We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Inn has a historic elegance coupled with a very relaxed and charming country atmosphere"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Middleton Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Middleton Inn
Save
You added Middleton Inn to your Saves list
176 Main Street, PO Box 254, Washington, VA 22747   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3RD NIGHT FREE MIDWEEK!
Ranked #6 of 10 Washington B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“"The Inn has a historic elegance coupled with a very relaxed and charming country atmosphere"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

.
We throughly enjoyed our stay at the Middleton Inn. The Ascot room had a beautiful view of hillsides and mountains. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and we both slept very well. The grounds of the Inn are lovely. We especially enjoyed watching the two horses quietly munching hay in the late afternoon. We did not sample the wine and cheese the evening we arrived, but breakfast the next morning was delicious. Chef presented us with buttery ginger scones and tasty omelettes. No problems accomodating non-meat eaters. All in all a lovely and relaxing time. We will return!

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
87
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

I have stayed several times at the Middleton Inn and have always been very pleased with the service, staff and cleanliness of the Inn. The proprietor is on site and insures that no detail is overlooked.

The views are fabulous and the town is charming. There is also a pet-friendly cabin and guest house.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

The Middleton Inn sits on a small rise, surrounded by grassland. The peaceful setting is complimented by the tasteful interior. Our room had a very comfortable king bed, modern shower and bathroom, and lovely furniture which appeared to be antique. The service was very friendly and personal. The Chef welcomed us for breakfast with fresh cherry or ginger scones. It was a very pleasant and peaceful overnight stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

While visiting a friend in the area, I spent 6 wonderful and unforgettable nights at the Middleton Inn. The inn is in a beautiful setting and I felt good and welcoming just driving up the driveway. The views from everywhere were spectacular and warmth and charm were felt throughout the inn.

The attention to detail was incredible and the room was delightful and perfect. Each breakfast was delicious and the scones were a delight to look forward to each morning.

It felt as if all of the work around the inn was performed by magic.

I've stayed at many inns and beds and breakfasts and the Middleton Inn surpasses all of them by a wide margin.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Dining at what is purportedly the nation's (world's?) best restaurant brought my wife and I to the quaint town of Washington, VA, about a two-hour drive from our home in Maryland. Not being extremely familiar with the area, we decided to spend the night at a bed & breakfast to celebrate our anniversary along with the dinner. We searched the internet and based primarily on the great web-page of the Middleton Inn, decided to give it a shot. We arrived early, and after scoping out the town (taking all of 10 minutes) decided to see if we could check in early. The Inn is located on the top of a slight hill, and is a magnificent sight (most of the other inns in the area don't boast the character of the Middleton Inn and its property). We were greeted warmly by the innkeeper/owner Mary Ann Kuhn who, after making a quick check with the housekeeper, allowed us to check in early. The Inn is decorated beautifully, and is warm and welcoming. The decor is colonial, not a favorite of mine, but in this place, I loved it. Our room was also a wonderful enclave, with a queen size four-poster bed, and the room was quite large. The view of the Blue Ridge Mountains was spectacular (I would recommend getting a room with this view, if possible). The bathroom was large and well appointed with a little tub and shower enclosure. Even though the home itself is older, it did not suffer from lack of modern convience (i.e., many electrical outlets, air conditioning, modern bath). Contributing to all of the wonderful atmosphere of the place was Mary Ann herself. The Inn provides an afternoon wine and cheese serving, but my wife and I don't drink, so Mary Ann provided sparkling cider as an alternative. After arriving, I discovered that I had traveled without a coat and tie which I needed for dinner. We interrupted Mary Ann to ask about a fix, and she gave us wonderful suggestions and did all she could to assist us. Since I had to go grab a jacket. we missed the opportunity for our cider and cheese and Mary Ann took the cider up to our room for a treat we took advantage of after our dinner. After a wonderful night's rest (there is a turn-down service which makes you feel pretty special, not to mention the cushy terry bathrobes which are provided also), our stay at the Inn ended with a sumptiuos breakfast made by the "Chef" who turned out to be Mary Ann's husband. We were alone in the dining room, so were able to engage him in some great conversation while eating a terrific breakfast of scones, fresh fruit and yogurt, coffee, juice, and a wonderful egg dish (kind of a fritatta with eggs, bacon, potatoes, and cheese - great!!). The Inn is clean; the outside area well manicured (and includes several areas for quiet reflection - Adirondack chairs, cafe tables and chairs), and very, very picturesque. We liked it so much that as soon as we got back home we made reservations for the fall, which should boast spectacular views of the leaves changing on the mountains. This is the place to stay - the price is well worth it (especially considering that other places are much more expensive - it is hard to imagine having a better experience, so why pay more?!).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

We had an absolute ball at our little country "escape" this past weekend! Great food, great wine, great place all around! Washington is so quaint and charming and it really turned out to be the ultimate relaxing weekend, and such a great birthday present. All of our favorite things wrapped into one weekend! Jacuzzi tub, spa robes, amazing food, delicious wine, dogs, cats, horses, oh, you just can't get any better.

On Friday night, after the enjoyable wine and cheese that the owner had set out for us, we literally planted ourselves on their expansive front lawn to play catch with their two labs, Squire and Lacy. We had such a blast running around with them in our bare feet on freshly cut grass and then watching jaw dropping sunsets in blissful silence with champagne from two white chairs facing the moutains, and then also getting to know the two horses that come up to greet you each morning after your amazing breakfast of fancy omelettes and freshly grown fruit.

Saturday morning, we ventured out to Marriot Ranch in Hume, VA for two hours of horseback riding, where I was in heaven, although my butt still hurts.....and then hit Rappahannock Cellars to soak in the afternoon sun on their deck with cheese, crackers and yummy white wine.

We also discovered a great place to eat after our hikes that we go on in the Shenendoah National Park, the Thorton River Grille, at the recommendation of the Inn's owner. We went there for dinner on Saturday night and the beef tenderloin, fried goat cheese, and crab cakes were all amazing! Was fun to try out a quaint little place with amazing food, zero pretention, and really great prices for the quality of food that you got, along with creme brulee and hot crusty bread with powered sugar.

In the end, we got to really relax, find our smiles again that work stress had taken away, and just enjoy ourselves. Needless to say, I suggested we go back for one night in October of this year, we had such a great weekend!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

What a wonderful place to get away from it all; no TV, no cell service, perfect. Breakfast was really good. Service was tip-top. We enjoyed the views from the chairs on the front lawn. Drinks on the porch (both front and back) were a treat; we didn't hear a sound except the wind and the birds. The inn has a few pets (2 dogs and several cats) - all outside, but very friendly. Walking down a few blocks to see Little Washington was convenient and quiet. We enjoyed a nice simple lunch in the garden area behind the Stonyman Gourmet Farmer (on Gay Street). Local wineries and a visit to the Copper Fox Distillery (whiskey) in Sperryville are recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Middleton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middleton Inn

Address: 176 Main Street, PO Box 254, Washington, VA 22747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Middleton Inn, circa 1840, a Four Diamond award-winning luxury bed and breakfast inn located in the historic district of "Little" Washington, only two blocks from the famous restaurant of The Inn at Little Washington. Middleton offers five elegant accommodations in the manor house and historic cottage, all with working fireplaces and mountain views. Enjoy a scrumptious breakfast prepared by our chef before strolling around our six-acre estate, visiting wineries, hiking in Shenandoah National Park and browsing among our area boutiques and antiques stores. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Middleton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.