We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony to your Saves list
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 St. Andrews Drive, Williamsburg, VA 23188   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #3 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Merseyside
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“absolutely superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

26/05/07 to 09/06/07

Fabulous place, Certainly 5 star.
Everything in excellant order, Staff friendly and helpful. Manager charming could not do enough for us.

We were six adults to a two bed two bath villa, which was a bit limited, but one couple moved into own accomodation and we all had all the room we needed.

Pool was great.

A bit limited in the area of food to by for home cooking, when this is a self cater resort, Marriots could give more choice to the shop.
Fortuneately all big malls are close by.

Had a wonderful time would recommend to anyone

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    269
    56
    21
    18
See reviews for
365
245
9
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

We traded our timeshare week for a week at the Manor Club. As soon as we arrived, we were treated like family arriving home. The front desk people were very gracious and friendly. In fact this place is the most friendly place we have ever stayed at. Our accomodations were 5 star quality. I have a bad back, but our bed was absolutely heavenly! The two bedroom condo came with everything you needed to cook you own meals even down to the gas grills close to the pool area. It was one of the most relaxing breaths of fresh air vacations that I have experienced in years. Williamsburg is full of things to do, and a week is certainly not enough time to get everything accomplished that we wanted to do. I would definitely reccommend this area and the Manor Club Marriott to anyone of any age group. We will be back!

  • Liked — Large Condo very elegantly, but comfortably appointed.
  • Disliked — I did not have more time to spend here.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

We traded our summer week in Orlando, with a week at Fords Colony from May 20 – 27. As Marriott Vacation Club owners, we have a reasonable expectation of what other Marriott Vacation Club properties offer, and while we were very pleased with the accommodations, we were not at all happy with the activities or atmosphere for children.

The villa we stayed in was wonderful. Very spacious, clean, and well maintained. Most other Marriott villas offer a oversized Jacuzzi tub which can hold two adults, and here it was a single. This is not a complaint mind you, just an observation.

The grounds are well kept, but I found it odd there was no security gate to go through. Anyone could stroll onto the property and use the facilities.

The 2 main pools were amazingly small: one indoor - one outdoor. Each only held a maximum of 16 people. Off of the pool, there is a small market place with groceries, sodas and a Pizza Hut express. There is no pool side bar here, no background music, and no activities. It seemed to be a graveyard for retired golfers, who were actually whispering to each other. The atmosphere here is one for a retirement home, not one for families.

Across the street, and down the block, is a secondary pool (That must have been built as an after thought) that is larger, and offers a beverage area, which offers smoothies, beer and wine, as well as an “Activity Center” where you can rent out golf clubs, and make golf reservations. Again, no music pool side, and the staff working the counters seemed as though our request for a drink was an interruption of their work, not the reason for it. There is a “activity toy box” there, and inside you’ll find broken, or abandoned toys from past guests. There are no board games, outside ping pong , or pool tables. When we made golf reservations, the person behind the counter seemed very bored with our questions, and kept referring us to “The Golf Pro” in which he offered a telephone number. Mind you, the golf clubs we would need were rented from there, as well as the reservations for t-time. We were made to feel inadequate, and decided not to try golf after all.

I thought for a resort so close to Busch Gardens, a family friendly atmosphere would have been welcome. But, this was not the case. I saw children there – in elevators, or getting into their cars to head out for the day. And of course, there were many children at the theme parks – who simply could not all be local residents. But while vacationing at Ford’s Colony, I never – ever – saw kids around the pool, or at activities. Ford’s Colony simply didn’t offer enough to make them want to stay.

If staying with families – I would suggest another resort.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2007

My husband and I took our children and grandchilden to Ford's Colony for a week - we've stayed there before and, since we had such a positive experience, decided to take the whole family. This place is totally geared for families and having a wonderful time. We had the 2 bedroom, 2.5 bathroom villas which was, square feet wise, larger than our house - the ceilings alone were about 20 feet high - we had a formal dining room with a screened in porch off of it, a spacious living room, huge kitchen with more cabinet space than I've ever seen before, the walk-in closets were larger than some bedrooms I've seen and the bathrooms were spacious as well. The kids loved the area, the pools, the activies (they have planned activies for every minute of the day). This was a wonderful way to reunite with our family and, since we all loved it so much, have decided to make this a once-a-year get-together in the future. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone!!!

  • Liked — spacious rooms
  • Disliked — check in staff were extremely rude
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2007

We spent a weekend in one of the guest rooms at the Manor Club. Our room was pristine, as were the bedding and linens. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. We had a king size bed. It was very comfortable. The room had a sofa bed, table, 2 chairs and a small kitchenette...mircorwave, fridge, coffeemaker. There's plenty to do at the resort, walking, tennis, pool, indoor and outdoor, hot tub, and golf. The property is about 5 miles outside Colonial Williamsburg. We didn't mind the drive.

  • Liked — The room was tastefully decorated and very clean.
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago, WI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2007

We are Marriott timeshare owners in Florida and exchanged for a week at this location in Williamsburg. This was our first experience staying at a Marriott timeshare property and in Williamsburg and it was fabulous, like staying at home, yet being on vacation.
We arrived late in the evening and were greeted very nicely by the desk staff who welcomed us, explained where to find our building and room, gave us information on activities on the property, and to my surprise since I was a Marriott owner I received a certificate for 6 free rounds of golf at the Ford's Colony Golf Club.
We had a 2 bedroom unit with full kitchen, washer and dryer, hottub, etc. Great view overlooking golf course with open screened in patio. 3 TVs and DVD player were also in the unit. Only problem we had during the week was with the washer not working properly. The next morning they came and replaced the entire unit and put a new one in.
The property was immaculate and at this time all the trees were in bloom, flowers coming up, etc. Plenty of activities on the property, including tennis courts, basketball, 2 pools (1 indoor), activity room, etc. for the youngsters.
Property had 3 highly rated golf courses and not very crowded. It was easy to get a tee time.
Plenty to do in the Williamsburg area. Would highly recommend the historic triangle (Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, and Yorktown). Busch Gardens 15 minutes away and Norfolk and Virginina Beach within an hour 15 minutes. Plenty to do and see for the week we were there.

  • Liked — The units were very nice and there were plenty of activities on the property to keep you busy
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2007

Just got back from a 3 night stay at the Manor Club at Ford's Colony.
We had a two bedroom villa and it was quite spacious and extremely comfortable. The feather beds are awesome!!! Slept great and enjoyed all the room for the five of us, three kids included. There was plenty to do at the resort for the kids and we could have easily spent our days right there if we hadn't ventured off to do the tourist thing. Kids really liked the indoor pool, although it did get
a litte crowded at check in time.I really enjoyed the outdoor jacuzzi. We took advantage of the bike rental and had a really nice bike ride through Ford's Colony and enjoyed some great excercise while admiring all the beautiful homes there. Next time we will take advantage of the outdoor grills they have outside of each building and have a cookout. The only negative I can comment on is that there is not a casual dining option at Ford's Colony. You can dine at the Country Club, but it's pretty fancy for families with kids. Overall, we had a great stay and will definitely be back.

  • Liked — Spaciousness; comfortable beds
  • Disliked — No casual dining restaurant on site
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony

Address: 101 St. Andrews Drive, Williamsburg, VA 23188
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#13 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation Villas set in Ford's Colony community; minutes away from Williamsburg, Busch Gardens & Water County USA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Manor Club At Ford`s Colony Hotel Williamsburg
Marriotts Manor Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Williamsburg
Marriott Williamsburg
Williamsburg Marriott
Marriotts Manor Club Fords Colony

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.