We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 8 Chains North

8 Chains North
38593 Daymont Lane, Waterford, VA 20197
571.439.2255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Waterford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 8 Chains North is a family-owned and -operated farm winery located in the town of Waterford in picturesque Loudoun County, Virginia. Owner and Winegrower Ben Renshaw's careful attention to viticulture reveals itself in our old-world-style wines -- rich, dry reds with supple tannins, and crisp, dry whites with lovely acidity. Come visit us in our spacious, comfortable Tasting Room and enjoy two tasting options -- wines only, or wines paired with handcrafted chocolate truffles. Take a seat on the patio overlooking the vineyard, or in cooler weather, warm up by the fireplace inside. We offer a lite fare menu or you may bring your own picnic. We welcome groups with advance reservations and can accommodate limos and buses (no party buses allowed.) 8 Chains North is pleased to welcome your well-behaved children and dogs.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This place is eclectic, in a good way. The decor is strange but interesting, as is the story of the name and the the description of the items inside. The wines are decent, I liked at least 2 of them (I'm a frequent visitor of Loudoun County wineries). I don't know that I would make it a destination though.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

My girlsfriends and I visited several wineries in Virginia. This one was the best. Christa, who gave us our wine tasting, was wonderful. She gave us detailed explanations about the wines and was lovely to talk to. The property is beautiful. I can't wait to go back and take my husband.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Small delightful vineyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

These guys are good, really good and we are really picky.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A must visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

8 Chains was a really nice winery. Our server was Dan the man and he made the experience very enjoyable. The day of our visit out on the covered patio there was a performer and wine tastings as well as inside the winery. I would diffently recommend a visit to this winery if you are in the area.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Another Virginia Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

This winery is wonderful. From the food to the wine to the service to the atmosphere, you are in for a treat at this new winery in Waterford. The ample tasting room complete with a baby grand piano makes you think you are home. There is a small amount of seating outback but word has it they are going to add a covered patio. We enjoyed the Furnace Mountain Red ( one glass led to two and we ended up buying a few bottles of it). Treat yourself to this new gem and enjoy their hospitality!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 8 Chains North also viewed

 
Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 

Been to 8 Chains North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 8 Chains North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.