We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn to your Saves list
Sleep Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Bypass Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #38 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel is a great value for the location and price. The rooms are small but sufficient. The layout is different than most hotel rooms but was the same as a previous Sleep Inn we stayed in so I think it may be normal for this brand. There is a shower only, no tub. The room was clean with one exception; there was a small amount of mold on the bottom of the shower stall door area on the inside. You don't see it until you are in the shower. The carpet was clean but had a couple small stains and an imprint of the iron in the middle of the room. Replacing the carpeting would improve the look of the room a lot. The rest of the room and bedding was clean. Our security latch was broken, missing the door section. We reported it to the front desk and is was repaired by the time we returned to our room that afternoon.

The complimentary breakfast has a variety of items, both hot and cold. We stayed four nights and it was the same every morning. It would have been nice to have something different throughout our stay. But it provided enough to start our day.

The location is excellent. It is off the road enough that we never heard any road noise in our room. It is a very short drive to the Colonial Williamsburg Visitor Center where you can park for free and ride the shuttle downtown.

I would not hesitate to stay here again if we were in the area and would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a clean hotel at a good price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    92
    36
    11
    19
See reviews for
110
54
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Being a frequent visitor to Williamsburg, we were looking for an inexpensive place to stay over for one night while doing a weekend at Water Country USA. Location of the hotel is great. It is located a short drive from the colonial area and the theme parks. It is walking distance to several places to eat. First impression is that this is not a new hotel, but it is clean. It had a slight musty smell in the lobby as older hotels do, but nothing that would turn us away. The front desk staff was friendly both at check in and check out. The rooms are a little small and the bathroom even smaller, but the room was clean and had everything needed for an overnight stay. Having been at the water park all day we did not use the pool, but it looked ok. The morning breakfast was good. It included make your own waffles, eggs and sausage, muffins, bagels, toast, yogurt, cereal and juices. It was enough for everyone to have something before heading out without breaking the bank at one of the local restaurants. Bed in pillow were a little soft for my liking but not horrible. Would stay here again if looking for a less expensive place to stay short term.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My family and I stayed here for two nights will visiting Colonial Williamsburg. Overall, it was a mixed experience.

First, the room seemed a bit cramped, but was reasonably clean.

Probably the best part of the hotel was its location. It was literally only a few minutes away from Colonial Williamsburg, as well as a variety of restaurants.

On the downside, the breakfast was mediocre, and some aspects of the place seemed a little bit rundown. On the upside, it looked like they were making efforts to fix things up a bit. They were repainting the breakfast area, and the grounds outside were nicely landscaped.

Bottom line: It was acceptable enough that I would consider staying here again. But it wasn't so great that I wouldn't consider some other options first. If you're on a budget, this place would be a decent value. If you have a little more to spend, I'm guessing you'd be happier taking a step up to a nicer place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have been coming to Williamsburg since our honeymoon. This is our first time in this motel. It met all the criteria for a pleasant place to stay. The location is excellent, an easy drive from Colonial Williamsburg. It is close to a variety of restaurants, and it has a very ample parking lot.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in was clean and a good size. We were pleasantly surprised to find our room had a small refrigerator. The continental breakfast was well-rounded. (By that I mean it had protein and fruit as well as all the customary carbs. There was even one of those fancy waffle irons many people really enjoy.

The breakfast hours spanned enough time to accommodate varying morning routines. I like the fact that they have 24 hour coffee, which includes regular (3 blends) Decaf (3 blends) as well as a hot water feature. Very thoughtful and appreciated.

Perhaps the one thing I would have liked is a heated pool. It is indoors, and it is fine.

All in all, a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask about a refrigerator if this is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyser, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location, quiet and close to major attractions! The hotel itself is well maintained and very clean and the staff is top notch, they make sure you feel comfortable and welcome, very nice! We stay at this hotel every time we travel to Williamsburg, which is about 4 to 6 times a year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent just one night in this motel but found it was more than adequate for our needs. A newer facility, it is well located in Williamsburg and offers excellent amenities. Clean rooms and comfortable beds are what we found in the two Sleep Inns we stayed at during our journey north from Florida. We particularly appreciated the walk-in showers provided. Courteous and helpful staff was a bonus as we as the excellent breakfast offered. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stopped to get some much needed rest and thats exactly what I got. Nice location! I highly recommend this hotel! I was on the first floor right next to the pool and exercise area. I didnt get a chance to shop but everything was within minutes of the hotel. Whenever Im back in the area, I will be staying at Sleep Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.7 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Central
Comfort Inn Central
#47 of 79 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#6 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Address: 220 Bypass Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, art deco - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Williamsburg
Sleep Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.