We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place to stay with a few minor complaints.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Williamsburg Historic Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Williamsburg Historic Area to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Williamsburg Historic Area
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   331 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Days Inn Historic Area)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very nice place to stay with a few minor complaints.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I recently returned home from the Days Inn Historic Area and for the most part it was a great stay.
Positives -
Very nice looking and updated.
Staff were great in our limited dealings. One day the GM was even in the hall and asked about our house keeping.
Excellent wifi.
Great pool.
Hotel is very clean. Entrance is beautiful. Just a side note about the
AC - I didn't realize you could keep the fan running all night, so the AC keep cycling throughout the night. Very disruptive to light sleepers. Leave the fan on if you like background noise.
Negatives -
Sand paper towels. Wow are they rough.
Firm beds. I love a firm
bed but these are too firm and the pillows are awful.
Bathrooms are too small. Barely any clearance between door and toilet.
Sticky nasty spot on the carpet. We just left a small hand towel on it.
Closet is way too large and sticks out into the room.
Doors are too thin. You hear everything.
Breakfast could be better with varying choices. We wound up skipping it after the first day because it was way too crowded. Kids had cereal. Waffle wait was more than 15 minutes.
I know it sounds like a lot of complaints but I am just a little picky and would like to let others know my impressions. I'm not sure if I would stay again just because of the bed issue. I really left with major backaches and combined with all of the walking a decent bed and rest is very important.
It was a great hotel for its price and purpose though. Kids had a great time in the pool. At night parking fills up quickly. We got home about 10:30 after fireworks and had to practically park at the next hotel. Lots of great restaurants nearby along with all of the major attractions.
Nice job Days Inn.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear William S,

Thank you for taking time out to let us know about your recent stay. We are glad to hear that for the most part, you felt your stay was great! Thank you for your feedback. We value all yout input and appreciate your help in making us a better hotel for the next guests that stays with us. I would like to speak with you further to correct some of the issues. Please email me at dsmith@hmphotels.com. Thank you for your business and I look forward to speaking with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    178
    42
    9
    5
See reviews for
233
205
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Very comfortable and well maintained property, well located for visiting Williamsburg or William and Mary. Not cheap in any sense of the word: comparatively expensive for a Days Inn, but also very much a cut above many locations in this chain. Mostly fast food in the immediate vicinity, but excellent restaurants within a five to ten minute drive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear James L,

Thank you for sharing your experience of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. In addition to the fast food restaurants nearby, we also have restaurants within walking distance including Denny's and Bistro515. Thank you again for your business and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I usually never stay at Days Inns, but was really impressed with this hotel. You'd think it was a newly built hotel. The rooms were nicely decorated and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful with directions. The breakfast was good. The pool looked refreshing, but we didn't have time for a swim. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear travelhutjo,

Thank you for taking time out to let us know about your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you were impressed. Our $4.5M renovation took approximately 8 months to complete and we are glad that you enjoyed the new look of the hotel. We hope to be your hotel of choice anytime you visit Historic Williamsburg. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel was modern, clean, convenient, affordable, and had wonderful staff. We stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed every minute of our time there. The pool is very nice. The breakfast was good, too. The best part of the stay was the manager and the other staff. They were so nice!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Lori L,

Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased to hear that you had an excellent experience staying at our recently renovated hotel. The next time you plan to come to the area, please let us know. We love taking care of our return guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed for 6 days on July 27 thru August 02 while visiting Water country park,Busch Gardens and Virginia Beach.We enjoyed our vacation time.The hotel is very clean nice size rooms including little fridge and microwave.Frond desk people and housekeeping staff are so friendly.We did not have any problems and issues during our stay in the hotel.We can recommended this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed at first floor which is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Miro K,

Thank you for sharing your experience of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be comfortable, nice and that you received great customer service from our team. We appreciate your business and hope to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed at Days Inn Historic Area on July 19 thru 23 of 2014. Days Inn is in prime location for people visiting Colonial Williamsburg which is just down the road. The immediate area of the hotel on Bypass Rd tho has only other hotels and a couple of restaurants, Denny's is right next door if your desperate. For more choices for things to see, do and eat, from Days Inn make a right on Bypass Rd (Rt 60) on to Richmond Road (still Rt 60) heading north and you'll find many more hotels and restaurants plus movie theater, CVS, Ripley's Believe It or Not, etc, etc. About 4 miles further up (north) Richmond Road you could shop till you drop at Williamsburg Premium Outlets with stores like Movado, Nautica, Nike, New Balance, etc, etc.

From the outside Days Inn Historic Area hotel looks like your typical decent road side hotel, but once you enter the lobby you're be surprised at how modern it is, but a bit sparse. Directly across the lobby from the front desk are plenty of sofas and an desk with 2 computers and a fax machine (business area) for you to use for free, at least the computers are free. Further down the room are the dining area where you'll get your free breakfast. Breakfast (7am to 10:30am?) consist of premade waffle and eggs, fruit, oatmeal, cereal, milk, bread, toaster, oj machine, yogurt, and make your own waffle-maker skillet, which I used each and every day. Coffee machine dispenser and hot water for tea is available 24 hours. Just outside the bldg, on the side of the property, you'll find a decent size unheated pool with a few chairs, tables with umbrella and chaises. Towels are provided in a cabinet inside just before you go outside to the pool. In the same room of the towel cabinet there are vending machines for soda and junk food, shelf with paper advertisement/information for things to see and do in the immediate and not so immediate area such as Ripley's Believe It or Not, caves, Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, etc, etc. There is a laundry room with 2 washers and dryers. Each machine cost $2 to use. A exercise room have a couple or tread mills. The front desk provided limited free weekday USA Today newspaper.

We booked 2 rooms for 5 adults and got conjoining rooms. My room #110, which is right around the corner from the dining area and entrance to the pool, was nicely furnished with 2 comfortable queen size beds, 4 fluffy pillows on each bed, night stand with table top lamp and phone, wood desk, chair on wheels, 40"(?) dim brightness lcd hdtv on top of a 3 drawer dresser, free standing wood closet with iron, iron board inside. Mini frig with mini microwave under a cabinet with coffee maker and ice bucket sitting on top. No safe. The bath room is nice and modern with a full length single sink counter. Small tiny bottles of shampoo, conditioner and bar of soap are provided. You should buy your own supply of larger bottles of shampoo and conditioner. There is no retractable clothe line to hang your wet bathing suits. The bath room lighting is nice and bright but is very blinding bright for the middle of the night trips. There is no night light. Our ground level view outside of our window was the main driveway and parking lot.

If you're looking for a wonderful restaurant for steak and seafood head to Fireside Chophouse Steak and Seafood, 1995 Richmond Road. We gone there for an early dinner and was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the meal. Tho the salad was a bit small, but who's there to eat a big salad, the main entree was fantastic. Everyone's dinner was excellent. Bryan our waiter was excellent and fun to chat with. I've read some previous not-to-great Trip Advisor reviews about this place after the fact and was very surprised. We had a really good dinner there. And dessert wasn't bad either.

I would recommend this hotel because of the hotel is clean and has been modernized, free breakfast, pool, business center and the price of what you get.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Williamsburg Historic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Williamsburg Historic Area

Address: 331 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Days Inn Historic Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#7 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Williamsburg Historic Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Comfort Inn Williamsburg Historic Area! Get in touch with a slice of history while basking in southern hospitality at the Comfort Inn(R) Williamsburg Historic Area hotel in Williamsburg, VA near Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens. Our non-smoking family hotel in Williamsburg puts guests within steps of popular attractions like: Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Williamsburg Prime Outlets, William and Mary, and Williamsburg Winery Get going with a great breakfast. Start your trip to Williamsburg with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. Soak up the sun on our patio deck or take a dip in our oversized seasonal outdoor pool. You can also break a sweat in our 24-hour fitness center or take care of family needs in our guest laundry facilities. All guest rooms offer a coffee maker, desk, sitting area, microwave, refrigerator, iron and board. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper, in-room tea and coffee and kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Williamsburg Historic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Days Inn Williamsburg Virginia
Days Inn Colonial
Days Inn Historic Williamsburg
Williamsburg Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Williamsburg Historic Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.