We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Rose

Liberty Rose
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Liberty Rose
Save
You added Liberty Rose to your Saves list
1025 Jamestown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 26 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This B&B was perhaps the most beautiful one I've ever stayed in. The furniture was superbly appointed, the bedrooms have ample towels, luxurious sheets and comfy pillows, robes, wine glasses, videos for the DVD player and several places to lounge. We couldn't have asked for anything more. The yard was gorgeous, and my daughter and I swung on the tree swing. We had two rooms--one for my husband and I and one for our daughter. We got a peek at all the other rooms and each was nicer than the next.

Although the breakfasts were beautifully prepared, they were a little heavy. Be prepared to ingest lots of fats and carbs (i.e. french toast made with croissants and bacon on the side.) Maybe its a Southern thing...

Sandy, the proprietress, was lovely and aims to please. This experience was of exceptional value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

The house is beautiful with just a few rooms. Christmas decorations were going up, and things were warm and inviting. The room looked nice and the bathroom was very nice and roomy, cool clawfoot tub. Breakfast was great. Croissant french toast was delicious. Location is away from historic Williamsburg, not quite walking distance after all the walking one does at the Site. The But is that there was a dead animal in the walls of the room and the room smelled. The room should have been closed, not rented. This was Thanksgiving, 2010.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Beautiful and charming are the best words to describe this bed and breakfast. Our room was the Suite Williamburg considered the best room in the house but I took a peak at all the rooms and they were all beautiful. We stayed there just before Christmas and the whole house was decorated, we even a had Christmas tree in our room! Breakfast was delicous and different every day. Sandy was a knowledgable and friendly hostess. The only compaint is the mattress is a bit lumpy. Next vacation to Williamsburg we'll definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed in the Savannah room (the smallest one?). Trying to treat ourselves while not going overboard with cost. We should have treated ourselves more to a larger room. Loved the decor and room, just missed having a shower. I am not a tub person and that is all that we had. We took a look at the room next door and it was amazing. As woman I loved the decor and atmosphere, my husband found it a bit too victorian for him but he was very happy that I was happy. Absolutely most comfortable bed and sheets, blankets we ever had. We had to go home and try to buy ones like them for our bed. Were able to watch movies in our room. Very quiet, never heard any noises in the house. Really first experience with a B&B and it changed my view of traveling, now I look for them. The food was outstanding, really felt we were eating at a 5 star place. Hostess, Sandi, was so friendly and helpful. Asked what we wanted for breakfast the next day and we loved that. Felt if we wanted to have something less gourmet (which thank goodness we didn't so it was so good), she would accommodate our request. Overall, stay here and treat yourself.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at the gorgeous Liberty Rose B&B. I could see as soon as I entered this intimate guest house that it had a designer's/decorated touch. So many special objets d'art everywhere -- and each one fitting the Victoriana atmosphere. The owner/hostess is a most charming and accommodating lady and serves a sumptious, delicious breakfast each morning. The menu is by the staircase the night before so you can leave her a note if there is something you don't like. She will arrange tickets to Williamsburg for you and will point you in all the right directions. The rooms are like suites and have an elegance befitting a special-occasion trip, yet the price is most reasonable. The garden is lovely and I can imagine a wedding there or some other special event. The B&B is conveniently located a few miles from the center of the colonial area and very close to the College of William and Mary. I cannot imagine a more wonderful place to stay while visiting Williamsburg and I recommend it most highly! from Lee-Alison Sibley, Great Falls, VA

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

My wife & enjoyed our 28th wedding anniversary for 3 nights at this 4 bedroom B & B.
Each bedroom is decorated differently but elegantly. We stayed in the Suite Williamsburg which had a 4 poster antique canapy bed that was extremely comfortable. Our room/suite had two antique chairs, an antique sofa, a writing table, and a modern bathroom that had both a great shower and a claw bathtub. The decorations were fun, wimsicial, and arty. There is a TV and it is enclosed in a cabinet made to look like a doll house. There are no phones in any of the bedrooms. The B & B also had a living room with a piano and sofas, as well as, a sunroom where made to order breakfasts were served each morning. Sandi, the innkeeper, posts the breakfast alternatives the night before on a little stand in the foyer, and asks each guest to let her know if there is something else they would like. Since we stayed the first 3 days of October the house was decorated with some terrific Halloween dolls & decorations. Very artistic & wimsical. One other thing, Liberty Rose also has a great backyard & patio where my wife and I sat early each evening and shared wine, cheese, and the wonderful ambience. The B & B
is very conveniently located to Colonial Willamsburg and Jamestown. If you're looking
for a special and maybe romantic place to stay, you will be pleased you selected Liberty Rose.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

Highly reccommend the Liberty Rose. Beautiful house decorated with lovely antiques. Warm style. Sandi, the owner, is pleasant to chat with and makes you feel at home. We stayed in the Rose suite on the first level. Can hear guests above but just barely. Would stay in same room again though it is a bit dark. Very comfy bed and linens. Large bathroom. Towels weren't so great but robes were nice. Website photos are accurate. Backyard is lovely. Breakfast was delicious. Easy five minute drive to Colonial Wburg. We plan to return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Liberty Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Rose

Address: 1025 Jamestown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Williamsburg's only Four Diamond Award B&B on the hill is celebrating 25 years! Comfortable, welcoming and romantic luxury, Plush beds, Delightful service, Charming gardens and swings! Professionally decorated with great ideas to return home with! TV/VCR movies, Chocolate filled antique jars and soft drinks always available and a delicious breakfast worth getting up for! Be Our Guest...Stay Awhile! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liberty Rose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.