We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Gathering” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iris Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Iris Inn to your Saves list
Iris Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   191 Chinquapin Dr, Waynesboro, VA 22980   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Hiking Pamphlet
Ranked #1 of 6 Waynesboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
springfield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Family Gathering”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

My sister found the Iris Inn online and we made our first visit in the fall of 2008. Since then we have made two more visits to the Inn. Dave and Heidi make the Inn a very relaxing place with great food and accommodations. You can enjoy a glass of wine with cheese in the tower overlooking the valley below. You can nap or enjoy the many sights in the area. A great get-away for a night, weekend, or week. Many of my coworkers are now planning stays at the Inn as well. Great for a couple to get away from the city and relax.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    29
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
389
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Anna
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

My wife and I love to stay at B&Bs, to be able to explore and enjoy the surrounding locale. In this case the Iris Inn became the center piece of our two night stay.
We were greeted by Dave and his dog Katie, Katie escorted us to the room but no further than the threshold. As we found out Katie likes to have her ball thrown to her, over and over.
The Inn has a wide porch and balcony for sitting and viewing the woods and sunsets. We were also treated to deer foraging close to the Inn.
Dave and his wife Heidi have created a warm and friendly atmosphere that encourages conversation and relaxation. The food at breakfast time is filling and oh so tasty.
We are looking forward to a future visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

The Iris Inn has such a beautiful layout. It's like a large chalet. Dave,Heidi and Katie
where the best. The hospitality was awesome. We hope to return for a longer stay.
It was so peaceful that time seemed to stop. If the Shanondoah is your destiny the
the Iris Inn will not disappoint you.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Dave and Heidi were wonderful hosts and really made us feel at home in the Inn. Thanks for providing just what we needed. We really liked the Observation area on the 3rd floor as well as the hammock on the 2nd floor. The bed linens and towels were as refreshing as the warm shower. Thanks for accommodating us with an earlier breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

We recently spent two nights at the Iris Inn and found it to more than live up to all the great reviews. We drove by way of the Skyline Drive and arrived at the Inn just a short while once exiting the Shenandoah National Park. The location is perfect. Our hosts were extremely gracious and our breakfasts were outstanding. The "bottomless" cookie jar was also a treat.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

My brother and I had been planning a motorcycle trip for a long time. I was coming from FL and he from NH. Waynesboro was the closest place to halfway in between. When we settled on Waynesboro I searched the internet for a temporary home. We new we didn't want to stay in a Motel 6 box for a week. My search turned up this complete gem. The location is unbelievable, the Inn is beautiful, and Dave, Heidi, Ariel, and Katie are the best hosts you could ever want. I will be booking soon for next May to take my wife for our 31st anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

We have stayed in many an inn and bed and breakfast, but none any better than The Iris Inn. The room was exceptionally large, well appointed, clean and comfortable. Our hosts were friendly and went well beyond the norm in seeing that our needs were met. And save room for breakfast, it is worth the stay by itself.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Inn

Address: 191 Chinquapin Dr, Waynesboro, VA 22980
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Waynesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Iris Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1991 as a bed and breakfast, the Iris Inn has all the modern convenience of a new facility combined with traditional charm. With 9 different rooms and 6 cabins on over 11 wooded acres the Iris Inn has room for all your needs. WiFi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Iris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel Waynesboro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iris Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.