We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waynesboro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
607 Oak Avenue, Waynesboro, VA 22980   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Waynesboro B&B and Inns
Bishops Stortford
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Highly recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here one night as a convenient stop whilst travelling on the I81 to Philadelphia.The accommodation is Five Star, immaculate, clean and comfortable in a quiet setting. The food was excellent and Jim and Kay do everything they can to make you feel welcome including giving us very good advice about places to visit.
The house is tastefully and beautifully decorated, full of interesting artefacts and has a real "Southern mansion" aura about it.
We would have liked to have stayed another night and would have no hesitation in recommending The Speckled Trout especially to any English people travelling through the U.S.A.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Owner at The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We enjoyed your visit and hope that you return! Thanks for the kind review...
Happy travels,
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
virginia beach,VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I chose The Speckled Trout for a relaxed weekend getaway in April 2013. The B&B is in a quiet residential neighborhood and the home is historic without feeling stuffy. Kay and Jim are excellent hosts and are really the reason to stay here. We were greeted with a fruit punch and a tour of the home, Jim's love of history and flyfishing are evident.We enjoyed our stay in the Quill Gordon room , the bed was extremely comfortable after a busy day exploring the area. Breakfast was delicious, we especially loved the apple puff! While in the area we explored downtown Charlottesville, several of the area wineries and hiked nearby Crabtree Falls. We highly recommend a stay with Jim and Kay if your travels take you through Waynesboro.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Owner at The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind words and review... we hope to see you again!
Jim@thespeckledtroutbb.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Traveling alone, I recently stayed for 2 nights in the Royal Coachman room. I got to see all the rooms; they are pretty online, but in person they are even more beautiful (as is the rest of the house). I was extremely comfortable and lacked for nothing. My room’s bathroom was just outside the room. At first I honestly was a little concerned as to how that would go, but once there, it clearly worked out just fine and I would not hesitate to do it again. Breakfast is delicious and relaxed. Kay and Jim are cut out for this kind of business; it just flows naturally for them. They are kind and gracious and conversational; however, you can tell they sense whether you would like more or less interaction and are just very comfortable hosting. I never feel too awkward traveling alone, although they went out of their way to make sure I felt like I had attention or company if I wanted it, which is always nice. It’s definitely not by chance that they are highly rated. This is the kind of place where you’ll start thinking about a return trip before you even leave.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Owner at The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Kathy-
A very kind review... thank you! We hope to see you again!
Thanks,
Jim & Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

On June 11, 2013, My wife and I stayed here with Jim and Kay on a recent trip on the Blue Ridge Parkway and Skyline Drive. We've stayed at several B&B before, and this was one of the better ones by far. The beds were soft and comfortable. This is a really nice place and pretty interesting also with a nice garden out back. Breakfast was a real treat and Jim and Kay couldn't have been more gracious. We will stay here again I'm sure. There's parking off the street in the rear, so it handy to unload your gear. The alley leading to the back has a sharp incline off the main road, so approach it slowly. This is a good stop for sure and you'll enjoy it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Owner at The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
You were wonderful guests and we hope to see you again! Thanks for the kind review!!
Jim@thespeckledtroutbb.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olean, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

As we approached the Speckled Trout B & B Kay came to the door and you'd have thought that we were long-lost friends. We were welcomed into the parlor to drink some very welcome lemonade and soon we were chatting like old friends. The house is richly decorated, beautiful without being frilly or fussy, and the sunroom looks out on the fabulous gardens in the back. We returned that evening for dessert and coffee (strawberry cheesecake - yum!) and more conversation. Bedroom, bathroom both immaculate and comfortable. During breakfast we talked with Jim, heard stories about their time in Alaska, and could tell how much both of them love having guests in their home. We've never felt so welcomed and comfortable in the approximately 2 dozen other B & Bs we've visited.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Owner at The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
You were wonderful guests and we look forward to your return!!
Thanks for the nice review...
Jim & Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lantzville, BC, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

If you are visiting Charlottesville or Stanton, VA, or taking the Skyline Drive through the Blue Ridge mountains, do yourself a huge favour and spend a couple of nights at the Speckled Trout B & B in Waynesboro. My wife and I to our regret only had one night to stay, but what a grand experience. Jim & Kay Hefner's home and hospitality is second to none. Our bedroom with ensuite was awesome, and my wife was intrigued by having to use the ladder to get up on an amazingly comfortable bed, with sheets fit for a queen. The B & B is in a really quiet suburb without a sound to disturb your sleep. Jim served us a wonderful breakfast of an Apple Puff and sausage - exquisite! Jim and Kay left us quiet time to enjoy breakfast, and then joined us for a chat. What an interesting pair - could have stayed all morning. Finally we had to break away after admiring all Jim's trout trophies and fishing rods and flies - his real passion! I warn of one downside of staying at this B & B - you will be forever spoiled for going anywhere else!

Room Tip: We checked out all the rooms - you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Owner at The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
You both were great guests and we loved your visit! Thanks for all the info on home exchanges. We hope the rest of your trip goes well...
Thanks for the wonderful review,
Jim & Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were at home here! great accommodations, clean, friendly, great food and every little detail to a great stay has been thought about. We will come back soon! We were provided a tour of the property before we even made it to our room. Tea and biscuits were in the seating area. Our bedroom was so nice that I had a wonderful night sleep and woke up feeling like a million bucks. i cannot tell you how hard that is to do in a new strand place, but like I had said it before...we were home.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Owner at The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We so enjoyed your visit and look forward to your return! Thanks for the kind review...
Jim & Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast

Address: 607 Oak Avenue, Waynesboro, VA 22980
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Waynesboro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Speckled Trout offers a quintessential bed and breakfast experience-an elegant home in a historic Waynesboro, Virginia neighborhood...luxurious guest rooms with vintage four poster beds...delicious gourmet breakfasts...beautiful gardens for outdoor relaxation. The home is decorated in the delightful Virginia Hunt Country Style; a blending of traditional furnishings and sporting themes that convey a refined sense of adventure and comfort. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.