We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cascades Motel

Cascades Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cascades Motel
Save
You added Cascades Motel to your Saves list
102 Visitor Center Drive, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Bluffton, SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“FABULOUS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Quaint and Quiet

First of all, if you are looking for "Hilton" amenities keep looking. If you are looking for peace and quiet look no further.
The Cascades is an annex of the Woodlands which is located on the Grounds of the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation "compound". It's a small motor-court style motel that was built in the 1950's that is usually used for overflow when the Woodlands is full. It's located in a quiet wooded area on the back of the property.
Most of the rooms are "smaller" but not dinky. If you ask for a corner room you will get a larger room with a sitting area. Usually they assign the corner rooms first. And if you still need more room just book two rooms because most of them join together, and they are so wonderfully priced that getting two rooms won't be a stretch.
What the Cascades doesn't have: WiFi (a five minute walk to the nicely appointed lobby will solve this), refrigerators (if you ask for one they will bring one to your room), microwaves, coffee makers (again....five min walk to the lobby), Wall mounted hair dryers (Some folks apparently can't live without this).
Otherwise the rooms are super clean and decorated nicely. The customer service is fabulous and they are quick to remedy any problem you have. The only problem we had was that the washing machine ate our quarters but they refunded our $2.00 promptly.
Another awesome amenity was the FREE HOT breakfast!
Usually its not even worth milling around to wait in line for a free breakfast, but here the breakfast is in the conference center (five min walk) so it's large enough for hundreds of guests. They have several buffet lines and at least 6 employees refilling and sprucing up after guests so you never have to wait around for more coffee or more scrambled eggs. Another thing that impressed me.... FOUR WAFFLE IRONS! Not only were there four waffle irons.... There was FRESH whipped cream, blueberries, strawberries and chocolate syrup to put on your waffle.... Did I mention the FRESH WHIPPED CREAM?
Overall our $68 (w/AAA discount. $80 without) a night at the Cascades was the find of a century! We were getting ready to plunk down $120 a night at the Holiday Inn. The only way we knew about the Cascades was because we saw it on the way out after a stop at the Williamsburg Visitors Center. We decided to go in to the Woodlands to see if they had any rooms available here and we were glad we did because I had checked online for prices at the "official" Colonial Williamsburg hotels but the prices were much higher. So my suggestion, if you want to stay in any of the Williamsburg Foundation hotels, is to call (on the telephone) to reserve them. Because the prices online are 100% higher than if you call or physically go in.
One last thing... The little shampoos and soaps they have in the rooms are THE BEST! They are from "The Spa" at colonial Williamsburg and will rival any found at the Hilton or Four Seasons! Especially the soap, it was a lovely oatmeal "French milled" type of fancy soap.... Totally awesome!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pikeville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

For all intents and purposes, this is the Cascades Motel "section" of the Williamsburg Woodlands Hotel & Conference Center. These remaining single story units were once part of a now-defunct Colonial Williamsburg-owned property called the Motor House, which opened in 1957. These rooms are certainly not new, but they have a unique charm all their own. They are very clean with knotty pine paneling, plaid bedspreads, bay windows and are very spacious. The bathrooms are original but well-maintained and replete with deluxe toiletries. All the amenities are here--clock radios, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, etc. All in all, these rooms are a great value and all the amenities of the Woodlands are included. It was a wonderful experience and I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goffstown
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Have been coming to Williamsburg for more than 50 years as both a child, young adult and now as an older adult. If you have a pet as we do then there is no better place to stay then the Cascades Motel at the Visitor Center. It is quiet, priced right and the rooms are clean. The service is always great. We love it there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Wow, I can't believe that I stayed in the same place described by these other reviews. They make the Cascades sound so nice and quaint, but doesn't come close to our experience. We opened the door for the first time and smelled how musty the room was. I always bring Febreeze and put it to use right away. The beds were hard as rocks. We had reserved a room with one king bed and got a room with two double beds. The air conditioner cooled the room very well but sounded like a freight train every time it kicked on, especially during the night. The bathroom was in desparate need of an update. A hairdryer was provided but it was the wall mounted version, only it wasn't mounted on wall. It was stored in the closet. I had to lay it in the bathroom sink as the only plug was directly above the sink and there was no place to set it down. The separate faucets in the shower gave no direction of the correct way to turn the water on/off, which meant if you turned the hot water in the wrong direction you risked scalding yourself. I cannot complain about dust but the tv remote was filthy with grime from many past users. The continental breakfast was ok but there wasn't enough seating for the amount of guests. Sometimes the wait for an empty table was extensive. On the upside there was plenty of storage for clothes and suitcases. The location was central to attractions and the bus shuttle was very good. In closing I would say that the Cascades was not a good value. There are so many discount hotel chains located in the immediate vacinity that would have been a better choice for the same price.

Room Tip: Make your reservation for one of the more modern buildings of the Woodlands which is on the same gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for 4 nights had a great time. We stayed in a corner unit with two kids and a dog. It might not have been the Hilton but it was great for us since we had the dog. The second day we were there the toilet leaked water and the weather was so bad the power was out all over for a few hours. Called front desk they were going to move us over to the Woodlands only because we had a small dog. I really did want to move everything so I asked for a free night and they were happy to take care us. I don't think the Hilton would do that. Well the family has decided to stay there next year can't wait.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

If you are looking for a low priced place and don't need lots of frills this is the place. Not perfect though! The place is pet friendly and although we didn't have a dog for a neighbor, some of the other units had barking dogs so I pity anyone trying to sleep next to them. It rained a lot when we were there and when we returned from a day at Busch Gardens, water was leaking on our kids bed from the ceiling! Management switched us easily to another room...so no harm no foul. The beds are FIRM but I LIKE that!! No Wi-Fi and no flat screen TV. However, if you are just there to spend the night it is good. Good breakfast too. Yes, I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Request one not next to a dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

If you don't care too much about aesthetics, this place is great. It is very quiet, shares grounds with much "nicer" Woodlands Hotel (just located a short walk in back of it) which means you share pool, playground and other play areas as well as free breakfast with a different hot option every day. You park your car right in front of your room since this part is Motel style. A bit outdated but clean and very comfortable. Lots of closet space to store belongings and also there is good shower pressure. There is a tv and the rooms are air conditioned. The ONLY negative I found: hard beds! But my kids didn't mind them at all. Not exactly a romantic get away but it's great for a family get away not planning to spend too much time in the room.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cascades Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades Motel

Address: 102 Visitor Center Drive, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Cascades Hotel Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cascades Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.