We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“29th Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iris Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Iris Inn to your Saves list
Iris Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   191 Chinquapin Dr, Waynesboro, VA 22980   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Hiking Pamphlet
Ranked #1 of 6 Waynesboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
virginia
1 review
“29th Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

This was a wonderful experience. The location in the woods was very restful. Our room was large and comfortable with our own peivate hot tub on a very private deck. Dave and Heidi were so friendly and made the experience very homey and comfortable. The breakfasts were prepared with great skill and we enjoyed them very much. You can tell they take a lot of pride in what they do and make you feel as if your a guest in their home. We also enjoyed the conversation with the other guests. I'm sure we will return for another visit.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    29
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
388
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Howard County
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

My wife and I spent the weekend at the Iris Inn for our Anniversary, and everything exceeded our expectations. Dave and Heidi are tru innkeepers who make your stay comfortable and private. The day we left we went to Skyline Drive - entrance is only minutes away - and camme home feeling like we had been gone for 2 weeks. It was a perfect anniversary getaway

Ed K

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

My sister and I had stayed in Sept 2008 and loved it. So in May of this year we had a family reunion there. The breakfasts were wonderful. they fixed a wonderful picnic lunch for us with a map of the wineries. Everyone was so relaxed and had a great time.
They made us feel like we were home. We all hated to leave. My sister and I are going back in Oct for another sisters vacation. We can't wait. I can not say enough of how wonderful the Inn is and how wonderful the owners were. This is a must place to stay.
pat.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

Beautiful setting back in the woods. Rooms were spacious and quite plus great sitting areas on the deck or inside. I would highly recommend this stay to friends and family. Breakfast was also wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocono Manor, Pa.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

Don't miss the chance of visiting the wonderful Iris Inn in the beautiful foothills of the Shenendoah Mountains. Quitely celebrating nature and offering an authentic feeling of warmth and welcome, the Inn and the Innkeepers will surprise and delight you. The main building is contemporary, airy in feeling and showcases long porches, hung with hammocks, gliders and inviting groupings of comfortable chairs. The porches "pull" you outside to just relax and drink in the serene woodland setting. Step inside and the soaring spaces continue with the lobby and the overhead library/loft. You will be drawn to the modern, sophisticated, tailored, yet "comfy-rustic" style of the Inn. You will have breakfast at 9:00 in front of the two-story fireplace, surrounded by vibrant original art and making conversation with the other delighted guests. Heidi is a wonderful and talented cook. The bonus is being able to watch her over the pass-through kitchen counter -just like home.The food is "out of this world" good, more than you would expect and a different tasty breakfast everyday, beautifully prepared. Go about your day. Then return in the evening to the main room for conversation and a glass of wine or to the loft where you can read and enjoy the soothing colors of the interior, the beautiful music, a good book and a comfortable chair or a game of scrabble. The perfect end to a busy day. All of the bedrooms are different, charming, well appointed without being "stuffy" and all you need is provided. Anything else you need? Ask Dave and he will oblige with a smile. You will always be greeted with his hello and warmth upon coming thru the door or in the halls. He is a "natural" in his role and duties of Innkeeper. All this is the Iris Inn Experience. I would be remiss if I didn't mention two integral features. Upon arriving you are not only greeted by Heidi and Dave, but first and foremost by Katie, the border collie and "official" welcoming committee. She is ready to play ball, so comply. After all the introductions, Heidi will turn to you and ask "What kind of cookies are your favorite-oatmeal or chocolate chip?" And the 24-hour cookie jar is filled with your favorites. Your visit at the Iris Inn starts just this way. Give yourself the "treat " of spending time at the Iris Inn the next time you are in Virginia.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkesburg,Pa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

We love this inn. My husband and I found it by accident last February as we were looking for a place to spend the night after viewing a beautiful sunset along the Skyline Drive. Dave and Heidi greeted up warmly and were so gracious, even providing a light supper.It was delightful to sit by the fire with a cup of coffee. The rooms are suberb, extremely comfortable (we/ve visited 3 times and stayed a different room each time), and the surrounding are lovely. There is so much to do and see in the area. We have returned 3 times and brought guests with us each time we returned. I know we will return again and again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

Dave and Heidi (and Katy!) give you a great welcome and the place is superb. Great place to relax as well as having access to the beautiful Skyline Drive if you want to exercise or just have a relaxing drive with spectacular views. Our only regret is that it is a long way from the UK!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Inn

Address: 191 Chinquapin Dr, Waynesboro, VA 22980
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Waynesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Iris Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1991 as a bed and breakfast, the Iris Inn has all the modern convenience of a new facility combined with traditional charm. With 9 different rooms and 6 cabins on over 11 wooded acres the Iris Inn has room for all your needs. WiFi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Iris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel Waynesboro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iris Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.