We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Williamsburg

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Williamsburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Williamsburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1402 Richmond Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #42 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dissappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I am surprised that Marriott allows itself to be associated with this property. We were not expecting a Ritz-Carlton, but this hotel is in bad shape. It is not an outright dump, but it is all of the little things that add up to the disapointment. Broken stair way doors, light out in the public areas, molding falling off, refrigerators beat up, etc, etc. As far as the staff - they are indifferent at best. If it is the last hotel avaliable - go ahead and stay as it is not completely horrible, but if you have any other choices, go else where.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gcmphffw, Guest Care Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

I understand your disappointment in us during your recent stay and offer my sincere apologies. We know that you have many hotels choices in this area and welcome all feedback of guests. We were unaware of the broken stairwell that is now fixed. Our promise to you will be that management team walks the hotel consistently to prevent this from happening again. We should have done a better job of making sure you were satisfied during your stay, and welcome the opportunity to make this right for you if you would contact me directly at gcmphffw@ltdhospitality.com.

Sincerely,

Joy Mason
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    66
    53
    24
    14
See reviews for
102
37
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Fairfield Inn and Suites is at the low end of the Marriott hierarchy, and it shows. While the suite we used was clean and well thought-out, the amenities were few, and the experience less than I would have liked. This is a place where the drinking cups are plastic and plastic-wrapped, where the plates and cutlery in the breakfast room are also plastic. When we visited the hotel was noisy both because of ineffective soundproofing (thanks for the marital sound effects, people across the hall), and because it was also occupied by teens there for a soccer tournament. Sadly, there's no obvious hotel security to keep the rampant kids in check.

there were also maintenance issues. The key card machine only worked occasionally, the card readers on exterior doors sometimes didn't work, and in one case an exit door wouldn't open (I'm sure the fire marshall would be delighted). Lamps in our room didn't work. the bed sagged and game me a backache.

But at least it was clean.

There's a free breakfast that reminded me of my boot camp days - what appeared to be powdered eggs, where the curds were tough and floating in a pool of water. Sausage patties had the flavor of steamed pork with no spices. A coffee aftertaste you couldn't eradicate.

Fortunately there's an IHOP that shares the parking lot. go there for breakfast.

Overall, it could have been worse, but it could have been a lot better.

Room Tip: Go for the one-bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The front desk staff was extremely courteous and friendly front check- in to check out. The manager Joy was tremendously accommodating and professional. The lobby was very clean and well lit which made us feel safe, the room was as if we were sleeping in our own house and cozy. The breakfast was fulfilling and had a wide variety of healthy choices as well. The staff also was diligent at the cleanliness of the food areas and dining hall. We would recommend this hotel to all who visit Williamsburg.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gcmphffw, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hi Kris! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Thanks you so much for your kind words.... I will be sure to share your posting with all staff members If you are ever in the area again we hope you will keep us in mind when booking your future stay.

Joy Mason
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I am a big fan of the Marriott rewards program and usually find their properties quite consistent and nice. However, this property in Williamsburg sadly suffers from the faults of many others in the area, despite the national brand. It is just not quite up to Marriott standards. Chipped furniture in the rooms, uncomfortable sofa that felt like the springs were going to pop out at any moment, stained carpet in hallways - just overall more tired than fresh. Management needs to get this up to national standards.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gcmphffw, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us here at the Fairfield. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not up to the normally high Marriott standards we strice to maintain. I apologize for this and would welcome the opportunity to discuss it further with you, feel free to reach me directly 757-645-3600 ext 4000.

Joy Mason
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The rooms were nice and clean. Very comfy bed!

The free breakfast includes a waffle station, eggs, bacon, cereal, fresh fruit, fruit juices, milk, coffee, yogurt, granola... lots of goodies to choose from; you will not leave hungry.

Staff is friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gcmphffw, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. Fairfield Inn's have been working on expanding their selection at breakfast by adding scambled eggs and sausage, as well as the Rio Citrus fruit salad to the menu. We hope you enjoyed your time in Williamsburg, and if you are ever in the area again we would love to have you stay with us.

Joy Mason
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Helpful staff, clean rooms & close to everything. What a nice find. Being right on Richmond road means you're within walking distance to numerous dining establishments, both casual and fine dining, buffets, American cuisine, Thai, Mexican, all within a five minute walk.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gcmphffw, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are certainly lucky to have such a wonderful and convienient location in Williamsburg. We hope that you will chose to stay with us again on your next visit to this area.

Joy Mason
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Holland, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here on a bus trip. When researching I was disappointed it wasn't closer to Colonial Williamsburg (as in walking distance). However, it is conveniently located near several eateries, a Wall Greens and a Whitley's Peanuts. The room was roomy. The bed was comfortable. The staff was very helpful and polite. The breakfast included eggs and sausage as well as waffles and the usual fair.

Room Tip: Try for the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gcmphffw, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments about our hotel staff and hotel - we appreciate the feedback
Should you be in the area again please do not hesitate to contact me to make a reservation

Joy Mason
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Williamsburg

Address: 1402 Richmond Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Williamsburg 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1 mile from Colonial Williamsburg and 2 miles Premium Outlets, Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott is situated in the heart of the area's top attractions. This Williamsburg VA hotel provides visitors with easy access to the adjacent Merchants Square, plus the College of William & Mary. Complete your tour of Virginia's Historic Triangle with visits to nearby Jamestown and Yorktown. Our hotel near Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Williamsburg Winery, and Williamsburg Pottery equals fun around every corner! Golfers will have more than a dozen renowned championship courses to choose from at our hotel near Williamsburg golf courses such as Golden Horseshoe, Kingsmill, Kiskiack, Ford's Colony and Williamsburg National. An ideal location plus amenities such as luxury bedding, complimentary Internet access, complimentary continental breakfast, indoor pool, fitness center, business center, Market and on-site laundry make Fairfield Inn & Suites the perfect choice for your visit to Williamsburg! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Williamsburg
Fairfield Inn & Suites Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Fairfield Inn Hotel Williamsburg
Fairfield Inn Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg
Williamsburg Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.