We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay for the family in an upmarket setting.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony to your Saves list
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 St. Andrews Drive, Williamsburg, VA 23188   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #3 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Caribbean
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay for the family in an upmarket setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

We stayed just short of two weeks commencing in the middle of August 09 (2 adults, 2 kids). We had a 2 bedroom villa that was in excellent condition, quite modern, clean and very spacious. Prior to check in some reviews noted that the rooms were dated and in need of renovation. This was definitely not the case. The amenities on site are great for both adults and kids. The free wireless internet connection in the room is somewhat slow, but was still invaluable in allowing me to keep abreast of my work. The staff at the resort were very friendly and the concierge staff member we dealt with on several occassions was very knowledgeable in recommending dining and shopping options, and in helping overall to plan our stay. The resort is loacted near the attractions and shopping centres (10 - 15 minutes away). It is advisable that you purchase the bounce ticket which is the best value for the money covering Busch Gardens, Water Country and Colonial Williamsburg over a consecutive 7 day period. You should definitely purchase the meal plans online for the theme parks as you save tremendously. Trappers Smokehouse at Busch Gardens is good for dining. You must definitely try the seafood buffet at Captain Georges.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    269
    56
    21
    18
See reviews for
367
245
9
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

When we got there, I knew we picked the right hotel. Every two years, my family takes a vacation to the Outer Banks in North Carolina. We stop in Virginia on the way there to visit my aunt who lives in Hampton, and Busch Gardens.The plan of this hotel was that guest rooms and 1 bedroom suites were on one side of the esort complex, near the bigger of the three pools and the tennis and SportCourts. The other part is the two bedroom villas. These buldings are called manors, and they only have like 16 rooms each.
Our room was very spacious, being a two bedroom villa. It overlooked the fabulous golf course at Ford's Colony which was nice, it had a full washer and dryer, and a full sized kitchen. Iwas getting nervous beforehand because I had heard that the rooms were kind of run down. They were NOT. they were updated, but the one bathroom had old tile, but that did not bother us.
Our building was close to the pool and clubhouse. This resort was definitely affordable, mostly because we shared the cost with another family who shared a room with us. The hotel was in very close proximity to Bush Gardens, and we will definitely be going back if we are in the area

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

I stayed in the two bedroom suite. Very nice, but least favorite hotel I have ever stayed at in my life. Let me explain...

Check in time is 4:00PM - an hour later than most.

Check out time is 10:00AM. I have never in my life seen that. Most places are at least 11:00AM.

No shampoo or conditionare.

Coffee maker and Coffee but no filters.

Used water bottles in refridgerator

Fireplace advertised in description but did not work

Decorotive bowl on kitchen table broken

No pens or paper. I have never seen this before either. You're on vacation and sometimes need to write things down for attractions. Nothing.

The whirlpool bath didn't work. The jets were broken and pointed straight up.

The TV is off to the side and can't easily be seen. No flat panels, they are old CRTs

The have LOTS of towels.

The whole place is just cold - not temperature wise, but just the feel. It's like staying at a business. It is not romantic at all.

The check in staff was cold and uncaring. Like they were tired of customers.

Free apples at check in.

Guests were snobby - (and I consider myself upper class, I have a Porsche 911 Targa)

All in all it was just a very bland place. For the price (make sure you add $30 a day to the room for taxes and stuff) it stunk.

It's pretty close (about 15-20 minutes) to Historic Williamsburg.

Make sure you call them for their address if using a GPS. The address they list wont get you there. You'll dead end at a security gate with no-way in.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony is fabulous! Our villa was shiny, new and clean as can be. Yet it reflected the traditional flavor of Williamsburg right down to the quant working fireplace. There are two outdoor pools and one indoor so you’re covered for swimming. The Jacuzzi is hot with power jets that made my sore back very happy. Not enough? Try basketball, tennis or the two work-out centers on the property.

My eight year old loved it. The wife misses it and my golf game went up a notch at the mega-course attached to the property.

One complaint is lack of staff. While the employees were a pleasure to deal with, the concierge and spa closed at 5:00 pm—just when we needed them the most.

This family from New York says “Yea!” to the Vacation Club at Ford’s Colony.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We stayed here on our recent trip from 8/30-9/6 and liked it very much. I have to say we weren't the hotel all that much and didn't have a chance to partake in any of the planned activities. There is just so much to do in Williamsburg that our hotel was more of just a home base for us. We did get to use the pool on our last day. Everyone we encountered at the resort was very nice. Our rooms were great. We had traded our time share for a 2 bedroom villa. It was big, had everything we needed and was clean. If you're a golfer, and you own with the Marriott time share properties,6 rounds of golf come free with your stay. The hotel is situated in a residential community with a country club. On property there are 2 outdoor pools and one indoor. There are also tennis courts, basketball courts, barbeques. It was very quiet at our resort, but most people seemed to be out and about most of the time. It doesn't have as many children activities as the old Marriott Horizon lines did, but they did have some planned.

Over all we felt it was a great choice for us.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

The room was excellent. We had the 2 bedroom with full kitchen. Room was in fine shape. Outdoor Pool is adequate. A bit hard to find hotel with GPS as you drive in as many of the entrances are for full time residents and not the timeshare unit we were in. I don't golf but they do have a full course there to use. TV was fair, sets could have been much better. The facility is nice although the surrounding area is rater depressed. We did the Williamsburg deal for most of the week we were there. It is OK. Kind of a once and done vacation spot in my opinion. I'll say it looked a lot better than some of the other heotels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

My husband, children (13 & 10 yrs.) and I stayed at the Marriott’s Manor Club at Ford’s Colony for 7 nights in a 2-bedroom Villa in July 09. The location was convenient to all of the Williamsburg attractions to include: Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown, and Busch Gardens.
The Villa was very spacious, clean, and comfortable, though, I thought the bed pillows were a little overstuffed, which made my neck stiff every morning. There were also a few maintenance issues; specifically, the kitchen sink leaked, the closet door knob in one of the bedrooms was broken, and a tile by the shower door came completely off. We reported it and the maintenance guy fixed the pipe and the door knob by the next day. The tile didn’t fall off until near the end of our stay, so we didn’t see that repaired.
The maid service was O.K., but could have been better. For example, one of my children slept on the pull-out couch in the living room. The first day, the house cleaning didn’t really make it up, the sheets were merely pulled up. The second day, the entire bed was put away forcing us to pull-it out and re-make it after a long day and evening at Colonial Williamsburg. That night, I called and asked the front desk to tell house cleaning to please leave the pull-out couch out and made. I didn’t have to do that at any other place we stayed at. Additionally, the house cleaning personnel didn’t always leave us a packet of regular coffee. The first two days we got coffee. The next two days, we didn’t; and the last two days, we did.
The kitchen was very nice with marble counter tops and a flat top stove. There were ample accessories to make and serve a meal. We bought food at a nearby supermarket and enjoyed a nice breakfast in our Villa every morning. We even made dinner there the first night we arrived.
The “Manor” had 3 pools and an arcade room. We didn’t have time to enjoy the arcade, but we swam in 2 of the 3 pools. The pools were heated, open until 10 PM, and very nice.
They also offered complimentary evening events, but, again, we didn’t have the time to partake in them. We were usually enjoying an evening event in Colonial Williamsburg or at Busch Gardens.
Overall, Marriott’s Manor Club at Ford’s Colony is a lovely place with nice Villas. For the level of accommodations, I give it a 4.5/5.0. If not for the few things mentioned above, I would have given it a 5.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony

Address: 101 St. Andrews Drive, Williamsburg, VA 23188
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#13 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation Villas set in Ford's Colony community; minutes away from Williamsburg, Busch Gardens & Water County USA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Manor Club At Ford`s Colony Hotel Williamsburg
Marriotts Manor Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Williamsburg
Marriott Williamsburg
Williamsburg Marriott
Marriotts Manor Club Fords Colony

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.