We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Williamsburg Hospitality House

Save Saved
You added Williamsburg Hospitality House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Williamsburg Hospitality House
415 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3536   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
Ellicott City, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great location, Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here on a prior visit and find it second to none for location and value. There are certainly places with far more upscale accommodations but none with the charm, price and location. We will continue to come to Hospitality House when we come to Williamsburg.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gminva, General Manager at Williamsburg Hospitality House, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Dana4656,
Thank you for being our guest. We'll hope to see you again in the not-too-distant future!


Steve Dees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    115
    71
    30
    21
See reviews for
98
108
21
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was a mixed bag, positive for the most part, but a few surprises that I could have done without. First, the positive. The restaurant was outstanding--both food and service. The lobby is very attractive. The rooms are large. The hotel is certainly conveniently located near Willam and Mary and the Colonial District. We could walk everywhere we wanted to go. There is plenty of free parking (just remember which deck you park in, though!) The in-room coffee was good, too!

Now a couple of downers. First, the pillows. One was so lumpy it hardly looked like a pillow. When I asked for a new one, housekeeping responded immediately. Good service. Second, there was a very nasty stain on the bedskirt. YUK. I don't even want to speculate what it was. Finally, the sheets were old and the elastic was shot in the fitted bottom sheet.

Yes, the hotel could use a makeover, but for the price, I'd go back. The service and the location make this a good choice.

Room Tip: The "terrace view" rooms look out on a concrete floor with a couple of fake plants. Not ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel was clean & quiet. If you are there on business at College of William & Mary (we were)- you will be right across from campus. There is plenty within walking distance. Shopping, restaurants, and the historic area of Williamsburg.
The hotel needs to be updated but you will be comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, CA
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I was a guest in this hotel for 3 nights in room 445 until January 26, 2013. It was the only hotel I stayed in during my quick trip from California. The bed didn't have a mattress pad but instead had a thin piece of felt between the sheet and the bed that exposed a lot of the mattress. The bottom sheet wouldn't stay on the bed at night. Housekeeping did not change the sheets during the 3 night stay, but instead only asked if I needed clean towels/supplies. Anyway, I checked the top of the mattress after feeling itchy/bitten the first morning, but didn't see anything. I've since learned that bed bugs hide within and under the mattress. I now have itchy bite bumps all over my torso and have learned there can be a delayed reaction to the bites for as long as 9 days. There are more today than yesterday. This is my first Tripadvisor review and regrettably, my first experience with bed bugs. I've contacted hotel management, left a message about the issue and haven't yet heard back, but hope they will call back as a courtesy.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gminva, General Manager at Williamsburg Hospitality House, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear SuzQOrinda_CA,

Thank you for your comments. My Front Office Director, Ira, was in receipt of your message yesterday morning and left a voicemail for you in return. He is going to try again later this morning to reach you directly.
As of now, we didn't see any telltale signs of an infestation. We are awaiting our pest control company to come in and re-inspect. I would encourage you, as well as future guests, to alert a hotel during your stay should you suspect anything is afoot. While it is great to have that information, we would like to help while you are still with us.
I do apologize for the situation and thank you again for the feedback. Once we know more, you will hear from us again.

Yours truly,

Steve Dees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel could use an update in the rooms. The staff were very hospitable and all of the entry and lobby features are nice and refined.

The room I was given had a door to adjoin another room. A woman was talking somewhat loudly on the phone in the next room. The walls seemed pretty thin as well as the door, so I could hear everything and couldn't get to sleep (even over the sound of a "white noise" machine). I called the front desk and they quickly gave me another room, which was nice. Had a good sleep after that.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I have been here before, with another couple. This time we were by our self. The hotel has a good restaurant and everyone is very friendly. It's located by William & Mary College. Good location to many restaurants, shopping and attractions. It's close to our son & family so it was easy to see them. We would stay here again when we come to visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, DE
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is one big hotel. Their corridors go on and on. They offer great rates and free parking. The staff is friendly but I have found most Virginians to be really friendly people. The rooms are a nice size but a bit dated. I would definitely stay here again. It was quiet at night too, but I don't think the hotel was that booked. It's about a 3 block walk to old town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Williamsburg Hospitality House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Hospitality House

Address: 415 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3536
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Colonial-style Brick Hotel situated opposite William & Mary College.We have 295 guestrooms with a variety of bedding arrangements and over 24,000 square feet of flexible meeting space.We are just 3 blocks from the Historic Area and only 10-15 minutes from 10 golf courses, Busch Gardens Williamsburg, Water Country USA, and Premium Outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Williamsburg Hospitality House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Hospitality House Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hospitality Hotel
Hospitality House Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Williamsburg Hospitality House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.