We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“historic jamestown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Jamestowne

Historic Jamestowne
1368 Colonial Parkway, Williamsburg, VA 23081
757-856-1250
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 30 Attractions in Williamsburg
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic Jamestowne is the original site of the first permanent English settlement in America. Ongoing archaeology at the site of James Fort has changed our understanding of the struggles and triumphs of early 1600s life in Virginia. Living history programs and an archaeology museum tell the story of this dramatic rediscovery. The site is jointly administered by the National Park Service and The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation on behalf of Preservation Virginia.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“historic jamestown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

this is the 2nd time i been there in 40 yrs! i liked the findings it has recovered and the tour guide was very knowledgeable!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,154
    351
    71
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“history comes alive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Kept a 13 year old and 17 year old very involved and informed about American history. They enjoyed the drive around the island as well as talking to the archaeologists working on a dig.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“A nice historic experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My boys enjoyed the Jamestwon experience. The actual site was relatively small but gave them a look into 17th century life of early settlers. You'll also enjoy the free ferry ride right outside the park's gates on a nice day. We then took the Colonial Highway - which begins right at Jamestown - to Yorktown. It's a beutiful drive.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“James Town should be your next destination.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

It's an awesome place to be. Jamestown, Yorktown and Williamsburg are near each other, so there are plenty of things to see and do! It swems a gregt place for children to learn some history and have fun. I've been to almost all national park sites in VA, and this
place is one of the best in VA. Start to make a plan for this weekend to visit all three of awesome towns!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
146 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
369 helpful votes 369 helpful votes
“Scenic historical spot....but don't lose sleep if you skip it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Historic Jamestowne is the actual site of the first English colony and ground zero for all the legendary stories of Pocahontas, John Smith, etc. The grounds are vast and you could spend a half day walking out and about the entire site--I couldn't because I'd be bored stiff. Bring plenty of water, hats, and sunscreen if you do or you'll fry out there. The visitor center where you start has a decent museum area and an introductory movie that is very informative and dispels a lot of the myths surrounding the place. There is an entry fee, but our family got in free because one of our party had a handicap person's national park card. They also have free scooters for handicapped individuals which is a very nice consideration. I would've been really disappointed if we had to pay because although the area is scenic and there are some interesting archaeological sites and old structures, it's not THAT intriguing. There's a really old church and part of an old wooden stick fence in the town center. I think the legacy is interesting but the actual site is just kind of empty. There's simply not much there to see. The kids were completely bored, and frankly, after awhile walking out in the sun, so were the adults. We're not haters of historical sites but this one is just sparse. We also went to see the glass blowing on the island which is free. That's worth 10 minutes of your time. Jamestown Settlement is the museum down the road and is completely different than historic Jamestown. The Settlement has another museum, an Indian village, and boats. It's much more hands on and the more interesting place for families with kids.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Jamestowne also viewed

 

Been to Historic Jamestowne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Jamestowne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.