We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate, plush room and bath; welcoming hostess, excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Rose

Liberty Rose
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Liberty Rose
1025 Jamestown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 26 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
NJ
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Immaculate, plush room and bath; welcoming hostess, excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

My husband and I stayed three nights and enjoyed the convenient (driving) proximity to colonial Williamsburg and some good golf courses. The owner, Sandy, was friendly, had suggestions for dining, made great breakfasts, and made us feel welcome without being overbearing. Although Liberty Rose is on a seemingly busy street, it was very quiet in our first floor room. We stayed in the Rose Victoria bedroom, one of the pricier rooms with a very large bath. The room and bath were immaculate, linens were lovely. The period furnishings were a little fussy, but overall fun. On a rainy day, it was great to have access to the large sitting room. While pricey, this was a unique experience that really beat staying at any chain hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Metro
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

This is a beautiful inn; the breakfasts were sufficiently "unique" while also appealing to diverse tastes and preferences; the room was exceptionally appointed and clean. The only complaint that we had is that the breakfast room is a bit tight and its small size forces interaction and small talk such that opting out is obvious and rude. Sandy is a fantastic host and goes out of her way to ensure that guests feel welcome and at home. The location is just on the edge of the university district, but we enjoyed tranquility and silence each evening -- there were no drunken or rowdy/loud students. While not exactly walkable to all of WB's main attractions, practically everything is a 10-20 minute drive from the inn. Its decor does lean a bit toward the "stuffy" and mildly impractical aesthetics of Victorian England, but overall it's much better than any of the tourist traps that abound in WB.

  • Liked — peace and quiet
  • Disliked — cramped breakfast quarters
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

My husband and I took my mother as a belated Mother's Day to Williamsburg, VA and stayed two nights at the Liberty Rose. We highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast. From the moment you walk in the door and greeted by Sandi, who is charming, to the gorgeous house, gardens and delicious breakfasts; you are in an environment of relaxation and comfort.

  • Liked — Clean, delicious food, friendly innkeeper
  • Disliked — We had to leave...
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2007

If you are looking for the most delicious breakfast, most comfortable beds, great company and terrific location to Colonial Williamsburg there is no need to look any further than Liberty Rose. I have stayed here twice in 2007 and plan to stay here every time I have a future trip to Williamsburg - if they don't have a room, I will not be in town!!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2003

Absolutely beautiful. Exceptionally elegant with surroundings of comfort and luxury. One cannot help but feel like royalty in such elegance and service. The breakfasts were delicious and attractive with generous portions. A perfect place to stay while in Williamsburg. I can easily see why it has a four diamond rating!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Liberty Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Rose

Address: 1025 Jamestown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Williamsburg's only Four Diamond Award B&B on the hill is celebrating 25 years! Comfortable, welcoming and romantic luxury, Plush beds, Delightful service, Charming gardens and swings! Professionally decorated with great ideas to return home with! TV/VCR movies, Chocolate filled antique jars and soft drinks always available and a delicious breakfast worth getting up for! Be Our Guest...Stay Awhile! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liberty Rose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Liberty Rose to your Saves list