We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony to your Saves list
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 St. Andrews Drive, Williamsburg, VA 23188   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #3 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Canton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at Ford's Colony from December 25 through December 30. Our building was a short drive around the corner from the office. The rooms were clean. We liked all the pillows, I think there were about 6 on our bed. The room had a kitchenette in it and we were surprised to find a wine opener. Dishes, towels, soaps, and dish scrubber included. The area is absolutely gorgeous around the hotel. This is one place I was not worried about who would be hanging around outside when we came back to the hotel late. We wish we'd been there when the weather was nicer because they have some fun things, pool, huge chess pieces, basketball, etc. The desk personnel were friendly, as were the cleaning crew personnel. Noise level was low, but we could hear the children jumping around above us. I'd probably ask for a top-floor room next time. Beds were comfortable. We had enough towels in one room to last us about a week. This is one of the nicer Marriott's we've stayed in. Refrigerator and microwave worked great. No restaurant on the premises so get ready to drive if you want to eat out, maybe 10 minutes, and they do have some really nice restaurants in the area, such as Oceans & Ale. Very helpful staff if you need ideas on where to go. They even had a sheet that told us what we could do on a rainy day. They also have a lot of things going on at the hotel, such as s'more night. They even have movies! The outlet mall is very close by. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Unless someone else said otherwise, I'd choose a top floor room because kids overhead are really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    269
    56
    21
    18
See reviews for
367
245
9
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vestal, ny
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stop here en route to our second home in Florida. It is worth traveling off 95 to get to Ford's Colony. We know we'll have excellent accommodations, a full kitchen, a tranquil setting (nice break from driving!) and superb customer service. A one bedroom is huge plus there are two TV's which is a bonus when there are different preferences in programming. We have never been disappointed! We try not to get a studio which is roomy but not much privacy. The walking route is excellent. Maps are provided at the front desk. The grounds alone are worth the visit...lovely, tranquil, excellently maintained.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this Marriott property for a few days in January because of the discounted price offered. It is a very nice vacation club property but is not really centrally located to Colonial Williamsburg. It is easily 10 minutes travel time to the downtown Williamsburg area. It is also 10 minutes to the nearest restaurants, except for the country club grill located at the golf course next door (dress code after 5 p.m.).

We stayed in a regular guest room, which had 1 king bed and a sofa bed. It is a good size and the room included a microwave, toaster, small refrigerator, and a coffeemaker. Plates, cups and utensils are also included.

One of the things we disliked about this room is that there is a connecting door to the room next to ours, and we could hear everything that was going on in the kitchen/living space of the family in that room. We could easily hear a young child crying and screaming most of our first evening. This room really lacks basic sound privacy. In addition, the bathroom was not designed for easy use. You have to step to one side of the toilet to even get out the door, and the hand rail to get into the shower is against the wall nearest to the toilet and is of little use since it is nearly impossible to get into the shower from that side.

We did enjoy the wine and cheese tasting event sponsored by Marriott and Williamsburg Winery, which was free, and would have gone to some of the other activities offered if our time had allowed. All said, however, I don't think I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Because of lack of sound privacy, I would only stay here again if I reserved the 2-bedroom unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
545 reviews 545 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I've tried staying at Ford's Colony at least 4 times now. The first visit was great, the second a bust, the third ok and the fourth and final was a bit better. The rooms are a little small, unless you get one of the timeshare suites, which to be honest, are the only way to go. The worst of the trips you could hear the people next door making dinner, clanking plates, not in a malicious way, they were just enjoying dinner. The problem was this was at 10:00pm at night and it sounded like they were in the room with us. We called the front desk and asked for another room as it was just too noisy to sleep and were told no, and they would tell the people to be quiet. I could hear the phonecall to the neighbors, their reaction and how pissed they were to be told to be quiet. This was just not a situation I wanted to be in anymore, so we moved hotels. When we told the front desk what happened and we were leaving, their response was "good luck finding a room somwhere". There was no "sorry you did not enjoy yourself", or anything.

The grounds are lovely with many pools and the timeshare rooms really are lovely and the way to go, and in my opinion, the only way to go. The golf course is really nice and the neighborhood is beautiful. Unfortunately, I will not be back.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem Or
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Even though we went in January and didn't have the best weather our stay here was very relaxing. The villas and the grounds are great, as is the staff. Hope to return in better weather when we can use the abundant trails and outdoor facilities. We stayed in 2 2-bedroom villas through an Interval getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I are Marriott timeshare owners in Myrtle Beach and exchanged our week to stay in Virginia. We have 3 boys (11, 13, 15 at the time of our stay) This hotel is on a great location. It’s in a residential area with a golf course on one side of it. The all-brick main building and some of the others make you feel like you’re walking on a little colonial street. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The grill area was clean and there was a basketball court and other things for kids to do.This hotel was very close to all we wanted to see. We visited Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Jamestown, and Yorktown.

Unfortunately, there is no restaurant on the grounds. This is my reason for 4 stars. There is a little shop/convenient store near one of the pool areas that had munchies and drinks (maybe even prepared sandwiches.. I can’t remember). We stocked up on food at a supermarket and made good use of the outdoor grills and our kitchen.

Prior to our trip, I saw a review that mentioned how small the washer and dryer were compared to other Marriott timeshares…. Very true! This meant more loads which was more time-consuming, but it didn’t affect our stay. It’s good to know though so you’re prepared.

To summarize, we were very happy with our stay. The rooms were spacious and clean and the locations beautiful. We would stay there again.

Tip: Try to avoid summer travel and go fall or spring. We were there July 24th to August 3 in 2011. It was as high as 102F when we were there and the pool temperature read 92F!! We couldn’t believe it. Cooling off in the pool doesn’t happen. We swam a little in the evening and it felt like a bath tub.. still fun though.

Yorktown: We ate at the Carrot Tree Restaurant on Main St. and were pleasantly surprised by the delicious food (limited menu, but interesting choices).

Busch Gardens: It’s VERY worth buying the drink that comes with a refillable cup (souvenir cup). On a hot day, you’ll spend a lot of $$ on water and spending a lot of money on the first drink to get the refillable cup was well worth it… free water refills all day. We wished we realized this on the first day. We did a two day pass so we could come two ½ days and avoid the hot hrs.

Room Tip: There was a newly renovated area (older units) when we went. We ended up in the back villas. I kept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

As Marriott time share owners, we booked this get a way last August. Since owners cannot used Reward points for Marriott Resorts, we paid for a week plus insurance. It was well worth it , as the rent at this time of year is extremely reasonable. The Berkeley Manor Building was orginially constructed as a condo by Ford's Colony and later purchased by Marriott. This building is much nicer than the newer buildings ( having stayed here before). Very spacious layout with lots of closet space etc. Recommend you try to get this building when booking.

Our only complaint was the windows hadn't been cleaned for some time and there was quite an accumulation of dirt, dust and leaves which activated our allergies and made us leave a few days earlier than planned.

Room Tip: If you can be assigned the Berkeley Manor Building you will be very satisfied. The layout is much l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony

Address: 101 St. Andrews Drive, Williamsburg, VA 23188
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#13 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation Villas set in Ford's Colony community; minutes away from Williamsburg, Busch Gardens & Water County USA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Manor Club At Ford`s Colony Hotel Williamsburg
Marriotts Manor Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Williamsburg
Marriott Williamsburg
Williamsburg Marriott
Marriotts Manor Club Fords Colony

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.