We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Williamsburg Historic Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Williamsburg Historic Area to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Williamsburg Historic Area
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   331 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Days Inn Historic Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Excellent property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is newly renovated. The rooms are in great condition, and staff is kind and considerate. The GM David is very knowledgeable and helpful. The location of this hotel is perfect. It has restaurants all around, so you'll never go hungry. Not only do I enjoy the hotel, I try to refer others to stay here also! Great job Comfort Inn!

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    181
    47
    9
    5
See reviews for
241
212
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

First time in the Williamsburg area and stayed in this hotel during the long Memorial Day weekend. My family enjoyed our stay. Staffs were efficient and friendly. Breakfast was good with both hot and cold preferences. Although selections are limited, it is more than enough to start our day. We loved the freshly made waffles and the clean dining area. Our room was clean and we all slept comfortably in our beds.
Will definitely come back in this hotel if we are in the area again.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stem, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We enjoyed our stay. The staff was extremely friendly and made a point of greeting us at check in, of course, and again any time they saw us. Hotel was clean and well cared for. Breakfast met my expectations. Will definitely consider this hotel for future stays in the area.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The good:

Our room was clean, the pool was refreshing, the renovations made the hotel feel nearly new, and most of the staff was very friendly.

The not-so-good:

Breakfast. Understanding that you get what you paid for (and breakfast is free), this was still subpar by hotel standards. Eggs were tasteless, breakfast meat (sausage both days) was cool and greasy, and the hard-boiled eggs were as cold as ice cream. Wash it down with tasteless coffee (even the "bold" coffee is weak) and it all equals a disappointing way to start the day. To be fair, if you like donuts and sugary cereal, there's plenty of options and maybe this breakfast will be OK for you.

Overall, the hotel is a good place to stay as long as your expectations for breakfast are appropriate.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Family stayed here for Graduation weekend and it was very pleasant experience. Good remodeling and Large airy rooms as well as common areas where could hang out. Amenities were good as was the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pros and Con here....

Pros-- easy to get to off of I-95. Front desk employees on check in and check out were fabulous! Breakfast is standard fare and quality for hotels of this level but the 3 waffle irons made for less wait time. Coffee was better than avg. Interior decor was updated and modern/sleek.

Cons- We chose this hotel based on reviews and wanted to post our experience to let others know that YOUR MILEAGE MAY VARY. I don't disbelieve other's reviews saying their rooms were clean. I DO believe that their rooms benefited from a more conscientious housekeeping person. Our room unfortunately was undeniably DIRTY!! Because there were so many "clean" reviews I took pix of our room to show that I'm not making this up. There was a dark and sticky spot on the carpet at the foot of one of the beds. The outside of the toilet bowl (front) had old urine runs with hairs stuck in it. Stained sheets on one bed and stained bed cover on the other. There were some maintenance issues as well. I didn't get a pic but the towel hook on the back of the bathroom door was gone and only the bracket that would have held the towel hook was present. There tub drain had a sloppy caulk job that just made the tub look "Icky".
From the minute we walked in the room I kept telling my husband, "The reviews for this place were fabulous, I swear!" His reply was, "Well, must be all the family and friends of the owner who are leaving reviews"
I guess we got a bad room. You may also, so beware.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear crazymomof464,

Thank you for taking time out to share your recent experience. I'm sorry to hear of the housekeeping & maintenance issues experienced in your room during your stay. This is not typical of our hotel and I'm sorry that this was not brought to my attention while you were hear so that I could address it immediately. I'm sorry that your husband feels as though the reviews posted to our site are friends and family of the owner. As you may know, TripAdvisor has a very strict policy on postings of that nature and that is not something that the site nor myself tolerates. Please email me at dsmith@hmphotels.com with the room number and dates of your stay so that I can look into this further. I realize we can't change the past, but would love another opportunity to show you that we are the hotel of choice for those visiting Historic Williamsburg. Thank you again for your business.

Yours in Hospitality,

David N. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Based on Trip Advisor reviews, we selected this hotel. Several weeks eariler I discovered that it had changed brands, and hoped that nothing else had changed. The stay was perfect. The rooms were clean, quiet, and comfortable. Internet and TV worked perfectly. The breakfast was delicious. Absolutely a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Inn Williamsburg Historic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Williamsburg Historic Area

Address: 331 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Days Inn Historic Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Williamsburg Historic Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Comfort Inn Williamsburg Historic Area! Get in touch with a slice of history while basking in southern hospitality at the Comfort Inn(R) Williamsburg Historic Area hotel in Williamsburg, VA near Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens. Our non-smoking family hotel in Williamsburg puts guests within steps of popular attractions like: Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Williamsburg Prime Outlets, William and Mary, and Williamsburg Winery Get going with a great breakfast. Start your trip to Williamsburg with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. Soak up the sun on our patio deck or take a dip in our oversized seasonal outdoor pool. You can also break a sweat in our 24-hour fitness center or take care of family needs in our guest laundry facilities. All guest rooms offer a coffee maker, desk, sitting area, microwave, refrigerator, iron and board. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper, in-room tea and coffee and kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn Williamsburg Historic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Days Inn Williamsburg Virginia
Days Inn Colonial
Days Inn Historic Williamsburg
Williamsburg Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Williamsburg Historic Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.