We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time and Great Wines!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corcoran Vineyards

Corcoran Vineyards
14635 Corkys Farm Lane, Waterford, VA 20197
540-882-9073
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5 things to do in Waterford
Attraction details
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
486 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Great Time and Great Wines!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Corcoran has a brewery (first stop and was really busy on the Sunday we visited) and then up the road is the winery. Yes it is a small building (built in the 1700x) but it makes for a very intimate and quaint experience. Not the big "commercial experience" you get at some of the larger wineries. The day we visited the staff had traded duties -- so the guys who work in the brewery were pouring wine and the winemaker was up in the brewery. The tasting pours were very generous! One of the owners (Jim Corcoran) was working at the wine pouring. Very fun owners! When we got there there was noone else there but within minutes the room was full (yes 15 people fill the room). Loved the wines! I really don't like red wines and I really liked the Raz and Blackjack. In fact I bought bottles of both of them. My husband really liked the Viognier and Apple Wine. We had a great time. The entrance road is gravel and we asked if we could contribute to the road improvement fund (lol). They are planning to fill in the potholes this week. Definately will go back to the winery and will try the brewery very soon! Note they are only open on Sat and Sun from 12-5.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wine was ok; facility is too small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The wines here were decent though not the best I've had in the area. It is really not worth the visit because the facility is SO small. You are there for a tasting then moving on. There are only two tables and that takes up the whole space. More outside seating if the weather is ok. Bonus is you can also walk over to the brewery for food and tasting - if you don't mind mixing beer and wine!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
212 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Small Brewery, Decent Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

First visit to the Corcoran Brewery side of the vinyard/brewery after reading about it in the Washington Post. Quite a hike from Springfield, but very nice location out in the country after a small distance on a gravel road. They have a small a patio with about 10 tables, 3 or 4 with umbrellas, and Monk's bbq right there where you can get something to eat. Very nice, especially when the wx is nice. There is no place to sit inside the barn, just the counter where you order your beer, and a small shelf space inside where you can stand and sit a beer if you'd like. Check their Facebook for what they have on tap any given weekend. They also have a "regular" bathroom with flush toilet and sink, as well as a port-o-potty. Parking lot is just a gravel area with room for probably 30 cars or so. Real friendly folks, laid back, and small operation. Inside they have the normal t-shirts, etc for sale.

I tried the P-Ville Pale and Gray Ghost, $5 a pint - very good. Growlers are $19 I believe. You can also try a sampler of all the different beers they have on tap. Monk's served up pulled pork or chicken, brisket, ribs or pastrami when we were there. A sandwich was $8, a plate with one side (such as fritters, mac & cheese, fried pickles, home made chips, cole slaw, etc) was $10 (ribs were more), or you can get a plate with 2 or 3 meats for more. I hdad the pulled pork with salt & vinegar home made chips - pork was was excellent, chips were OK, not crispy like I prefer them but good flavor. They also have sodas to drink, or bottled water.

Nice relaxing setting, decent prices and very friendly folks at the brewery and Monks. Believe several establishments in the local area are planning to start carrying their beer soon if they don't already - Fire Works pizza, Tuscarora Mill, Magnolias at the Mill. Nice place for a change of pace.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“winery & brewery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Loved the place, the friendliness of the employees,the decorations just loved it. I loved their whites & reds. On the property they also have a brewery which was also great! Will definitely go back again

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great beer and good tasting experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

For the price of a tasting, you definitely get large pours of everything on tap, as well as bar snacks and a tiny beer glass to take home. The Padawan Pumpkin Ale is awesome (better than Sam Adams Octoberfest) and the Corky's Irish Red is good too. We got a growler of each. The tasting room staff is very knowledgeable about the beers and eager to please.

The only downside is that it is only open for five hours on Saturdays, and there were a few flies in the tasting room, although everything appeared very sanitary.

This is a relatively close stop if you have been to the Purcellville Farmer's Market and need some beer to go with your cheese/chips & salsa/sausage (definitely get some sausage from Lothar). Corcoran Brewing is totally worth a stop!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corcoran Vineyards also viewed

Waterford, Loudoun County
Waterford, Loudoun County
 
Waterford, Loudoun County
Waterford, Loudoun County
 

Been to Corcoran Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corcoran Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.