We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great History” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Jamestowne

Historic Jamestowne
1368 Colonial Parkway, Williamsburg, VA 23081
757-856-1250
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 30 Attractions in Williamsburg
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic Jamestowne is the original site of the first permanent English settlement in America. Ongoing archaeology at the site of James Fort has changed our understanding of the struggles and triumphs of early 1600s life in Virginia. Living history programs and an archaeology museum tell the story of this dramatic rediscovery. The site is jointly administered by the National Park Service and The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation on behalf of Preservation Virginia.
Jasper
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

At Jamestowne they had many ruines where the original buildings had been. The best part was the ships which you were allowed to board. The museum was interesting. The remains of "Jane", as well as the reproduction of her head was really interesting. One wonders what she died of.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,160
    353
    71
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flesherton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“An historical gem - the actual archeological site of Jamestown.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I find these reviews to be somewhat confusing as there are actually two sites to visit at Jamestown, one being the actual site of the Jamestown settlement which is an ongoing archeological dig. The other is a reproduction. We visited only the original which is composed only of a church undergoing restoration, a rebuilt portion of the original wall, the location of a number of graves and the foundations of many of the original buildings. As a history major with some prior knowledge of the tragic story of Jamestown I found this visit fascinating. What made it fascinating for myself and the other three members of our group was the very comprehensive knowledge of our guide. He had post-graduate education in archeology. All the information he offered was very well supported but he was ready to admit that archeological "facts" often are changeable as more information is unearthed. I believe the tour to be an absolute necessity but would not recommend it for children. It is very detailed and there well supported allegations of cannibalism having occurred at Jamestown. This site and tour may not be for everyone, but I loved it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
138 attraction reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Take the Park Ranger Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was especially interesting because we were led by a Park Ranger with a very dynamic personality and thorough knowledge of the early Jamestown Settlement. The visitor center was very nice, with lots of information as well. There is renovation underway on the early church, but the other structures are well-maintained and interesting.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home school days dazzled”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Jamestown facility is clean, remodeled, and worthy of long, return visits. Perhaps the most telling difference is that they provided classes for the different age groups, and we were very fortunate with the docents. Knowledgeable, engaging, personable, and very importantly, they held the attention of my two ADHD darlings for hours.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Michigan
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Worthwhile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Best part of our week long trip. The history and sights to see were wonderful. The volunteer, Judy, at the desk was so knowledgeable. Mr. Heslip confronted us in the fort and gave us so much information about the archaeology. The woman working in the archaelogical building was another big help. We ate at the little cafe and had a great day. Cannot begin to say enough about this great historical spot.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Jamestowne also viewed

 

Been to Historic Jamestowne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Jamestowne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.