couple of bugs our last night there (ever). Plenty of hot water, continental breakfast was OK. Only a few blocks to the historic area and easy access to shopping & dining but with a thousand other motels around, forget this one.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

We got a very cheap rate and my expectations weren't too high. But this motel would have been great for any price. The rooms were clean and very spacious. In fact, my husband measured our bedroom. It was 20' x 14' (including the bathroom). Everything was there that we needed - refrigerator, microwave, TV, ironing board/iron, coffee maker, hair dryer, beer and wine bottle openers, a very comfortable King size bed with good reading lights (a rarity!) and a table big enough for eating meals with 2 upholstered chairs. As senior citizens we liked the fact that all the rooms were on the first floor. The (hot) breakfast was getting a little boring after three nights, but there is a pancake place next door. Also there is a good Mexican restaurant "La Tolteca" in walking distance. The staff was courteous and helpful - making our stay at that motel one of the highlights of our Williamsburg trip.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

Our recent stay was decent. Although, I'll be honest, I booked the place based on all the stellar reviews given. However, I was not that impressed - either the reviewers work for the inn or they have really low standards. The staff was nice - and the continental breakfast was nice for the price you pay. If the place had gotten some major renovations, it was difficult to tell. We did not want to put anything on the couch that came with our room because of how dirty it looked with all of its stains. The room was decently clean but the bathroom could have been cleaned up better - seeing former guests' hair in the tub is kind of gross.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

We're long-time fans of the Quality Inn Colony and we were fortunate enough to be able to stay there again this past weekend. It is so convenient and the staff and management are wonderful. They really go above and beyond to make sure your stay is perfect. The breakfast is delicious. The beds are VERY comfortable - WAY better than normal for this price range. One of the closest hotels to the Colonial Williamsburg restored area - walking distance. Several restaurants are within walking distance, too.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Older motel but well kept. We were a group of female bikers and very much liked the ability to park right outside our doors. The rooms were good but the staff was outstanding. Regardless of the request we were never told, " We can't do that" it was always, " I will do my best to see what I can do." and the manager could not do more for us. The only downside was that the complimentary breakfast was mostly bread, waffles and little fresh fruit. What they did offer was delicious.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

Just returned from a couple of nights at this hotel. It is very conveniently located and has really nice people at the front desk. The breakfast was great (kids loved the make your own waffles) and they kept the buffet full until 10 am. They even try to accomdate special requests.
The beds were comfie, but the bathrooms could use an upgrade. I'm told that is in the plans later this year.
Quick drive to Busch Gardens and lots of restaurant choices (some walkable) .

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn Historic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Historic

Address: 309 Page St, Rt 60 and 2nd St, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Quality Inn Colony)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Historic 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One-story Colonial-style Motel located near restored area, 2 minutes from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn Historic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Historic Hotel Williamsburg
Colony Quality Inn
Quality Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Historic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.