We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of upscale in downtown Waynesboro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Leaf Grill

Green Leaf Grill
415 West Main Street, Waynesboro, VA 22980
540-949-4416
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 73 Restaurants in Waynesboro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A bit of upscale in downtown Waynesboro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were visiting Waynesboro to attend an open house at the Wildlife Center of Virginia and stopped in the Green Leaf Grill for lunch. What a great meal we had! The paninnis were terrific and I had some of the best sweet potato fries I've ever tasted. The wait staff were friendly and attentive. Undoubtedly the best meal of our four day trip.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    82
    25
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bucerias, Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We selected this restaurant based upon Trip Advisor reviews and a recommendation from the owner of a local B&B, where we stayed for the night. We dined there on a Friday night and the restaurant was very busy. Fortunately, we had made a reservation and didn't have to wait. Despite the crowd, the service was managed at an enjoyable pace. We specifically asked for space between courses and were pleased that our request could be accommodated. We were both very satisfied with our meals. As an added bonus, a musician played an acoustic guitar during our dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Virginia, USA
1 review
“Our Favorite Waynesboro Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Green Leaf Grill has quickly become our favorite area restaurant ....we usually eat there at least once a week, either lunch, dinner or brunch and have never been disappointed! Superior quality food, friendly, attentive wait staff in a relaxed atmosphere. One could not ask for more. Great value for the dollar as well. We would highly recommend Green Leaf for regular visits or special occasions. Chef Chris runs a tight ship and is a wizard in coming up with different weekly specials. Our personal favorites include the crab cakes, flat iron steak, encrusted tuna, pizza and specialty salads...and lets not forget their hand cut fries, both regular and sweet potato. Green Leaf offers an extensive menu that should satisfy any palette!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin,ohio
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Nice find in old Waynesboro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Saturday night was busy but lucky we had a reservation . Live music which was nice and seated at far end from music so we could hear each other. Service little slow at first but got better and server knew the menu fairly well. Really could have made a meal off of appetizers. Seafood gumbo and fried green tomatoes were good but have had better. BBQ pork rolls though we're excellent. Also had the drunken shrimp Po'Boy sandwich and that was right up there with New Orleans . Lots of people eating at the bar so looks like a locals spot. Parking was easy and prices were very reasonable / $50 for two with trip and a drink each. Would be ok for families but probably not on a Saturday. Peanut butter pie was excellent. Very light and fluffy which wasn't expected. Would go back for sure.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Green Leaf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had a very good meal at the Green Leaf on a Saturday night when we arrived in Waynesboro. The service was good, they were having a big chili cook off in town and had a music venue out in the back on the street. They have a diverse menu and had a solo guitar player in the restaurant. We love to hear live music so that was a big plus for us along with the good food.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Leaf Grill also viewed

 

Been to Green Leaf Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Leaf Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.