We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rate at a last minute” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Colonial Williamsburg/Downtown Area

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Colonial Williamsburg/Downtown Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Days Inn Colonial Williamsburg/Downtown Area
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   902 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 80 hotels in Williamsburg
south yorkshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great rate at a last minute”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We decided to stay another night in the Williamsburg area as we wanted to visit 2 historic places of interest. Friendly staff. Managed to get a 2 double bed, non smoking room for $39 - $44 . Nice room, clean and a nice tucked away bathroom. Iron and ironing board was good to see and a coffee maker. Close to the Jamestown settlement visitor center and the Williamsburg Colonial visitor center. Plenty of restaurants a short drive away. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon A, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Colonial Williamsburg/Downtown Area, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review about your stay with us. It is always nice to hear when someone enjoy's their stay with us. We hope that you will return to us again the next time you come to Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    82
    65
    47
    32
See reviews for
116
68
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mebane, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

For clarity's sake, we did book this hotel via a third party's hotel bidding service, so we knew that the hotel gives you whatever room they have available. In this case, we got a single queen smoking room (ugh!).

Hotel: Pretty old/dated with external corridors. It was 15 minutes from Busch Gardens, and actually in a cute part of town near the college. The parking lot is VERY tight to navigate, especially with the modern trucks and suvs protruding from the parking spaces. The lobby is the nicest looking part. Wifi was hard to find and connect to at first, and was a very slow, but there were 2 computers and a printer in the breakfast area that worked fast enough. We didn't try the breakfast, so no comment there.

Check-In: Smooth and easy process. It had to help that we checked in pretty late in the evening, after leaving Busch Gardens. The Front Desk clerk, Jeff, was friendly and gave plenty of info about what restaurants and stores would still be open and close by. Later, I returned to the front desk to ask for a few more pillows and extra blanket. Jeff checked 3 different storage locations to find 2 (brand new) pillows and a blanket for me, and I really appreciated the extra effort. He was the best part of this hotel.

Room: Very old decor and furnishings, not very clean and everything reeked of cigarette smoke, but you get what you pay for. The bed was firm, but comfortable. It was nice to have a fridge and microwave. TV was flat screen with clear picture, plenty of channels and working remote. A/C worked well and helped to dissipate some of the smoke stench.

Bathroom: Pretty small and sketchy-looking with 70s style pink tiles and fluorescent lighting that made me feel like I might be in a horror movie. All of the fixtures had a white crust (yum!). The counters had a layer of dust with the occasional hair strand intermixed. The tub was a matching ugly pink and may have been "clean" but looked so old and worn that I felt it best to not shower even after a full day at the amusement park.

Bottom line: We survived just fine, and we didn't pay much. We just wanted a place to crash for the night and it worked fine for that. However, I would not recommend this place to anyone else. Next time, I don't think we'll do a bidding site since I don't want to chance getting a smoking room, and there are so many other cheap hotels around with better reviews that we will just book direct (with another hotel).

Room Tip: Any room at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon A, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Colonial Williamsburg/Downtown Area, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our hotel. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. It's great to hear that Jeff made an impression on your stay. Thanks again and we hope you give us another chance the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicklerville
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I would recommend that anyone visiting Williamsburg stay at this motel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean. It is very convenient to downtown Williamsburg, & there were places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon A, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Colonial Williamsburg/Downtown Area, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking time to let us know how your stay was. I am glad that you enojyed your stay and that you would recommend our hotel. We appreciate your valued comments on our staff and accommdations. I am glad your stay went well and hope to see you the next time you visit Williamsburg, Virginia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Colonial Williamsburg/Downtown Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Colonial Williamsburg/Downtown Area

Address: 902 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 80 hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Colonial Williamsburg/Downtown Area 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Days Inn Colonial Williamsburg/Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Colonial Williamsburg/Downtown Area Hotel Williamsburg
Days Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Colonial Williamsburg/Downtown Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.