We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn to your Saves list
Sleep Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Bypass Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #36 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Clemmons, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

Just returned from 2 nights at the Sleep Inn. The rooms were small and were also plain but for the money the place was fairly clean, (the shower needed a little work) and the employees friendly. They had a free breakfast that included waffles, cereal and baked goods. This place was not spectacular but if you want a place to sleep and shower after a day at Busch Gardens or Water Country this will work.

  • Liked — location to amusement park
  • Disliked — noisy
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    88
    34
    9
    19
See reviews for
106
50
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

We needed a hotel room in Williamsburg for 2 nights on fairly short notice and were astonished at how high the prices were. I chose the Sleep Inn because it had good reviews and was under $100 a night. We arrived late on Friday night and were immediately unimpressed by the lobby area - very small and not inviting at all. We dragged our two sleepy children to the room and I immediately went to turn on the air conditioner since it was so hot and musty in the room. The air conditioning unit was COVERED with mold spores as were the bathroom walls. We were given another room that was right next to the noisy elevator, so asked for a 3rd room. Upon entering that room, my 5 year old son began to explore and opened the microwave. It was filled with foul smelling food remnants which immediately filled the musty room with a disgusting odor. Believe it or not we decided that was the best of the 3 rooms we had tried and we got our 2 exhausted children into bed. As we pulled the covers back the box springs were totally exposed (no dust ruffle, etc.) and they were completely stained with God only knows what. The hand towels were stained as were the chairs and the carpeting.
The breakfast was lame - cold cereal and apples and a crowded waffle station. As my husband and daughter ate, the TV was so loud that my husband asked the desk worker, Archie, if he could turn the TV down. Archie looked at him and replied, "Well, in a few minutes this place will be so crowded you won't even be able to hear the TV." I later asked Archie if there was a penalty for checking out early. He asked me what room I was in. I told him 318 and he said, "No, you're not. That's impossible". I have no idea why he said that but I ended up arguing with him that yes, we were indeed in room 318! When we finally did check out the two people on duty were very nice and apologetic about our stay.
We moved a block down the road to the Quality Inn on Bypass Road and had a wonderful night there for the same price. Don't stay at the Sleep Inn. You can do better.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness, staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2007

This was a decent hotel although I probably wouldn't pay the same amount to stay there again. The rooms were average-sized. There is a vanity area and the bathroom has the toilet and a large walk-in shower. Really liked the shower but the lighting in the bathroom is very dim (there is a separate light in the shower, which was okay). There is also a heavy sliding door which was kind of hard to maneuver sometimes. I ended up using my own hairdryer since the one there was tiny and inadequate. Room was clean and smelled fine. The inside pool was what you'd expect, there are towels there which was nice.

Breakfast was the usual, liked the apple and orange juice options. Also had make-your-own waffles, although everyone kept burning them. The free USA Today in the breakfast room was a bonus.

Negative - the most unfriendly desk clerk I've EVER encountered, a man who never once looked up and spoke like he had a recording and was being forced to work there under duress. Maybe he was a resentful weekend worked or something, but he is obviously very unhappy with his job. It was so bad with each person that everyone in line started secretly looking at each other with incredulous looks. One man finally tried to make a light joke about something to lighten the depressing welcome and the man ignored him. It was very weird and made us initially nervous about our stay. While we were waiting, an elderly lady came up to the desk and, very nicely, indicated that her bathroom light was out. His response was something along the line of "what do you want me to do about it?". The lady didn't know what to do. The lighting is already bad and the bathroom would be pitch black. My husband found a maintenance person for her who didn't speak English but got the message across and he helped the lady.

The carpet in the halls and rooms is very ugly and frayed, and our hallway on the third floor smelled like smoke (the room was fine though). It would be ncie if they would update that - the overall look is starting to appear a little worn.

  • Liked — Location, beds were comfortable
  • Disliked — Unfriendly and depressed check-in clerk (others later were nice)
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2007

We stayed in this hotel two years in a row while visiting Williamsburg. The first time we booked online and the second time we used one of those travel coupons., so we got a really good deal. It is centrally located close to all Williamsburg attractions and restaurants and close to Jamestown and Yorktown too. The location is also very quiet. It looks likes the rooms have been newly remodeled and were very clean. There is a stand up shower only, no bathtub. They have a nice lobby and a roomy breakfast area. There was the standard continental breakfast food. I especially liked the fresh fruit. They also had a inside pool and fitness center that both looked nice, although we didn't use them. I would definitely reccommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Liked — how quiet it was
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2007

Stayed for 2 nights, found motel through coupon magazine. Super price, less than $90. Nice size rooms, very clean. good ammenities incl indoor pool and small gym, excellent well laid out breakfast. Motel offers DVD rental service, nice front desk service. There are plenty of good food outlets within easy walking distance. Stayed in the US for 2 weeks, this was the best stay value for money.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2007

Stayed at the Sleep Inn one night for a Williamsburg/Busch garden trip on 6 April 07. Arrived around 5PM and was checked in immediately. The room was very basic but clean. I pull off all the bed covers and inspected the sheets to ensure it was clean. There are no bath tub in the room only a shower. If you have little one that requires a bath tub, this hotel is not for you.

The indoor pool was kept clean with plenty of pool towels. The pool temperature was kept at a decent temp for swimimg.

The complimentary breakfast were good considered it was free. Self serve waffle maker, muffins and cereals. Juice, milk and hot coffee & tea are also available.

Overall this hotel is a good value for a budget hotel.

  • Liked — Best Value
  • Disliked — Slow elevators
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2006

My husband and I went to Williamsburg in October for a long weekend to see the sights and Busch Gardens. We first stopped at the Sleep inn at Ashland, VA, which we had a horrible experience there. We called Sleep Inn and complained, and we were hesitant to go to the one in Williamsburg. But we decided to go and didn't think the bad luck would continue. Well- it did.
We requested a suite when we booked for the jetted bathtub. We went to the room, which was 1/2 the size of the one in Ashland but twice as much. It was right next to the parking lot, and there were kids running around the halls. I went to check out the bathroom and found a centipede on the floor. We immediately called the front desk to be moved to another suite, which they told us that was the only one available, and the hotel was booked for the night.
Sleep Inns policy is to refund 100% if not satisfied. We left after 10 minutes and my husband spoke to the manager on duty. He said he would charge us for the 1st night, and the manager would have to remove the charge tomorrow. He said he took down everything we said.
We have now been back and forth with the Hotel and the Sleep inn 800-number, and neither will refund us our money. They said we left the room in unsellable condition for someone else (totally not true) and we never said anything about the bug (again, not true). The only thing they would do is give us $50 to stay at another hotel. The room cost us over $130 for the night.
We will never again stay at a Sleep inn chain, and we are writing a letter to the corporation about the 100% refund guarantee.
We ended up at the Sheraton 4 Points, which was much nicer and only $80 a night.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSleepInn, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2006
Dear Sir,
I apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay. And I sympathize with you regarding the events that occured to make you feel that you would not like to stay at Sleep Inn again. However, for the hotel to be able to correct a problem, they have to know about it and it is pleasing to have guests like yourself who voice their concerns and problems. That being said, I have no record of your complaint from October of this year, so it is hard to say why there was no response from the hotel. But, you did receive a $50 voucher from us? or was it a discount on your next stay? If you could please contact the hotel at your earliest convenience I will personally see to it that your concerns are addressed and that we can come to a satisfactory resolution for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Address: 220 Bypass Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, art deco - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Williamsburg
Sleep Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.