We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people, good wine, picnicking allowed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Corcoran Vineyards

Corcoran Vineyards
14635 Corkys Farm Lane, Waterford, VA 20197
540-882-9073
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Attractions in Waterford
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Reston, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice people, good wine, picnicking allowed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I went with friends this weekend for a wine tasting, and we really enjoyed the winery. The wine was good, the pourer was knowledgeable and friendly. And best of all, they allowed us to bring our own food to the lovely picnic area under the trees, which is something many Northern Virginia wineries no longer allow on weekends. Also unique to this winery is that they have a brewery on the property, as well. We tried to check it out, but it was packed and close to closing time, so we made a note to come back. They had pulled pork bbq on the patio, which smelled amazing. Looking forward to going back!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hardy, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Oh such a great hidden place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We so enjoyed the brewery and wine tasting! The pulled pork was the best and prices were very reasonable! I can't wait to go back and take more family members.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“BBQ in VA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Made our way to the winery- note the gravel road- after a drive through the country in Loudon County. Hard to believe that we are so close to the developed suburbs of DC. The setting is very serene and well kept. We made our way to the brewery, which is the first stop on the way in from the main road. The place was very busy and it was apparent that the staff was just barely keeping up with the pace of the clients coming and going. Despite the fairly large crowd, we managed to snag a table outside and ordered a plate of BBQ. We shared a plate of two meats- pork and brisket. Both were flavorful, even if they were a bit dry. I took a few of the sauces- the angry sauce, the blackberry infused, the vinegar, and the chipotle. I passed on the raspberry which I thought was very sweet after taking a taste. Our verdict on the sauces: the angry sauce, advertised as very spicy, had the most flavor, the chipotle was mild heat with a good sweetness. I was pleasantly surprised with the vinegar, which had a great tang and was a great compliment to the dry meat. Our side was the Monks beans, a very tasty addition. Plenty to eat for two in the meal, and at a reasonable price. We washed down our meal with a pint of the kolsch and a pint of the Berlin lager- both nice, served cold in a real glass (maybe foolishly we were thinking that the beer would be served in plastic cups!). The beers were easy to drink on a hot day, refreshing and crisp. The staff were great- the girls at the BBQ table were a little flustered but kept a good attitude throughout the event. We did make our way to the winery, but elected to move on down the road after a quick look around the old house that serves as a tasting room. It was fairly crowded with a bus full of people who had just arrived. So no review of the winery although the house was interesting with low ceilings, wood floors, open beams in the walls and a nice setting. Maybe next time. Well worth a stop for good BBQ and a peaceful setting.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A great hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife found this little place out in the country, and we were so impressed we'll be back with friends next weekend. We didn't have their wine, but they are making some really great beers and they also have Monk's BBQ on site which was also very good.
You are going to a nice farm that has several small buildings. One is the brewery - tasting room. It's small so it gets a little crowded, but their servers know their beer and will give you tastings, or sell you a pint, or fill your growler. They had twelve beers on tap, which is pretty impressive when you see how small the place is. Their IPL (Imperial Pale Lager) was killer.
They also have outdoor seating which worked out well. We did a tasting, then got some BBQ and sat outside with a pint.
They seem to only be open on weekend afternoons. But what a great find.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Top Contributor
397 reviews 397 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Great Time and Great Wines!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Corcoran has a brewery (first stop and was really busy on the Sunday we visited) and then up the road is the winery. Yes it is a small building (built in the 1700x) but it makes for a very intimate and quaint experience. Not the big "commercial experience" you get at some of the larger wineries. The day we visited the staff had traded duties -- so the guys who work in the brewery were pouring wine and the winemaker was up in the brewery. The tasting pours were very generous! One of the owners (Jim Corcoran) was working at the wine pouring. Very fun owners! When we got there there was noone else there but within minutes the room was full (yes 15 people fill the room). Loved the wines! I really don't like red wines and I really liked the Raz and Blackjack. In fact I bought bottles of both of them. My husband really liked the Viognier and Apple Wine. We had a great time. The entrance road is gravel and we asked if we could contribute to the road improvement fund (lol). They are planning to fill in the potholes this week. Definately will go back to the winery and will try the brewery very soon! Note they are only open on Sat and Sun from 12-5.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corcoran Vineyards also viewed

Waterford, Loudoun County
Waterford, Loudoun County
 
Waterford, Loudoun County
Waterford, Loudoun County
 

Been to Corcoran Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corcoran Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.