We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It sure don't look like your fathers Days Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Historic Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Historic Area to your Saves list
Days Inn Historic Area
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   331 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“It sure don't look like your fathers Days Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

From the outside, this place looks like a standard Days Inn. But looks are deceiving. After a recent renovation, the lobby is very impressive from an architectural point of view. But the renovation has left the hotel with a sort of funky layout. If you need to use the elevator, it's located near the back of the property which requires a bit of a walk from the lobby. But that's a small beef. The rooms were large, bright and painted in a unique avant-garde style. The wi-fi was great and the beds were comfortable. We found David Smith, the General Manager to be very upbeat and friendly and a manager who will go out of this way to keep the guests happy. The breakfast area is very large, bright and cheery. While the main breakfast items are carb related, they were fine. My only suggesting is that the standard plastic knives and forks are so small and flimsy, it's almost impossible to cut a waffle. I would like to see all free breakfast hotels/motels add a buck on my room tab so they could upgrade their plastic knives and forks to something more substantial that you can actually use. The Days Inn is an excellent choice for visitors to Williamsburg who want to save a few rubles on their travel tab.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Days Inn Historic Area, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Retired1811,

Thank you for your kind words. What an awesome review heading! We are glad that you found our hotel to be nothing like the normal Days Inn. Shortly after opening a few months ago, we received the Days Inn Renovation of the Year Award. Our goal is to be the "Best Value Under the Sun" and we are glad that you found us to be an excellent choice for visitors coming to Historic Williamsburg. We are pleased to announce that Days Inn Worldwide is restructuring the breakfast menu at all hotels and will be a "Healthier Choice" by April 30th. We hope that you will come back to see the process. Thank you for your business and please keep us in mind in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    167
    38
    9
    4
See reviews for
219
179
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
LaGrange, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We tried this hotel based on price, proximity and the fact that we had found a great coupon at the Virginia Welcome Center. We were VERY pleased with this updated, clean and economical choice! The hotel is a short trip from Colonial Williamsburg. The staff was friendly and helpful. If in the area again, we would definitely return.

Room Tip: We were in the first room on the first floor, as you leave the lobby. The head of the beds backs up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Days Inn Historic Area, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear abakeraday,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We are glad to hear that you were very pleased with your accommodations. The HMP Design Group did a magnificent job with the renovations of the hotel and we are glad to hear that our guests love the new surroundings. Thank you again for your business and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We saved $15 a night booking this at the last minute. Clean, reasonably convenient to attractions. This was in shoulder season, peak seasons usually don't give this flexibility. Now quite finished, so they're still adding some cosmetic stuff to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Days Inn Historic Area, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Don H,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our recently reopened hotel. Our goal is to provide the "Best Value Under the Sun" and we are glad that you found that during your recent stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I would have to say I truly enjoyed my stay. Nice, clean, and updated. I would come back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Days Inn Historic Area, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Latanya W,

Thank you for taking time out to let us know of your experience. We are glad that this was the best stay you have had. Our newly renovated hotel and hospitable team awaits visitors and are ready to host you and your family anytime you are in the area. Our team strives for a perfect five rating and we would love to know what we can do differently next time. Please email me at dsmith@hmphotels.com. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I haven't stayed at Day's Inn for years and I was not inclined to go again. But we heard it chances and decided to try staying three again. It was amazing! Clean, comfortable, great decor, and most importantly (to me) an easy to control, quiet air conditioner/heater and a brightly lit bathroom. We will be back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Days Inn Historic Area, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear landrlane,

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you were surprised at the hotel accommodations you received. Having a quiet air conditioner is very key to a good night sleep and we are glad that you received just that. We hope that we have become your new home away from home while visiting Historic Williamsburg. If you plan to stay in the area again, please let us know. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Historic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Historic Area

Address: 331 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#10 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Historic Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated property completed June 2013 featuring Queen or King beds with microfridges in all rooms. Only 1 mile from Colonial Williamsburg & 5 miles from Busch Gardens. Enjoy a deluxe complimentary breakfast each morning, free WiFi and a seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Historic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Days Inn Williamsburg Virginia
Days Inn Colonial
Days Inn Historic Williamsburg
Williamsburg Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Historic Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.