We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Bypass Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #28 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
Blandon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed for two nights. We were pleasantly surprised on the cleanliness and helpfulness of the staff. The hotel is close to everything! Check in was fast and friendly. Staff called the first evening to see if the room was ok and it was. Our room had a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Maid did forget to retock the coffee. That was not a problem however as there was plenty in the lobby and at the continental breakfast. I am sure the staff would have been more than happy to replenish if we would have ask.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your response! It is always good to hear positive responses and that we are doing things right. Please come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    125
    88
    41
    31
See reviews for
225
114
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, Maryland, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed for three nights to spend Thanksgiving in Williamsburg. Hotel is about 1 mile from the Visitor Center. Check in was quick and easy, front desk clerk was equipped with directions and maps. Room had very nice amenities (coffee maker restocked with coffee each day, a microwave, and refrigerator). Plenty of places for dinner nearby, although something on site would be a bit more convenient, but really of no consequence. Breakfast was very nice...not a four course meal, but far nicer than a continental of muffin and coffee. Selection ranged from self serve eggs and sausage, cereal, muffins, toasts, yogurt, fruit, and juices. Breakfast room attendant was very efficient and cheerful. Didn't have an opportunity to use the indoor pool, but it did look very inviting. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your review and it is very good to hear you enjoyed breakfast. We have made some small additions and revised a few things so good to hear we are headed in the right direction. Thank you again, come back and see us soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Brought a group here for overnight on a Williamsburg shopping weekend. Hotel was very comfortable after long day. Cookies at check-in. No complaints from 25 rooms that we occupied that night! That's good in my book.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your response regarding your stay. We appreciate the friendly comments and glad you enjoyed the cookies, hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend short vacation. The hotel is in a great location that's convenient to pretty much everything in the area. The morning front desk staff was VERY friendly. The later evening person at the front desk wasn't outright rude, but wasn't really friendly either. I encountered him twice...once at check in and again a couple nights later when our room key had quit working. He acted like he absolutely hated his job, was totally miserable, like he didn't want to be there, and he had no personality whatsoever. The maids did an OK job on the room, but never vacuumed once our entire stay. There were two small pieces of a candy wrapper that we dropped by accident the first evening. I didn't notice them until the next morning, and decided to just leave them there thinking they would get vacuumed up when the maid cleaned the room. I thought wrong. They were still there when we came back to the room that evening. I left them there (along with some other things I noticed on the floor) to see how long they would stay there. They stayed there during our ENTIRE stay. I guess it's hotel policy to not vacuum a room until a guest change?? And they would never take the "Please Clean" sign off the door. We would put it out each morning as we were leaving the room, and it would still be there in the evening when we would return...but the room was made up each day. Weird. I noticed one maid (I think she may have been the one in charge, but not sure) roll her eyes at us as we were leaving our room one morning. I guess we weren't getting out of the room early enough for her or something? We weren't checking out that morning...so it wasn't like they had to have the room ready for someone else by a certain time. Also, they were nowhere near done with our floor, so it's not like they had finished with all the rooms and would have to come back later in the day. They were actually working on the rooms directly beside ours as we were leaving. Whatever. On checkout day the fire alarm went off around 7:15am. We left our room to head downstairs, and just as our room door shut the alarm was turned off. Nice! At least I thought to take the room key with me. Never noticed any signs of fire or smoke, and the front desk girl made no mention of it (no sorry or anything) during checkout. Guess they wanted everyone to be up and checked out by a certain time, so they did a whole-building wake-up call. HA! We travel to the area fairly regularly, and have stayed at several of the hotels around town. This one wasn't the worst hotel we've ever stayed in, but I don't think we'd choose it again and probably wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your response and review of your recent stay. I apologize for the oversight by housekeeping, it is a requirement that all rooms are vacuumed each and everyday. We also apologize for the fire alarm. We were on the floors right away including routine stops by the exits to update guests. We called each room after the alarm was silenced in an attempt to check on every guest in the hotel. Once again thank you for your response and the inconvienances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I decided to go on a short fall getaway to Williamsburg. This hotel was very nice and close to Colonial Williamsburg. Clean, comfy bed, free breakfast, good size fridge and microwave in the room. The indoor pool was a plus this time of year. The staff was pleasant and friendly. We had to cut our stay short because of Sandy, and they were able to accommodate us. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

The only downside I'd mention is that sometimes the area around the elevator can become wet/slippery because of the pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your response, sorry the storm cut your stay short. Thankfully we did not experience any damage or outages in the area. If you get a chance come back and see us, its still a beautiful time of year here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonia, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We hadn't gone on a family vacation for many years since our sons were now grown. They wanted to visit Busch Gardens and the Historic Area again so we took them and their girlfriends this past July. The hotel was conveniently located, the rooms were very clean, the staff of high quality, and the breakfast excellent (variety of choices). And the rates were reasonable (a major consideration since we treated for three rooms)! Hated to have to leave. We would definitely return to this hotel. Thank you B-W for helping make our family vacation a memorable one.
Elaine R.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your response and glad we made your stay enjoyable, thats what we are here for. Come back and see us if you're in the area again, thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I checked in on a Thursday and will check out tomorrow, Monday. Our stay was very enjoyable. The room was clean, bed comfortable, and every single staff member we encountered was extremely polite and helpful. I'm not a big breakfast fan but my husband is and he was satisfied with the free breakfast. I did, however, enjoy the coffee every morning. We didn't bring bathing suits but will next time. We visited the pool area and it appeared to be well maintained and the water temperature was perfect. Wifi was a little slow but not anything that would deter us from staying again. I also wish the bed pillows weren't so small but it seems all the hotels we have stayed in have the smaller pillows these days. Overall I would rate this a hotel to definitely book in the future. We really, really enjoyed our stay! ~Mr. & Mrs. Williams

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhbgmanager, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you so much for the review, always good to hear that we are making someone's stay enjoyable. Hope you are able to stay with us again soon, we look forward to it, Williamsburg is beautiful this time of year.
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn

Address: 201 Bypass Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#24 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Williamsburg. The hotel is within walking distance to several restaurants. All rooms come with a microwave and refrigerator. Continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Best Western Williamsburg
Waller Mills Inn
Williamsburg Best Western
Waller Mill Inn Williamsburg Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;