We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Value Place to Lay Your Head” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Bypass Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #28 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
1 review
“A Value Place to Lay Your Head”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel offered us a place to lay our heads after the day while visiting Williamsburg. Upon arrival, all of our ticket vouchers were ready and packaged in an envelope. The guys at the front desk were very laid back and down right cool. Overall the staff was polite. The price for the room was great, but the breakfast was less than stellar, it was free and you get what you pay for as far as that is concerned. The man who operated breakfast was clearly striving to do the best he could with what he's got to work with. He was trying to be accommodating and took some backlash from some guests for the food quality, which was not his fault. The dining area is too small to accommodate an almost full hotel. The rooms were a decent size, beds ok, only had one wash cloth for 3 people for 3 of the nights. The complementary toiletries are of poor quality, so I suggest you bring your own shampoo and soap, conditioner was ok.The internet service was terrible and I ended up using some unknown source nearby for that. The location was great to get to all of the Historic areas and other points of interest and there are plenty of places to eat nearby. During our stay there was a fire alarm that went off, waking me up and ceasing about 30 seconds after I awoke. My cause for concern is that we were never notified or awoken to evacuate and after reading other reviews during the same time of our stay, others were evacuated from the building. Did they only evacuate the 1st floor? Who knows, because we were never notified that anything had gone on during the night. It was a false alarm, which I found out in another review. On our last nigh there, our room key, would not let us into the building or our room and that was quickly handled by the front desk, but not a "sorry 'bout that" or "all fixed" from the attendant that night. Over all for the price we would stay here again, if you need luxury stay some where else. Our needs are pretty simple and this place was fine for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    125
    89
    41
    31
See reviews for
226
114
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

What started out as an okay stay, comfortable beds and big rooms, became a nightmare when the entire hotel had to be evacuated at 5:30am due to the fire alarms going off. As everyone rushed to grab their belongings scared for their life, there was no one around (I.e. hotel staff) to guide us safely out the building. Also, we never received an explanation after the fire department from York Town had came late and left within 10 minutes. When we got back inside we called the front desk and we were told it was a false alarm (wish they had of called us). So as we were extremely tired we ended up going back to sleep. So far, we have not received any notice if we are going to be compensated for that rude awakening and inconvenience. Thank God it wasn't a true emergency, but my family and I feel it should've been handled better by management and all guests should have been properly notified and addressed by the hotel staff after the fire department left. We unfortunately most likely will not be staying here again. I give 3 average stars for the cleanliness and comfortable beds, other than that, it was a nightmare of a night.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, NJ, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel staff was very accommodating. The hotel was clean. All the facilities were clean. We stayed for 4 nights and would return for the same stay or longer. Had teenagers with me and they fully enjoyed the stay too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the room itself was dirty, batroom sink leaked, no water pressure, bed was hard, use 5 cans of lysol to spray room, a/c didnt cool right. the assocaites were all nice and freindly would try an make your stay as good as they could, breakfast they need to work on. hold owner/ mangement accountably for the issues

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is our second stay in as many years at the Best Western PLUS Historic Area Inn. It is close to so many great eateries and all of the Williamsburg attractions. Brought our 80+ parents/in-laws for first time. They loved the hotel, they remarked on the daily breakfast and overall quietness of the hotel. We will be back again next year for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg VA, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Check out was at 11:00 am, at 9:00 am maid service was trying to get in our room to clean. We were just getting up. They should check with the front desk to see what rooms they could get in to do cleaning. I paid for the room until 11:00 am and would like to get up when I want to, not because maid service wants to clean the room. We arrived at noon the day before and the front desk told us no rooms would be ready until 3:00 pm. I would not recommend anyone staying at this hotel. There are plenty of hotels close by that I would choose.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your review and we do apologize for housekeeping coming to your door at 9am. In order for us to have rooms ready and available at check in time or to accommodate anyone who would like to check in earlier, housekeeping starts checking which rooms have left at approx. 9am. We understand your frustration and apologize but this is common procedure at any hotel. Thank you again for making us aware of the difficulties you experienced, we do appreciate your business.
Thank you
Bill AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great experience at this location. All of the staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The location was central to many amenities in the area. This location was very clean, breakfast was well done each morning and the cookies at night were a bonus after a long day! Would definitely recommend this location to family and friends and I would bring my family back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you very much for the very kind review, always good to hear positive feedback. The cookies are always a hit and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed our breakfast. We hope to see you and your family again soon, thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn

Address: 201 Bypass Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#24 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Williamsburg. The hotel is within walking distance to several restaurants. All rooms come with a microwave and refrigerator. Continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Best Western Williamsburg
Waller Mills Inn
Williamsburg Best Western
Waller Mill Inn Williamsburg Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.