We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid noisy rooms and enjoy this new hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Historic Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Days Inn Historic Area to your Saves list
Days Inn Historic Area
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   331 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
st. louis, mo
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Avoid noisy rooms and enjoy this new hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Spent several nights here while at a conference at the College of William & Mary. We chose this hotel based on the complimentary reviews on Tripadvisor, and as usual were not disappointed. This is not your average Days Inn (no offence, Days Inn!), and everything seems new and in tip top condition. The outside pool is pleasant, with an adequate seating area and plenty of towels provided. The fitness center is equipped with two treadmills only and one rowing machine, but they all work; I think they might usefully invest in an elliptical machine too.
The bedroom boasted a flat screen TV, easy chair and desk, and two very comfortable Queen beds. The bathroom was well equipped with toiletries, towels and hairdryer. There was no coffeemaker in the room, but coffee was available at all times from the breakfast area. Breakfast itself seemed the typical range for this type of hotel, from oatmeal and cereal to toast, pastries and fresh fruit. However, the presence of a new Denny's next door was too tempting, so we ate breakfast there each morning. In fact, this locality is blessed with numerous eateries, and several were within walking distance, including Cracker Barrel.
There's very little to complain about this new Days Inn, with its excellent parking outside and new facilities inside. The only drawback is a design fault of the architects' making and not the staff or even the other guests who cause the problem. We stayed off of the first floor corridor that leads from the breakfast room; that is one very noisy corridor! Guests probably don't realize how their voices carry, and the doors aren't thick enough to absorb enough of their sound waves! The only solution for those rooms is for the staff to post a sign or remind returning guests to lower their voices as they walk past those bedrooms. Tripadvisor guests who are light sleepers should ask to be accommodated anywhere but that corridor.
Finally, book early if you want to secure good rates. When I first researched the hotel, the nightly rate was approx. $80; by the time I booked it was closer to $140.

Room Tip: avoid the first floor rooms on the corridor leading from the breakfast area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    153
    36
    8
    4
See reviews for
208
162
11
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

All I can say is.. WOW! We walked into this property and we were blown away. The assistant general manager was at the desk training a new employee. He was very professional with her and with us. This property is very modern looking. From the very open foyer and large room with open areas for seating and the breakfast area with very large windows...very bright, to our room. We were even several hours ahead of check in, but got us in a room quickly. The room was very bright and cheery, no way at all being drab and dark. Swimming pool, exercise room, and very close to restaurants and shopping, and only 1 mile to the Colonial Williamsburg area. Every area of this motel was very clean. Very nice, almost fancy, lighting in hallways, not dark at all. Very spacious bathroom. Everything modern looking, flat screen tv, a wardrobe, fridge and microwave, an upholstered chair and large work desk with chair. Very nice and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pool area entrance on bottom floor, if a close room is desired. Choose rooms 108 through125, but ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We got a deal on this hotel late one night (Hotels Tonight app) and the desk staff was very very nice. The remodel is attractive with lots of nice details, the beds comfy, and the hotel convenient. Only complaint was the breakfast - almost nothing healthy to eat, and the breakfast area was a total mess - both around the food and across all the tables. We'll stay again, but plan on eating out even though breakfast is free!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Days Inn Historic Area, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear pirategirlross,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I'm sorry that you didn't find anything healthy on our breakfast bar. We offer items like egg patties, kettle style oatmeal and yogurt. Please let me know what other healthier choice items were you looking for that we didn't offer. I would love to speak with you further. Please email me at dsmith@hmphotels.com. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southaven, MS, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed based on TripAdv reviews and found a great value! Very clean and good staff. Pool is very nice and well maintained. No harsh chemical feelings after swimming. Beds were very comfortable. Rooms do not have a closet but have a large closet/cabinet so there is a bit less room. Lighting is very good and room decor is bright. Breakfast was a little thin and had a fly problem the morning we ate but area was large with plenty of seating.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Days Inn Historic Area, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Dennis F,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay. We are glad that you found all that we had to offer to be a great value. At Days Inn our goal is to offer the "Best Value Under the Sun" and we are pleased that you found that. We are sorry to hear of the fly problem you experienced at breakfast time and appreciate you bringing it to our attention. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

First time visiting Virginia, went to my trusted site tripadvisor. Read the reviews, and the only thing I could say about this place, will only take one word, and that one word would be Excellent!!!!!!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 338.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Days Inn Historic Area, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear pokeurnose,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be "Excellent". We appreciate your business and hope that now you have seen all that there is to see & do in Virginia that you will come back to visit us again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding July 10th & 11th 2014. Hotel itself was clean & the renovations were great. The problem occurred after we left. We checked out & drove 15 minutes down the road when for some reason the thought occurred to me that I didn't remember seeing my camera case in awhile. I freaked out!! It is a very expensive camera. We called the hotel & they assured us they would look & call us right back...that did not happen. We drove back to the hotel & I asked the manager (wish I had got his name) if anyone had turned in a big black camera case...he said no..without so much as even looking. I then said *do you think someone could have put it in one of those cabinets behind you *? He again said no that anything of value would have been turned in to him. During this time my husband had found the cleaning/maintenance supervisor who told him she thought she saw something like what he described. She came to the front desk & opened the door & my camera bag was sitting right there where anyone could see!!! The manager would not even make an attempt to look for it & all along it was sitting right there in plain sight. VERY bad customer service on the managers part but thankful for the Supervisor who helped us. We were very upset needless to say,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Days Inn Historic Area, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear 154Annette,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed our recent renovations and found the hotel to be clean. We are sorry about the mixup with the item that you had left behind. Our team was aware of the bag being on the back counter but because of the size of the bag and because we didn't look inside of the bag, we didn't know this is what you were looking for. We appreciate your comments and will use your feedback to better the experience of our future guests. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed three nights at this hotel in early July based on the recommendation of reviews here and we were not disappointed! We were in town to visit the Historic Triangle and logistically speaking, this hotel is perfectly located between to the Colonial downtown and restaurants/shopping. The renovation is a top notch with a nice modern furnished lobby and room. The morning breakfast rush was crowded but the employee working was very much visible and on top of guest needs. My nephew enjoyed making his own waffles.

Additional plus marks: coin operated washer/dryer; outdoor pool open until 10p.

My only complaint is that I wish the room had a safe seeing as we were there for multiple nights it would've been nice to have somewhere to keep valuables during the day. Instead we put our electronics in the car with us wherever we went.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay there again .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Days Inn Historic Area, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Meredith J,

Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased that you found us to be the nicest Days Inn that you have ever stayed at. As you mentioned we are conveniently located about 1 mile from the Colonial Williamsburg Visitor's Center and we have about 25 different restaurants within a 2 mile radius. We hope you will keep us in mind anytime you visit the area in the future. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Historic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Historic Area

Address: 331 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Historic Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated property completed June 2013 featuring Queen or King beds with microfridges in all rooms. Only 1 mile from Colonial Williamsburg & 5 miles from Busch Gardens. Enjoy a deluxe complimentary breakfast each morning, free WiFi and a seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Historic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Days Inn Williamsburg Virginia
Days Inn Colonial
Days Inn Historic Williamsburg
Williamsburg Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Historic Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.