We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great updates!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   331 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Days Inn Historic Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great updates!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel definitely gave me great bang for my buck! The staff was very friendly, the lobby was gorgeous, the rooms were nice, and even their free breakfast was decent! There were, of corse, normal hotel noises, but those are the fault of the other guests - not the hotel. I would definitely stay here again... Well worth the money! Oh, just a tip... Calling the hotel directly gave me a much better rate than calling the 800 Days Inn number.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    195
    56
    10
    7
See reviews for
264
225
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
st. louis, mo
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Spent several nights here while at a conference at the College of William & Mary. We chose this hotel based on the complimentary reviews on Tripadvisor, and as usual were not disappointed. This is not your average Days Inn (no offence, Days Inn!), and everything seems new and in tip top condition. The outside pool is pleasant, with an adequate seating area and plenty of towels provided. The fitness center is equipped with two treadmills only and one rowing machine, but they all work; I think they might usefully invest in an elliptical machine too.
The bedroom boasted a flat screen TV, easy chair and desk, and two very comfortable Queen beds. The bathroom was well equipped with toiletries, towels and hairdryer. There was no coffeemaker in the room, but coffee was available at all times from the breakfast area. Breakfast itself seemed the typical range for this type of hotel, from oatmeal and cereal to toast, pastries and fresh fruit. However, the presence of a new Denny's next door was too tempting, so we ate breakfast there each morning. In fact, this locality is blessed with numerous eateries, and several were within walking distance, including Cracker Barrel.
There's very little to complain about this new Days Inn, with its excellent parking outside and new facilities inside. The only drawback is a design fault of the architects' making and not the staff or even the other guests who cause the problem. We stayed off of the first floor corridor that leads from the breakfast room; that is one very noisy corridor! Guests probably don't realize how their voices carry, and the doors aren't thick enough to absorb enough of their sound waves! The only solution for those rooms is for the staff to post a sign or remind returning guests to lower their voices as they walk past those bedrooms. Tripadvisor guests who are light sleepers should ask to be accommodated anywhere but that corridor.
Finally, book early if you want to secure good rates. When I first researched the hotel, the nightly rate was approx. $80; by the time I booked it was closer to $140.

Room Tip: avoid the first floor rooms on the corridor leading from the breakfast area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, January 16, 2015
Dear twoteachersSt.Louis,

Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our new hotel. Our renovation team at HMP Design Group did a fantastic job! Thank you again for taking time out to share your experience and we hope to see you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,

David N. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

All I can say is.. WOW! We walked into this property and we were blown away. The assistant general manager was at the desk training a new employee. He was very professional with her and with us. This property is very modern looking. From the very open foyer and large room with open areas for seating and the breakfast area with very large windows...very bright, to our room. We were even several hours ahead of check in, but got us in a room quickly. The room was very bright and cheery, no way at all being drab and dark. Swimming pool, exercise room, and very close to restaurants and shopping, and only 1 mile to the Colonial Williamsburg area. Every area of this motel was very clean. Very nice, almost fancy, lighting in hallways, not dark at all. Very spacious bathroom. Everything modern looking, flat screen tv, a wardrobe, fridge and microwave, an upholstered chair and large work desk with chair. Very nice and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pool area entrance on bottom floor, if a close room is desired. Choose rooms 108 through125, but ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, January 16, 2015
Dear donna b,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Ron our Asst. General Manager has been with the hotel for about 8 years and he is definitely an asset to the company. We appreciate your business and hope that you will keep us in mind the next time you are in the area.

Yours in Hospitality,

David N. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We got a deal on this hotel late one night (Hotels Tonight app) and the desk staff was very very nice. The remodel is attractive with lots of nice details, the beds comfy, and the hotel convenient. Only complaint was the breakfast - almost nothing healthy to eat, and the breakfast area was a total mess - both around the food and across all the tables. We'll stay again, but plan on eating out even though breakfast is free!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear pirategirlross,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I'm sorry that you didn't find anything healthy on our breakfast bar. We offer items like egg patties, kettle style oatmeal and yogurt. Please let me know what other healthier choice items were you looking for that we didn't offer. I would love to speak with you further. Please email me at dsmith@hmphotels.com. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southaven, MS, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed based on TripAdv reviews and found a great value! Very clean and good staff. Pool is very nice and well maintained. No harsh chemical feelings after swimming. Beds were very comfortable. Rooms do not have a closet but have a large closet/cabinet so there is a bit less room. Lighting is very good and room decor is bright. Breakfast was a little thin and had a fly problem the morning we ate but area was large with plenty of seating.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Dennis F,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay. We are glad that you found all that we had to offer to be a great value. At Days Inn our goal is to offer the "Best Value Under the Sun" and we are pleased that you found that. We are sorry to hear of the fly problem you experienced at breakfast time and appreciate you bringing it to our attention. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

First time visiting Virginia, went to my trusted site tripadvisor. Read the reviews, and the only thing I could say about this place, will only take one word, and that one word would be Excellent!!!!!!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 338.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear pokeurnose,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be "Excellent". We appreciate your business and hope that now you have seen all that there is to see & do in Virginia that you will come back to visit us again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding July 10th & 11th 2014. Hotel itself was clean & the renovations were great. The problem occurred after we left. We checked out & drove 15 minutes down the road when for some reason the thought occurred to me that I didn't remember seeing my camera case in awhile. I freaked out!! It is a very expensive camera. We called the hotel & they assured us they would look & call us right back...that did not happen. We drove back to the hotel & I asked the manager (wish I had got his name) if anyone had turned in a big black camera case...he said no..without so much as even looking. I then said *do you think someone could have put it in one of those cabinets behind you *? He again said no that anything of value would have been turned in to him. During this time my husband had found the cleaning/maintenance supervisor who told him she thought she saw something like what he described. She came to the front desk & opened the door & my camera bag was sitting right there where anyone could see!!! The manager would not even make an attempt to look for it & all along it was sitting right there in plain sight. VERY bad customer service on the managers part but thankful for the Supervisor who helped us. We were very upset needless to say,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear 154Annette,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed our recent renovations and found the hotel to be clean. We are sorry about the mixup with the item that you had left behind. Our team was aware of the bag being on the back counter but because of the size of the bag and because we didn't look inside of the bag, we didn't know this is what you were looking for. We appreciate your comments and will use your feedback to better the experience of our future guests. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#10 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 664 reviews
4.0 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#7 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway

Address: 331 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Days Inn Historic Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Comfort Inn Williamsburg Historic Area! Get in touch with a slice of history while basking in southern hospitality at the Comfort Inn(R) Williamsburg Historic Area hotel in Williamsburg, VA near Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens. Our non-smoking family hotel in Williamsburg puts guests within steps of popular attractions like: Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Williamsburg Prime Outlets, William and Mary, and Williamsburg Winery Get going with a great breakfast. Start your trip to Williamsburg with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. Soak up the sun on our patio deck or take a dip in our oversized seasonal outdoor pool. You can also break a sweat in our 24-hour fitness center or take care of family needs in our guest laundry facilities. All guest rooms offer a coffee maker, desk, sitting area, microwave, refrigerator, iron and board. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper, in-room tea and coffee and kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Days Inn Colonial
Days Inn Williamsburg Virginia
Days Inn Historic Williamsburg
Williamsburg Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.