We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful and beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iris Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Iris Inn to your Saves list
Iris Inn
191 Chinquapin Dr, Waynesboro, VA 22980   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Waynesboro B&B and Inns
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Restful and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

We recently attended a seminar for prospective innkeepers at the Iris Inn. Innkeepers Heidi and Dave orchestrated everything beautifully, on schedule, and had a great meeting room for our group. Iris Inn is a peaceful, woodsy retreat, and we felt we were treated as friends. A perfect stay--from the 'over the top' breakfasts in the morning, to the heavenly bed at night.
Happy Travelers

  • Liked — great food
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    28
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
367
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Iris Inn for the first time this weekend. Our stay was fantastic, from the property itself to the wonderful breakfasts. The best part of the Inn is the staff, led by the Innkeepers Dave and Heidi Lanford. Everyone was friendly, informative, and just very nice. When in the area you should give this one a try - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

The Iris Inn has always been a favorite place to stay, and we were worried when the ownership changed hands. The new owners have been there a year, and on our first trip back we found that they have made the place even more desirable. They retained the same chef, and the breakfasts were remarkable as usual. The rooms are immaculate, and comfortable, and Dave and Heidi could not be more accomodating.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange park, fl
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

I would highly reccommend this facility to anyone. It was clean, the food was great, and the host's were tremendous.

  • Liked — Quality of the facility
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

My fiancee and I wanted to get away from the stressors of DC life to spend a little quiet time together before we left with our families for our destination wedding overseas. And the Irin Inn gave us exactly what we wanted and much more. The Inn is conveniently located near I-64 but somehow remains secluded in the trees, which provided a very peaceful and calming environment. Owners Dave and Heidi were absolutely wonderful as they checked us into our spacious cabin, described area attractions, and made recommendations for restaurants and vineyards based on our preferences. We ended up enjoying everything they suggested, including the South River restaurant in nearby Staunton - a definite must-go.

The Hawks Nest suite we picked was certainly impressive. The cabin was clean, inviting, and almost had more room than we needed. Heidi even took the time to warm-up the private hot tub for us!

Breakfast was a fantastic self-service buffet - complete with fresh fruit and bacon I could die for. Heidi also went the extra mile by packing a picnic lunch for us so we can eat at the vineyards we were visiting that day.

Go to the Iris Inn. You'll love it!

  • Liked — The private hot tub
  • Disliked — Very minor problem. But the room ran a little warm, and I kept having to adjust thermostat.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

My 2 girlfriends and I recently stayed at The Iris Inn for our annual weekend getaway. The inn is secluded in a wooded area yet easy access to the interstate. You almost feel like you've entered a lodge rather than a B & B when you walk through the front door. You immediately see the gorgeous floor-to-ceiling stone fireplace in the living area. Large windows are all throughout to give you the feel of being outdoors. There are porches on both levels with rocking chairs, swings, and tables as well as a 3-story firetower for sitting and relaxing. Heidi and Dave were so hospitable with their directions, restaurant recommendations, local info, and friendly conversations. We were even treated to some wine tastings. We also enjoyed playing ball with their cute, well-behaved border collie, Katie. All the rooms are very clean and beautifully decorated. We stayed in The Duck Room, which is decorated in that theme, and it comfortably accommodated the 3 of us with a queen bed and daybed. The breakfasts were delicious and included baked omelette, waffles, pancakes, eggs, bacon, ham, fresh fruit, and much more. Heidi and Dave were very gracious and eager to please. I would highly recommend The Iris Inn to anyone wanting to escape to the mountains to a beautiful, peaceful retreat and be pampered for a while.

  • Liked — Beautiful, clean accommodations and hospitality of innkeepers
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

7/21/2008 - My wife and I went on vacation for a week to Virginia. Just a get away (so to speak), wanted to see Montecello, maybe hike a bit of the AT in the Shenandoah National Park. We wanted something centrally located for these activities. The Iris Inn was perfect. Price was right, and the accomodations were way beyond our expectations. The Inn is more like a luxury hotel than a B&B. Trust me, that is not hyperbole!

The owners Dave and Heidi are some really nice people! They were very helpful with directions, advise on where to eat out. The Breakfast each morning was gourmet. Both my wife and I would give the Iris Inn five stars. Saw deer almost everyday. Beautiful, peaceful setting. We plan to stay at the Iris Inn again.

If you go be sure to plan on some fetch time with Katy, the resident border collie.

Vicki & Jim Cecil

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Inn

Address: 191 Chinquapin Dr, Waynesboro, VA 22980
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Waynesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1991 as a bed and breakfast, the Iris Inn has all the modern convenience of a new facility combined with traditional charm. With 9 different rooms in 3 buildings on over 11 wooded acres the Iris Inn has room for all your needs. WiFi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Iris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel Waynesboro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iris Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.