We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Brewery, Decent Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Corcoran Vineyards

Corcoran Vineyards
14635 Corkys Farm Lane, Waterford, VA 20197
540-882-9073
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 attractions in Waterford
Type: Wineries
Attraction Details
Aurora, Colorado
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Small Brewery, Decent Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

First visit to the Corcoran Brewery side of the vinyard/brewery after reading about it in the Washington Post. Quite a hike from Springfield, but very nice location out in the country after a small distance on a gravel road. They have a small a patio with about 10 tables, 3 or 4 with umbrellas, and Monk's bbq right there where you can get something to eat. Very nice, especially when the wx is nice. There is no place to sit inside the barn, just the counter where you order your beer, and a small shelf space inside where you can stand and sit a beer if you'd like. Check their Facebook for what they have on tap any given weekend. They also have a "regular" bathroom with flush toilet and sink, as well as a port-o-potty. Parking lot is just a gravel area with room for probably 30 cars or so. Real friendly folks, laid back, and small operation. Inside they have the normal t-shirts, etc for sale.

I tried the P-Ville Pale and Gray Ghost, $5 a pint - very good. Growlers are $19 I believe. You can also try a sampler of all the different beers they have on tap. Monk's served up pulled pork or chicken, brisket, ribs or pastrami when we were there. A sandwich was $8, a plate with one side (such as fritters, mac & cheese, fried pickles, home made chips, cole slaw, etc) was $10 (ribs were more), or you can get a plate with 2 or 3 meats for more. I hdad the pulled pork with salt & vinegar home made chips - pork was was excellent, chips were OK, not crispy like I prefer them but good flavor. They also have sodas to drink, or bottled water.

Nice relaxing setting, decent prices and very friendly folks at the brewery and Monks. Believe several establishments in the local area are planning to start carrying their beer soon if they don't already - Fire Works pizza, Tuscarora Mill, Magnolias at the Mill. Nice place for a change of pace.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“winery & brewery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Loved the place, the friendliness of the employees,the decorations just loved it. I loved their whites & reds. On the property they also have a brewery which was also great! Will definitely go back again

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great beer and good tasting experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

For the price of a tasting, you definitely get large pours of everything on tap, as well as bar snacks and a tiny beer glass to take home. The Padawan Pumpkin Ale is awesome (better than Sam Adams Octoberfest) and the Corky's Irish Red is good too. We got a growler of each. The tasting room staff is very knowledgeable about the beers and eager to please.

The only downside is that it is only open for five hours on Saturdays, and there were a few flies in the tasting room, although everything appeared very sanitary.

This is a relatively close stop if you have been to the Purcellville Farmer's Market and need some beer to go with your cheese/chips & salsa/sausage (definitely get some sausage from Lothar). Corcoran Brewing is totally worth a stop!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Awsome Winery and Brewery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

This was our 3 stop of the day and man was it worth it!!! The drive to the winery is just picture perfect and the wines and craft beers are very good as well. Staff super friendly and the guys found the brewery a nice change for the day! I would diffently return to both the winery and brewery. Both are worth a visit.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville,VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My favorite winery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

We met Lori and Jim Corcoran about 4 years ago in the tasting room that was at the time, being run out of the basement of their new home. We really enjoyed talking with them and were (pleasantly) surprised that ALL of their wines were not only very drinkable (they'd just opened) but actually really good!

The '04 Viognier was excellent. Their '06 Malbec is my current favorite and the Seyval Blanc is perfect for those sweet wine drinkers. Each year their wines grow more creative, complex and delicious.

The winery is now in a big new building. The setting is on a beautiful old farm with an original farm house and bar, a pond and views of rolling hills. And Jim, Lori and Corky are a lot of fun!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corcoran Vineyards also viewed

Purcellville, Loudoun County
Waterford, Loudoun County
 
Waterford, Loudoun County
Waterford, Loudoun County
 

Been to Corcoran Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corcoran Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Corcoran Vineyards to your Saves list